Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:04 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 163 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 59 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 6:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
This topic is for the work technical content of the TE.

Current work: GUI

If you want to submit media content for TE which follows this theme - please do this here.

Media might include - textures, models, sounds etc.
General rules:

- Higher polycount and resolution is better then lower polycount and resolution
- Format is irrelevant as long as it is relatively common or can be converted to a common format (blender, maya, 3d studio etc).
- The content posted here is considered under GPL license. Therefore if you post, your work automatically becomes GPLd.
---
by purno

I was bored, simple as that :tongue:

Whatcha think?


Attachments:
te_gui.PNG
te_gui.PNG [ 4.86 KiB | Viewed 17191 times ]

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 9:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
Looks very good :). I think that it is a good idea to have something that looks so smooth as GUI, although it also looks very Apple like.

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 10:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13161
Location: The Netherlands
I like the bright but not too bright colours. I suddenly realise no single transport simulator I ever played has such fresh colours. It's all very readible too.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:34 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 3:54 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Perth, Australia
My opinion Purno: Be bored more often :wink: .


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 4:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Thanks guys :P :))

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:40 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 9:30 am
Posts: 699
Location: Back at the office
Agreed. Lose your social life, get bored, make more UI mockups. :D

_________________
Feel free to contact me over Email! My current timezone: Europe/Amsterdam (GMT+1 or GMT+2)
Code:
+------------Oo.------+
| Transport Empire -> |
+---------------------+

[ General TE Discussion ] [ TE Development ] [ TE Coding ]
Under construction...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:51 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 2:03 pm
Posts: 21
Skype: benjamingoodger
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Not to be a killjoy (that's a great UI), but OpenGL/SVG, not PNG, surely?

_________________
~Ben

Microsoft Visual Bios (C) 1984
Where will Bill have you dragged today?
Press CTRL-ALT-F1-END-ESC-INS for Visual Cmos setup.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
benji147460127 wrote:
Not to be a killjoy (that's a great UI), but OpenGL/SVG, not PNG, surely?

What do you mean, not PNG but OGL/SVG? Your sentence doesn't make any sense to me :roll:.

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 3:25 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 3:54 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Perth, Australia
benji147460127 wrote:
Not to be a killjoy (that's a great UI), but OpenGL/SVG, not PNG, surely?

Let me try to translate that for all those english speaking people :wink:
benji147460127 should have wrote:
Not to be a killjoy (that's a great UI), but shouldn't you use OpenGL/SVG, instead of PNG.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 8:02 am 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 1:10 pm
Posts: 3602
Location: Germany
Or in other words, please use Vector graphics and not static images.
(This way you can zoom the GUI elements without quality lose)
Consindering a 3D Engine is used, thats not a bad idea, I wonder if Cairo is in an usable state...

_________________
TTDPatch dev in retirement ... Search a grf, try Grf Crawler 0.9 - now with even faster details view and new features...
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 8:07 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Hmm.... why would you need to zoom in at the GUI and such?

I can't really draw with vectors...
I can try to draw some stuffies with either Adobe Illustrator or AutoCAD, but I'm not as talented with that as simple pixel works...

A GUI isn't 3D, right? It's a flat thing on the screen... AFAICT.

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 8:45 am 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 9:30 am
Posts: 699
Location: Back at the office
Purno wrote:
Hmm.... why would you need to zoom in at the GUI and such?

Perhaps because I run games at 1920x1200 and my little brother runs games at 1024x768?

_________________
Feel free to contact me over Email! My current timezone: Europe/Amsterdam (GMT+1 or GMT+2)

Code:
+------------Oo.------+
| Transport Empire -> |
+---------------------+


[ General TE Discussion ] [ TE Development ] [ TE Coding ]

Under construction...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:04 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Hellfire wrote:
Purno wrote:
Hmm.... why would you need to zoom in at the GUI and such?

Perhaps because I run games at 1920x1200 and my little brother runs games at 1024x768?


Well, usually when I pick higher resolution, I do it because I can fit more at one screen. I do it because the GUI windows and such are smaller. Would there really be something against a small GUI (small fonts etc) at a high resolution?

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 10:26 am 
Offline
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:21 pm
Posts: 2125
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland
Purno - if the interface is built of 3d elements, not bitmaps, then it would be the building blocks - eg you would not put an image, but say "shade the polygon this way".

But frankly - we will not escape using textures - alas you want to use a model for each and every icon in the game.

Ivho it would be better to have textures in some ungodly resolution and MIP them into the proper size on the interface.

_________________
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 1:11 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 8:19 pm
Posts: 2085
Location: London
I'm not sure this discussion has much relevance, isn't this obviously a prototype? Given you can't just draw working drop down boxes, we're going to have to make them in SVG or whatever later on, but for now this at least shows a concept of style.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 1:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Is there a freeware tool available which can make those vector GUIs and is preferrebly not too complicated?

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:50 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 2:03 pm
Posts: 21
Skype: benjamingoodger
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
There is Inkscape, which is Free SoftwareTM, that's very good, and cross-platform, though don't expect it to perform well on windows. I will help you with it gladly if you so ask.

I live in England, so please do not patronise me as a poor miseducated Dutch person when I make a vague attempt to be poetic.

Uzurpator -- I do not intend that the entire UI should be 3D -- but vectors are the way forward: easier to generate mathematically, less space, they look better, they're scalable...

If there is such a large difference in resolution as the one stated, then some sort of zooming function may be called for. Certainly TTD is a bit small at 1280x1024@60Hz on a 17" screen, so I would like to be able to increase the size of the UI to fit me. Vectors permit that.

And whoever asked, Cairo has been fine for 12 months or more.

_________________
~Ben



Microsoft Visual Bios (C) 1984

Where will Bill have you dragged today?

Press CTRL-ALT-F1-END-ESC-INS for Visual Cmos setup.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:31 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 6939
benji147460127 wrote:
I live in England, so please do not patronise me as a poor miseducated Dutch person when I make a vague attempt to be poetic.

Eh?

Anyway, I would like it if the GUI is scalable, and vector graphics seem to facilitate that quite nicely. I wonder whether Blender models can use vector graphics as textures. :P


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 6:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
I tried something with AutoCAD, as it's the only vector tool I know how to draw exact arcs and perfect horizontal lines with.


Attachments:
File comment: dgw file of quick GUI sketch.
GUI1.zip [6.47 KiB]
Downloaded 458 times

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
Guys, I've got news, TRoS will support a scalable GUI. This is done very easily by an ortho matrix, which is already implemented and it would only have to be changed so the GUI will be scalable. This also allows to have a scalable GUI with bitmaps :).

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 163 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 59 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.