Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:11 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 6:28 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:08 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
Discontinued, because of the death of the image hosting server I used. RIP.

Heyo, here I am going to post my stuff so I don't make spam threads. I've already made something like this, but I had to delete it. Also, I would be happy if you commented on what kind of screenshots/images should I make, or what should I improve. And one last thing, I play OTTD only in my freetime, and I do not have much of it, so don't expect this thread to be extra active. Thank you, come again.

Airports:
[+] Spoiler
PRG/LKPR (Prague)
LEJ/EDDP (Leipzig)
TNCM/SXM (Saint Maarten)
MAN/EGCC (Manchester)
DXB/OMDB (Dubai)
CHS/KCHS (Charleston)


Last edited by DerekCZ on Wed May 23, 2018 11:33 am, edited 12 times in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: PRG/LKPR
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 6:30 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:08 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
this image is edited, there is no way to make a functional airport (yet?)

Prague Airport

Image


Last edited by DerekCZ on Sun Mar 26, 2017 8:40 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: LEJ/EDDP airport
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 7:34 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:08 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
this image is edited, there is no way to make a functional airport (yet?)

Leipzig Airport

Image


Last edited by DerekCZ on Sun Mar 26, 2017 8:40 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 7:51 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 7:35 am
Posts: 85
I think these pics are amazing!
If only we could......... Sigh.

Pete.

_________________
There's nothing like a deadline to hone the concentration.

Good manners cost nothing, but earn respect.

" 'Impossible' is not in our vocabulary." Jack Chrichton, Farscape


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 7:56 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:08 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
Captain Rand wrote:
If only we could......... Sigh.


ikr.


Top
   
 Post subject: TNCM/SXM airport
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 8:39 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:08 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
this image is edited, there is no way to make a functional airport (yet?)

Saint Maarten Airport

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 10:57 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6183
Location: Eastern KY
These are nice

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:00 am 
Offline
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7409
Location: Manchester
I've only ever been to LEJ once, but could recognise it straight away without even reading the heading. Lovely work, and nice way to get the Bridge over the railway and highway (though, they are a little small in your screenshot ;) ). It would be awesome if one day we could build functional airports this way as well!

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:14 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:08 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
Pilot wrote:
Lovely work, and nice way to get the Bridge over the railway and highway (though, they are a little small in your screenshot ;) ).


That also bothered me a lot, but that's how OTTD scaling works and I did not want to make more big edits like with the taxiway bridge.

Thanks for nice replies btw, I would also take some suggestions because I don't realy have more ideas :)


Last edited by DerekCZ on Sat Apr 01, 2017 8:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:08 pm 
Offline
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7409
Location: Manchester
SPolygon wrote:
Pilot wrote:
Lovely work, and nice way to get the Bridge over the railway and highway (though, they are a little small in your screenshot ;) ).


That also bothered me a lot, but that's how OTTD scaling works and I did not want to make more big edits like with the taxiway bridge.

Yeah, the scaling isn't quite perfect in OTTD, but it still looks good, and captures the main feel of LEJ

SPolygon wrote:
I would also take some suggestions beacuse I don't realy have more ideas :)

If you want ideas, you could try Manchester Airport (MAN/EGCC). Would love to see how it looks in game :)

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread


Top
   
 Post subject: MAN/EGCC Airport
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:54 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:08 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
this image is edited, there is no way to make a functional airport (yet?)

Manchester Airport

I'm not very satisfied with this one, but sadly I don't have much time now so I will just post it here because otherwise there is a chance that I would never finish it :/

Image

EDIT: Also, I figured out it looks better without cities next to it, overall it is not very easy to balance the design between real life and OpenTTD, and OTTD's roads are too large compared to airports, and there are only like 5 types of airport buildings, so there's not much diversity


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2385
Location: Virgo Supercluster
I'm absolutely no airport design expert, but isn't having the 2nd runway like that a weirdly ineffective design? ^^;


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:50 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:08 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
Pyoro wrote:
I'm absolutely no airport design expert, but isn't having the 2nd runway like that a weirdly ineffective design? ^^;


IDK how about Manchester, but in Prague, when one runway is being repaired/maintained, then airplanes use the second one. And there's this thing that airports have to clear runways from debris and remains of rubber after braking airplanes, which usualy takes about one day.


Top
   
 Post subject: DXB/OMDB
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:50 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:08 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
this image is edited, there is no way to make a functional airport (yet?)

Dubai International Airport

Image


Last edited by DerekCZ on Tue Apr 04, 2017 5:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:24 am 
Offline
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7409
Location: Manchester
Pyoro wrote:
I'm absolutely no airport design expert, but isn't having the 2nd runway like that a weirdly ineffective design? ^^;

It's completely awful, the idea was to stagger them so both can be used simultaneously (without having to seperate them too far, to avoid harming Styal Woods on the south side of the Airport) but they completely missed the taxiway alongside the second runway. There is a section of Taxiway at the western end (which SPolygon hasn't been able to squeeze in) for the Aircraft to turn around, or await take-off clearance, but you still have to Backtrack along the runway.

There are currently plans to finish the Taxiway off, however, I'm sure it will take a while before that actually happens. As for the current usage of the second Runway, it mostly only gets used for Westbound Takeoffs, and Eastbound landings, that way it reduces the amount of extra taxi time spent on the runway. Interestingly, it was also the first runway I ever watched an A380 take off from!

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 1:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2385
Location: Virgo Supercluster
Thanks for elaborting on that ;) It just struck me as really odd. Googled around for some other airports and found none that were similar, so I was kinda curious why that design was so different from the usual ones ^^;


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 8:28 am 
Offline
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7409
Location: Manchester
Pyoro wrote:
Thanks for elaborting on that ;) It just struck me as really odd. Googled around for some other airports and found none that were similar, so I was kinda curious why that design was so different from the usual ones ^^;

It certainly is a bit of an odd one. If you want a look at another British Airport that is rather odd, have a look at London Gatwick. Despite having 2 runways, it can only use 1 at any one time, due to the fact that they are too close to be used simultaneously. A further odd one is Barra, which doesn't have a runway, but more a beach!

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:48 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 15088
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Now have a go at Stockholm-Arlanda. It might be a bit difficult :P

_________________
Image
OpenTTD Scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91) 2016-06-23


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:48 pm 
Offline
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7409
Location: Manchester
Chrill wrote:
Stockholm-Arlanda

I propose that we rename the airport to Stockholm-Arlandria

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:31 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:08 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
Chrill wrote:
Now have a go at Stockholm-Arlanda. It might be a bit difficult :P


Will try it when I return home!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.