Pictures of your OTTD games

Screenshots of your games! All Transport Tycoon games acceptable (including TTDPatch and OpenTTD).
cdosr
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 36
Joined: 27 Feb 2005 13:07
Location: Boston, Massachusetts, US

8-way junction

Post by cdosr » 19 Oct 2006 10:30

For your consideration, an 8 way junction. Double tracked north-south and east-west lines cross here with minimal interruption of flow.

There's a similar junction "down east" near the power station. More trains use that junction at this point in the game. That junction is "asymetric" because of the number of station feeder lines that come off it.

New Global Path Finding seems to handle this map just fine, there are no waypoints needed to send trains on the proper way.

Please don't critique the game itself, its purpose is to test the junctions and to jam as many tranins as it can through them. I used the magic buldozer to get things out of the way of the track layout. Keeping the track level and straight maximizes the train speed.
Attachments
Grandpa's Transport.sav
Save game in case you want to watch the trains go by - 154 so far
(1.83 MiB) Downloaded 635 times
8-wat-wide.png
Wider view
(559.73 KiB) Downloaded 746 times
8-way.png
Close view
(386.66 KiB) Downloaded 951 times

User avatar
graphics_master
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 978
Joined: 28 May 2006 09:54

Post by graphics_master » 19 Oct 2006 15:13

Could do with prio to mark the main line. Overall it is good

orcaz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 13 May 2006 19:45
Location: Kobe, japan

Post by orcaz » 21 Oct 2006 08:34

<PIC 1>A part from Line P01. Because of the trafic, I have to upgrade the line from 2-tracks to 4-tracks. I'm now considering to upgrade to 6-tracks for handling more trafic.

<PIC 2>All my line. P06 and P07 are still under construction.
Attachments
Cyxma Trans, 11th Jul 1965.png
PIC 2
(132.03 KiB) Downloaded 656 times
Cyxma Trans, 10th Jul 1965.png
PIC 1
(308.14 KiB) Downloaded 823 times

User avatar
graphics_master
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 978
Joined: 28 May 2006 09:54

Post by graphics_master » 21 Oct 2006 09:46

Well, Looking at the game. It is not your traffic that is causing the jams it is your network. You could easily firt over 1,000 trains on a 4 track layout and on a 2 track layout you could fit around 200 going to one station. Never, ever cross the track over. Either make a tunnel under or a bridge over.

orcaz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 13 May 2006 19:45
Location: Kobe, japan

Post by orcaz » 21 Oct 2006 10:00

Those track crossing is not the problem. PBS helps.

Now I try to explain how is the situation.

There are four tracks, 2 tracks in each direction. The outer track are often used by passenger train (5-cars for line P01). and those trains stop at each station. There are also other trains that skip those station. When the passenger trains stop, it cause some trafic-jams.

That why four tracks system came in. All trains except the passenger train use the middle tracks. By the way, only some part have 4-tracks. For now, these 4 tracks make a skip-way for 4 stations only. Other still use 2 tracks.

-Inspire by JR (japan Railways) track systems.

User avatar
XeryusTC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 15415
Joined: 02 May 2005 11:05
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost

Post by XeryusTC » 23 Oct 2006 23:03

Just a coverup for a station walk ;).
Attachments
tryout.png
(119.03 KiB) Downloaded 759 times
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

User avatar
RiTi
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 374
Joined: 23 Jun 2006 10:24

Post by RiTi » 25 Oct 2006 18:35

XeryusTC wrote:Just a coverup for a station walk ;).
Looks nice, but how do you get up production with only two station entrances for two forest that with, I think, a huge production?
Keep life simple...

User avatar
XeryusTC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 15415
Joined: 02 May 2005 11:05
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost

Post by XeryusTC » 25 Oct 2006 18:46

RiTi wrote:
XeryusTC wrote:Just a coverup for a station walk ;).
Looks nice, but how do you get up production with only two station entrances for two forest that with, I think, a huge production?
The production of the two forests wasn't so high, they produced a total of ~240 tonnes every month. I only had a few trains running to that station.
I can't look up what for production the station exactly had because I never saved the game :(.
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

red
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 29
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 23:18

Post by red » 27 Oct 2006 11:11

Three trunk routes intersect in a giant ro-ro station complex.
Attachments
Colorless Enterprises, 7th Feb 1989.sav
(596.29 KiB) Downloaded 539 times
1.png
(440.22 KiB) Downloaded 604 times
2.png
(494.08 KiB) Downloaded 438 times

User avatar
RiTi
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 374
Joined: 23 Jun 2006 10:24

Post by RiTi » 28 Oct 2006 18:35

To deal with a large number of trains I had to build a kind of snakepit. You see in pic 001 and 002 the snakepit for 8 main railroadlines (4 lines to enter and 4 lines to exit). This all is one station, situated in the corner of a game. There are waypoints to force the trains to take the right track (no waypoints mean that all the trains take the short way, resulting in huge traffic jams).
In the corner there are 2 big cities with a total of 3 main stations (see pic 003). The main stations are divided in one to one lines and ro-ro lines. About 400 trains are using the 3 stations. I think I can set up a max. of 800 trains before jamming gets a problem. :)

(And yes, I use tunnel crossing). :wink:
Attachments
003.png
(125.56 KiB) Downloaded 345 times
002.png
(135.05 KiB) Downloaded 374 times
001.png
(117.75 KiB) Downloaded 473 times
Keep life simple...

User avatar
gkirilov
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 696
Joined: 03 May 2005 09:32
Location: Othala

Post by gkirilov » 28 Oct 2006 22:56

Just completed "stage1" of my game - connecting all coal mines on the map (512x1024) with one power station. 273 trains going through this station.
Attachments
SMG3v1, 3rd Jul 1960.png
SMG3v1, 3rd Jul 1960.png (62.36 KiB) Viewed 9600 times
OTTDCoop NewGRF Pack|Different sets of GRFs for TTDPatch (some of them work in OTTD) - 1|- 2|GRF sets for OTTD|OTTD nightly
Image
I hooked up my accelerator to my brake lights. I hit the gas, people behind me stop, and I'm gone.
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car. Oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car. Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you take the wall with you. Spoilers and bodykits are how much of the wall you take with you. Rollcages and windownets are how much of a mess you leave on the wall.

User avatar
XeryusTC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 15415
Joined: 02 May 2005 11:05
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost

Post by XeryusTC » 29 Oct 2006 17:41

Just to show that mine is bigger than yours :tongue:
Attachments
madness.png
(3.71 MiB) Downloaded 632 times
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Firestar
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 60
Joined: 24 Aug 2006 12:14

Post by Firestar » 29 Oct 2006 19:13

XeryusTC what do you do for a living, one look at that and it reminds me of an electerial curcuit, you know the ones that you find on a pbs board.

User avatar
webfreakz.nl
Director
Director
Posts: 627
Joined: 11 Aug 2005 08:22
Location: Localhost, 127.0.0.1, [The Netherlands: South Holland-> Westland]
Contact:

Post by webfreakz.nl » 29 Oct 2006 19:24

XeryusTC wrote:Just to show that mine is bigger than yours :tongue:
That's the way we want to see screenshots here :D
# Programming is like sex, one mistake and you have to support it for the rest of your life. (Michael Sinz)

User avatar
spaceman-spiff
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 20665
Joined: 28 Jul 2002 07:08
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by spaceman-spiff » 29 Oct 2006 21:01

XeryusTC wrote:Just to show that mine is bigger than yours :tongue:
Sheer madness :shock:
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 29 Oct 2006 21:39

Size doesn't matter, it's the way you handle it. But it sure looks nice Xeryus ;).

User avatar
bobingabout
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1850
Joined: 21 May 2005 15:10
Location: Hull, England

Post by bobingabout » 01 Nov 2006 09:01

this is actually from my TTDPatch game, but someone over here at the OTTD forums wanted to see it, and i can't find the post.

this game has UKRS V2, and UKRSI for UKRS V2, therefore the steelmill needs coal too.

down to the southwest is towns, coal mines and iron ore mines. up to the north east is a powerplant(which you can see) and a factory.
therefore the coal and iron trains come up to the steel mill and the power plant, , steel trains go up to the factory, and goods trains pass through back down towards the towns.

the genius part is that 2 way signal at the entrance to the south section of the steel mill factory, that allows passing trains to go down the middle lane, while also forcing trains to take the north bypass lane to the north part of the station when the 2 way signal is red (either train still entering, or both platforms full with a train waiting to enter)

it looks like i just happened to take a screenshot at a not so busy time, but IIRC there are about 35 trains that either pass through or use this station, and it is a rather small line.
Attachments
bobs TTDP station.png
(175.87 KiB) Downloaded 552 times
JPG SUX!!! USE PNG!!!
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.

[/url]

MisteryT
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 10:33
Location: Netherlands

Post by MisteryT » 02 Nov 2006 10:39

My game, got 394 trains running at the moment....and some busses ^^
some very bussy points in network
Attachments
Railcom Inc., 17 Jun 2046.png
(167.78 KiB) Downloaded 385 times
Railcom Inc., 10 Jun 2046.png
(130.75 KiB) Downloaded 419 times
Railcom Inc., 30 Jun 2046.png
(37.85 KiB) Downloaded 431 times

MisteryT
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 10:33
Location: Netherlands

Post by MisteryT » 02 Nov 2006 10:40

another screen and save file:
Attachments
Railcom Inc., 26 Mei 2046.sav
(541.23 KiB) Downloaded 328 times
Railcom Inc., 23 Jun 2046.png
(151.88 KiB) Downloaded 374 times

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15283
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by Chrill » 02 Nov 2006 19:40

Three screens from my latest game, taking place in Africa and Middle-East!!
Attachments
Sharks Transport, 23 okt 1963.png
(251.24 KiB) Downloaded 342 times
Sharks Transport, 25 okt 1963.png
(358.35 KiB) Downloaded 341 times
Sharks Transport, 11 okt 1963.png
(323.81 KiB) Downloaded 387 times
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

Locked

Return to “Screenshots”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests