Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Feb 18, 2018 1:15 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 2066 posts ]  Go to page Previous 199 100 101 102 103 104 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 8-way junction
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 10:30 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Boston, Massachusetts, US
For your consideration, an 8 way junction. Double tracked north-south and east-west lines cross here with minimal interruption of flow.

There's a similar junction "down east" near the power station. More trains use that junction at this point in the game. That junction is "asymetric" because of the number of station feeder lines that come off it.

New Global Path Finding seems to handle this map just fine, there are no waypoints needed to send trains on the proper way.

Please don't critique the game itself, its purpose is to test the junctions and to jam as many tranins as it can through them. I used the magic buldozer to get things out of the way of the track layout. Keeping the track level and straight maximizes the train speed.


Attachments:
File comment: Save game in case you want to watch the trains go by - 154 so far
Grandpa's Transport.sav [1.83 MiB]
Downloaded 580 times
File comment: Wider view
8-wat-wide.png [559.73 KiB]
Downloaded 746 times
File comment: Close view
8-way.png [386.66 KiB]
Downloaded 951 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 3:13 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 9:54 am
Posts: 978
Could do with prio to mark the main line. Overall it is good


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:34 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Kobe, japan
<PIC 1>A part from Line P01. Because of the trafic, I have to upgrade the line from 2-tracks to 4-tracks. I'm now considering to upgrade to 6-tracks for handling more trafic.

<PIC 2>All my line. P06 and P07 are still under construction.


Attachments:
File comment: PIC 2
Cyxma Trans, 11th Jul 1965.png [132.03 KiB]
Downloaded 656 times
File comment: PIC 1
Cyxma Trans, 10th Jul 1965.png [308.14 KiB]
Downloaded 823 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 9:46 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 9:54 am
Posts: 978
Well, Looking at the game. It is not your traffic that is causing the jams it is your network. You could easily firt over 1,000 trains on a 4 track layout and on a 2 track layout you could fit around 200 going to one station. Never, ever cross the track over. Either make a tunnel under or a bridge over.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 10:00 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Kobe, japan
Those track crossing is not the problem. PBS helps.

Now I try to explain how is the situation.

There are four tracks, 2 tracks in each direction. The outer track are often used by passenger train (5-cars for line P01). and those trains stop at each station. There are also other trains that skip those station. When the passenger trains stop, it cause some trafic-jams.

That why four tracks system came in. All trains except the passenger train use the middle tracks. By the way, only some part have 4-tracks. For now, these 4 tracks make a skip-way for 4 stations only. Other still use 2 tracks.

-Inspire by JR (japan Railways) track systems.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 11:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
Just a coverup for a station walk ;).


Attachments:
tryout.png [119.03 KiB]
Downloaded 759 times

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:35 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:24 am
Posts: 374
XeryusTC wrote:
Just a coverup for a station walk ;).


Looks nice, but how do you get up production with only two station entrances for two forest that with, I think, a huge production?

_________________
Keep life simple...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:46 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
RiTi wrote:
XeryusTC wrote:
Just a coverup for a station walk ;).


Looks nice, but how do you get up production with only two station entrances for two forest that with, I think, a huge production?

The production of the two forests wasn't so high, they produced a total of ~240 tonnes every month. I only had a few trains running to that station.
I can't look up what for production the station exactly had because I never saved the game :(.

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:11 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 11:18 pm
Posts: 29
Three trunk routes intersect in a giant ro-ro station complex.


Attachments:
Colorless Enterprises, 7th Feb 1989.sav [596.29 KiB]
Downloaded 479 times
1.png [440.22 KiB]
Downloaded 604 times
2.png [494.08 KiB]
Downloaded 438 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 6:35 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:24 am
Posts: 374
To deal with a large number of trains I had to build a kind of snakepit. You see in pic 001 and 002 the snakepit for 8 main railroadlines (4 lines to enter and 4 lines to exit). This all is one station, situated in the corner of a game. There are waypoints to force the trains to take the right track (no waypoints mean that all the trains take the short way, resulting in huge traffic jams).
In the corner there are 2 big cities with a total of 3 main stations (see pic 003). The main stations are divided in one to one lines and ro-ro lines. About 400 trains are using the 3 stations. I think I can set up a max. of 800 trains before jamming gets a problem. :)

(And yes, I use tunnel crossing). :wink:


Attachments:
003.png [125.56 KiB]
Downloaded 345 times
002.png [135.05 KiB]
Downloaded 374 times
001.png [117.75 KiB]
Downloaded 473 times

_________________
Keep life simple...
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 10:56 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 9:32 am
Posts: 696
Location: Othala
Just completed "stage1" of my game - connecting all coal mines on the map (512x1024) with one power station. 273 trains going through this station.


Attachments:
SMG3v1, 3rd Jul 1960.png
SMG3v1, 3rd Jul 1960.png [ 62.36 KiB | Viewed 7159 times ]

_________________
OTTDCoop NewGRF Pack|Different sets of GRFs for TTDPatch (some of them work in OTTD) - 1|- 2|GRF sets for OTTD|OTTD nightly
Image
I hooked up my accelerator to my brake lights. I hit the gas, people behind me stop, and I'm gone.
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car. Oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car. Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you take the wall with you. Spoilers and bodykits are how much of the wall you take with you. Rollcages and windownets are how much of a mess you leave on the wall.
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
Just to show that mine is bigger than yours :tongue:


Attachments:
madness.png [3.71 MiB]
Downloaded 632 times

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 7:13 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:14 pm
Posts: 60
XeryusTC what do you do for a living, one look at that and it reminds me of an electerial curcuit, you know the ones that you find on a pbs board.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 7:24 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 627
Location: Localhost, 127.0.0.1, [The Netherlands: South Holland-> Westland]
XeryusTC wrote:
Just to show that mine is bigger than yours :tongue:


That's the way we want to see screenshots here :D

_________________
Quote:
# Programming is like sex, one mistake and you have to support it for the rest of your life. (Michael Sinz)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:01 pm 
Offline
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:08 am
Posts: 20670
Location: Belgium
XeryusTC wrote:
Just to show that mine is bigger than yours :tongue:

Sheer madness :shock:

_________________
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13161
Location: The Netherlands
Size doesn't matter, it's the way you handle it. But it sure looks nice Xeryus ;).

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:01 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 3:10 pm
Posts: 1850
Location: Hull, England
this is actually from my TTDPatch game, but someone over here at the OTTD forums wanted to see it, and i can't find the post.

this game has UKRS V2, and UKRSI for UKRS V2, therefore the steelmill needs coal too.

down to the southwest is towns, coal mines and iron ore mines. up to the north east is a powerplant(which you can see) and a factory.
therefore the coal and iron trains come up to the steel mill and the power plant, , steel trains go up to the factory, and goods trains pass through back down towards the towns.

the genius part is that 2 way signal at the entrance to the south section of the steel mill factory, that allows passing trains to go down the middle lane, while also forcing trains to take the north bypass lane to the north part of the station when the 2 way signal is red (either train still entering, or both platforms full with a train waiting to enter)

it looks like i just happened to take a screenshot at a not so busy time, but IIRC there are about 35 trains that either pass through or use this station, and it is a rather small line.


Attachments:
bobs TTDP station.png [175.87 KiB]
Downloaded 552 times

_________________
JPG SUX!!! USE PNG!!!
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.

[/url]
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:39 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:33 am
Posts: 5
Location: Netherlands
My game, got 394 trains running at the moment....and some busses ^^
some very bussy points in network


Attachments:
Railcom Inc., 17 Jun 2046.png [167.78 KiB]
Downloaded 385 times
Railcom Inc., 10 Jun 2046.png [130.75 KiB]
Downloaded 419 times
Railcom Inc., 30 Jun 2046.png [37.85 KiB]
Downloaded 431 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:40 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:33 am
Posts: 5
Location: Netherlands
another screen and save file:


Attachments:
Railcom Inc., 26 Mei 2046.sav [541.23 KiB]
Downloaded 281 times
Railcom Inc., 23 Jun 2046.png [151.88 KiB]
Downloaded 374 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 7:40 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 14907
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Three screens from my latest game, taking place in Africa and Middle-East!!


Attachments:
Sharks Transport, 23 okt 1963.png [251.24 KiB]
Downloaded 342 times
Sharks Transport, 25 okt 1963.png [358.35 KiB]
Downloaded 341 times
Sharks Transport, 11 okt 1963.png [323.81 KiB]
Downloaded 387 times

_________________
Image
OpenTTD Scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91) 2016-06-23
Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 2066 posts ]  Go to page Previous 199 100 101 102 103 104 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.