Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:46 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:26 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 2:46 am
Posts: 681
Location: Ontario, Canada
LOL! I think a bridge that didnt have anything sticking out would be better.

_________________
Check out some of my work


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:01 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17059
Location: Harringay, North London
Wasila wrote:
Apparently my screenies aren't doing as well as I hoped. What am I doing wrong? What can I improve? All suggestions would be appreciated :D.


I wouldn't worry about that - I post some absolute beasts on here and they don't get responses, a simple one train shot and others love it. Guess it's all about personal taste. I do often compliment a screenshot thread, but rarely individual screenies.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 8:22 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 772
Location: Upper Gornal, Dudley
I like the suspension bridge in the forest!

Don't worry. I get a few replies to my thread now and again but not that often . But I see the view counts go up and that makes me want to share more.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Things will be a little slower now with Civ V and my increased workload. I'll try and get an update up this weekend. Thanks for the encouragement!

So how do you think I should continue from here? Should I go with my descriptive, story-line approach or go more picture-heavy?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 9:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
"GlobalTrans out! GlobalTrans out!" The jeering and catcalling faded into the background as two men, each carrying a dozen flyers, moved away from the new station. "Good turnout, considering the heat," the first man said (in Russian). "Yeah, I..." a woman was walking past, her head bent low as she shuffled past them. She was acting strangely... it didn't take much to figure out why that was. Her ticket fluttered out of her bag and she immediately snatched after it, desperately reaching out for the little piece of paper. The men got there first.

"A one-way to New York City?" the second man scoffed. "Traiterous..." he surged forwards, only held back by the first man. "Leave her. She's not worth it."
"You're right," the second man said, ripping up the ticket. "Wha...bu...I spent my life savings on that ticket!" the woman shouted, but it was too late. The two men were gone. She looked around wildly for someone to help her, but there was none. The streets of central Minsk were bare; everyone, for one reason or another, was at the station.

Attachment:
GlobalTrans, 8th Sep 1974.png [339.41 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

Part of the new Kiev-Moscow line. Notice the rival line currently under construction.

New York City? How do you catch a train to New York City? You don't...

London. A few years earlier. The situation could not be more different. A second, outer tramline has been built, to great acclaim. When one of the western stations was named 'Heathrow Express', it became obvious that something was up. Two shiny new airports later and it all became obvious. Heathrow Terminal 1 was filled to the brim as excited masses watched the first GlobalTrans planes take off into the sunset, heading straight for the New World. No one could doubt that the Transport Revolution had truly arrived as an identical scene took place, over three thousand miles away. A couple of years later and nine planes were serving the route, with London becoming an air hub with further services to Dublin and Turin. Profits soared, and the Air Division is already raking in £500,000 per annum (trains bring in £3m).

Attachment:
GlobalTrans, 27th Sep 1974.png [274.36 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

Heathrow Airport, with an extremely high capacity metro line connecting it with London.

Attachment:
GlobalTrans, 3rd Oct 1974.png [307.54 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

And finally, shenanigans in New Delhi. The map on the bottom right explains all - New Delhi is now, after great pressure - regional and national, connected to the network, with trains to Bangalore in the south as well as the Dacca terminus. I will update the map tomorrow.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 10:59 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:00 am
Posts: 776
Hi, very good photos, don't worry about the number of people looking at this topic if you do you will go insane, you will never get the numbers like other games. However I do have a few comments to make:

You place your train station on the outside of towns and have no connection to the centre or far side of that town. If you place the stations on the out skids a good bus link is need to the take the population to the station. This also links into that you have no city transport, you cover intercity travel in excellent way but once a person get to one of your station there is no links to the rest of the city or one part of the city to another.

Again great job, keep the photos coming.
JS.

_________________
I not an boring person, I just get excited over boring things.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 1:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Quote:
Hi, very good photos, don't worry about the number of people looking at this topic if you do you will go insane, you will never get the numbers like other games. However I do have a few comments to make:


Thanks. I suppose your right; it's almost worth it just to come back in three months and see a record of what I did on my corrupted savegames.

Quote:
If you place the stations on the out skids a good bus link is need to the take the population to the station. This also links into that you have no city transport, you cover intercity travel in excellent way but once a person get to one of your station there is no links to the rest of the city or one part of the city to another.


Interesting you should mention that. Really, I can't be bothered to set up tram routes in all my cities, and I thought that for the ones where I do have them they would make for uninteresting screenshots.

Attachment:
GlobalTrans, 10th Sep 1974.png [305.16 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

Is this the kind of thing you're looking for? Two circular tram lines, connected up at St. Pancras International.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Network map updated.

Attachment:
GlobalTrans, 6th Jun 1977.png [190.62 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

Also this. Paris is more interesting than it looks on the map.


Attachments:
GlobalTrans Network Map New.png [31.78 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:46 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: Netherlands
show holland lolz, randstad :)

_________________
Screenshots topic
Scenarios&Heightmaps


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:55 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
I forgot to label the eastern cities :o.
Updated map attached.

Quote:
show holland lolz, randstad :)

I didn't make this map :P. I suppose the map creator wanted to stick all of Holland into one so he used the urban term for all the major cities.

Attachment:
GlobalTrans, 13th Jun 1977.png [358.86 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

Randstad-Holland. The train coming in from the east is an express train (yes, I know there are no through-tracks. Station upgrades are planned ;)).


Attachments:
GlobalTrans Network Map New.png [35.5 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:19 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:46 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: Netherlands
hehe i dont mind, just a supersized city with a small station, oh well, thx for it anyway :)

_________________
Screenshots topic
Scenarios&Heightmaps


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 12:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
It's not that supersized - London is double the size.

But yeah, the line that goes through the city is way undercapacity. Blame Paris for that - it's completely full but some stupid bug won't let me demolish the roads next door to expand - and expanding that line will excarberate the problem. I may move the London-Paris connection to terminate at Gare de Lyon, which would free up a lot of space.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 3:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:46 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: Netherlands
do control+alt+c opening the cheat menu, look for "magic bulldozer" and you can destroy anything with 1 click

_________________
Screenshots topic
Scenarios&Heightmaps


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:05 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:00 am
Posts: 776
Yes good point, buses TTD photo are not going to make into the top ten most dramatic photo of 2010 or any year, I think there are more important gobal issues. By the way nice network map, keep the posts coming.
JS.

_________________
I not an boring person, I just get excited over boring things.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
My internet is being incredibly up and down lately and I have a largish update waiting in the wings, but right now things are too slow to even think about uploading pictures.

Quote:
do control+alt+c opening the cheat menu, look for "magic bulldozer" and you can destroy anything with 1 click


I was trying to hold this off (which is why I moved London-Paris to Gare de Lyon), but I have now used said bulldozer to upgrade Randstad-Holland.

I'm not gone, don't worry :wink:


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
It's back! My internet exploded on Sunday and, since most of my free time on the computer is spent on said internet, I was left with a largish vacuum of things to do for a while... I'm sure you can guess what I did.

Of absolutely no consequence whatsoever, quite a lot has been going on in the world of GlobalTrans. Firstly, a large number of stations have received desperately needed overhauls.

Attachment:
GlobalTrans, 30th Jun 1982#1.png [231.02 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

The Randstad-Holland design has also been copied across the Rhein-Ruhr - Kiev route.

Attachment:
GlobalTrans, 8th Dec 1983#1.png [34.93 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

This, a matter of interest, is the actual network as it stands. The smaller lines in the Middle East are lucrative oil routes.

Attachment:
GlobalTrans, 8th Dec 1983.png [37.23 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

Also this. Need I say more?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Seriously, that was stupid. I cheated with magic bulldozer and everything and it turns on I had 'allow removal of more town-owned roads' switched OFF!

Also, I'm interested in building a cargo network but I somehow never get it to work - I don't see the point because I just link up two nearish industries and those are separate from others. Tips?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:12 pm
Posts: 6948
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.
I always look to use existing lines when connecting industries and tend to dismiss those that need a lot of new track laid. I also try to use an industry chain to its fullest, from the raw materials to the processed products through to the final "goods" product. You'll soon find yourself connecting as many raw materials as possible to maximise the final production.

_________________
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:51 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Do you tend to share track between passengers and cargo or not?

Also I will have an interesting update coming out probably not tonight but tomorrow night...


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:14 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:12 pm
Posts: 6948
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.
Wasila wrote:
Do you tend to share track between passengers and cargo or not?

Badger wrote:
I always look to use existing lines when connecting industries

That would be a "yes" then...

_________________
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.