Show us your network maps

Screenshots of your games! All Transport Tycoon games acceptable (including TTDPatch and OpenTTD).
Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4718
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by Alberth » 24 Jun 2012 16:56

Unlike in commercial software, there is normally ample choice in open source in competing software programs, and they all exist, because someone thinks it is the best possible solution to something, and usually there is a community around the software that agrees with that statement.
In other words, every choice is best to some.

When you ask for "the best", the result is thus that everybody will recommend his/her choice to you (which in their eyes is indeed the best choice). While it gives a good idea of what people use, it does not solve your question.

A good approximation of "the best" is "sufficient to do what I want", which you can find in the following way:
1. Pick a program which you think will do the job.
2. Use it.
3. If you run into limits (things you want, but the software doesn't let you), you found a fundamental criterium that the current software does not fulfil. Go back to 1.

In time, you will iterate to the program that does all you need, or to the program which has the least limitations.

User avatar
thphwh
Director
Director
Posts: 516
Joined: 23 Dec 2011 13:50
Location: Letchworth GC

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by thphwh » 24 Jun 2012 18:23

I think I'll use DiaDiagram

Goreiilar
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 21
Joined: 09 Dec 2011 04:59

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by Goreiilar » 24 Jun 2012 21:11

Norfolkadam wrote:
bwong wrote:Can you upload the illustrator file? I would totally reverse engineer it. (ITS TOO AWESOME :D )
Attached to this post for you.
regionalrailwayshinckley.ai
A321Pilot wrote:Do you have a Screenshot thread to post Screenies from the Game in? I'd love to see the Network. BTW Happy Birthday.

I don't have one at the moment, no, but I might make one tonight or possibly this week at some point. I find it hard to make screenshot threads interesting but we'll see.

Okay, this kinda confused me when I opened it this morning. I noticed that you used only lines of 45 degrees, even when doing 90 degree corners. When drawing these curves, did you do them manually (cut up circles or something), or did you use the 'round corners' effect?




As far as free software for doing this, you need a vector program. No, really. It helps *a lot*.

Aerond
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 163
Joined: 18 Jan 2003 12:51
Location: Spain

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by Aerond » 25 Jun 2012 22:56

Nihonworks in 1970;

Notice I had to redo again the map, which took me two hours. The program won´t load the previous project for some reason so this is the last map for the moment, but I´ll be back with a screenshot thread:

Image

DarkUk
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 149
Joined: 13 Oct 2009 15:47
Location: Slough

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by DarkUk » 26 Jun 2012 09:56

That map is bloody amazing

Goreiilar
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 21
Joined: 09 Dec 2011 04:59

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by Goreiilar » 26 Jun 2012 23:50

Because I'm unoriginal and boring, I decided to do my own version of Aerond's Map. (Hope that's okay :?)
It's the region around Nishi Saitama, with poorly translated Japanese. (Does Nihon Shigoto sound right, my rudimentary knowledge thinks no...)
Nihonworks [G].png
(216.77 KiB) Downloaded 9 times

User avatar
FLHerne
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1536
Joined: 12 Jul 2011 12:09
Location: St Ives, Cambs, UK

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by FLHerne » 27 Jun 2012 07:47

Aerond's recent map is awesome, as is Goreiilar's remade version. :bow:

@thphwh: Dia is good, yes :D

An updated map of my current game, showing passenger rail and boat services only:
RouteMap.png
RouteMap.png (84.07 KiB) Viewed 3875 times
Temporary Permanent signature filling text. Content coming soon delayed indefinitely! Oh, and I have a screenshot thread now...
Linux user (XMonad DWM/KDE, Arch), IRC obsessive and rail enthusiast. No longer buiding robots.
Author of an incredibly boring stickied post about NewGRFs.

Aerond
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 163
Joined: 18 Jan 2003 12:51
Location: Spain

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by Aerond » 28 Jun 2012 00:50

Goreiilar, your map is AWESOME :bow: :bow: !!

As for your japanese knowledge, well, it´s infinitely better than mine. However, maybe it would be cooler to use Kanji whenever possible :)

Goreiilar
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 21
Joined: 09 Dec 2011 04:59

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by Goreiilar » 28 Jun 2012 04:41

^ Thank you.

Kanji - Yeah, It would be cooler, if I was confident enough to change it; Hiragana and Katakana are kinda where my knowledge end, at the moment.

User avatar
JamieLei
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7431
Joined: 10 Jan 2007 18:42
Location: Stratford, London

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by JamieLei » 29 Jun 2012 09:56

To be honest, unless you've lived in Japan I'd stay away from trying to interpret Kana into Kanji. There are of course the easy ones 品川、東京、横浜 but then things like 本町 can either go honmachi or motomachi (both are correct). And then 山手線 can either be read 'Yamanote' or 'Yamate', even though the first one should be written as 山ノ手線 really, since there is a 'Yamate line' in Kobe written with the same Kanji. And then it's difficult to distinguish between grammar rules if for things like Ochanomizu if you're not familiar (お茶の水 would be the obvious way to write the word but 御茶ノ水 is more correct for a place name, along with things like 亀山 and 亀岡, the first Kanji we don't really use unless in place names).
Any opinions expressed are purely mine and not that of any employer, past or present.

Goreiilar
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 21
Joined: 09 Dec 2011 04:59

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by Goreiilar » 29 Jun 2012 10:09

^ Yeah, agreed. I'm Learning Japanese at school and whatnot, and I've only been at it for ~1 1/2 years, not enough to even bother.

sirdougie
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 05 Jul 2012 10:10

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by sirdougie » 05 Jul 2012 10:14

Here is my current route map based on a modified version of a Germany scenario. Whilst it looks like a well integrated network the reality is it is not possible to take through trains along several longer lines. The line started out from Dortmund and has expanded from there.
Attachments
Route Map.jpg
Based on a modified Germany scenario
Route Map.jpg (698.76 KiB) Viewed 3613 times

User avatar
buckethead
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2014
Joined: 12 Jun 2009 07:21

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by buckethead » 05 Jul 2012 13:11

From my Italian game, currently past 2100. Here is a map of the highspeed network.

All done very patiently with paint, including the very..creative..logo! :P
Attachments
MAPAV.png
(28.34 KiB) Downloaded 15 times

User avatar
Paasky
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 269
Joined: 06 Sep 2004 07:38
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Contact:

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by Paasky » 07 Jul 2012 14:21

From my [OpenTTD] Warraweah Transport (256 years and counting) - thread:

Image

My long distance network, goes into every corner of a 2048x2048 map.

User avatar
Paasky
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 269
Joined: 06 Sep 2004 07:38
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Contact:

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by Paasky » 08 Jul 2012 10:10

Image

The public transportation network in my main city-cluster. Seems simple enough eh?

James_765
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Sep 2012 17:18

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by James_765 » 08 Sep 2012 17:25

Hello!

This is my transport network. Not in whole, as ferry ports are only shown here where they intersect with a rail station at some point along their route. This shows passenger services but there is a good network of ships that transport wood, oil and goods too.
The network is two thirds ferries, one third rail and a couple of buses.

Image
Attachments
map.png
Wunningpool Transport Network Map
(248.25 KiB) Downloaded 15 times

User avatar
teccuk
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 668
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 21:01

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by teccuk » 18 Nov 2012 20:48

Paasky wrote:
The public transportation network in my main city-cluster. Seems simple enough eh?
Ooh wow. That is really lovely! Nice colour and font choices.

User avatar
jvassie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3420
Joined: 18 Dec 2002 18:00
Location: High Wycombe, England
Contact:

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by jvassie » 24 Nov 2012 03:16

From my current game, one of the S-Bahn networks that covers a sprawl of city, Regenskirchen. Network map is below, doesn't show either of the U-Bahn lines though.

Image
(British) Modular Stations Set - Thread: | Website:
Swiss Set - Thread: | Website:
Route Map Creator
Image

User avatar
FLHerne
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1536
Joined: 12 Jul 2011 12:09
Location: St Ives, Cambs, UK

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by FLHerne » 26 Dec 2012 00:16

I love that one above. Awesome network! :D

Anyway, borrowed from my screenshot thread (made with Dia):
Image
Temporary Permanent signature filling text. Content coming soon delayed indefinitely! Oh, and I have a screenshot thread now...
Linux user (XMonad DWM/KDE, Arch), IRC obsessive and rail enthusiast. No longer buiding robots.
Author of an incredibly boring stickied post about NewGRFs.

User avatar
teccuk
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 668
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 21:01

Re: Show us your network maps

Post by teccuk » 18 Jan 2013 22:25

Wow some good ones recently.

This didn't look as nice as i'd hoped. Last one i make with paint, i'm going to have to learn GIMP or something.
Hoye Is - network.png
(423.2 KiB) Downloaded 2 times

Post Reply

Return to “Screenshots”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests