[OTTD] MaxArt's categorized random screenshots

Screenshots of your games! All Transport Tycoon games acceptable (including TTDPatch and OpenTTD).
MaxArt
Engineer
Engineer

[OTTD] MaxArt's categorized random screenshots

Post by MaxArt »

Ok, even if I'm not new to TT, I'm pretty new to OpenTTD and all the patches around. In fact, I'm currently playing the "plain" version of OTTD... But whatever. Certain problems and situations never change. I think :oops:

I'm currently playing a simple, random temperate scenario. No "enemies", yet, since I re-started playing TT only 3 weeks ago, and on the other hand AI is not a real challenge... :roll: I was just practicing to get used to railroad structures again.

Anyway, here's my screenshots thread.
1) Junctions
2) Station configurations
3) Problems and solutions
4) Interesting, funny and other screenshots

Note: my trains run on left. Road vehicles on right.
Last edited by MaxArt on 11 Dec 2006 01:37, edited 2 times in total.
MaxArt
Engineer
Engineer

1) Junctions

Post by MaxArt »

Various types of junctions, not present on "The Junctionairy"

X-Junctions
Personally, I think that cloverleaves work just fine. It seems my trains never get lost because of that type of junction. Plus, it's quite compact, only 10x10 tiles. However, it's quite slow, and boring to build.
Here are my alternatives.

1) 14x14 "complete" X-junction:
Pros
- Trains don't turn left to turn right (and viceversa)
- Faster connections (no tight 270° turns)
- Can handle a good load of traffic
Cons
- Quite large and expensive
- Can't make a tunnel version (or, it has to be larger), and those bridges become slow with maglevs

2) 10x10 incomplete X-junction:
Pros
- Quite small
- Trains don't turn left to turn right (and viceversa)
- Faster connections (no tight 270° turns)
Cons
- Incomplete: trains from NW (SE) can't go SW (NE)