Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 2:19 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Old Code?
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 7:04 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 9:55 am
Posts: 105
Location: Israel
Are you using some of the old code (in the CVS "old")?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 5:26 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 9:30 am
Posts: 699
Location: Back at the office
No, that's really old code. (Should be deleted, actually)

All the existing code is in the "tempire" module.

_________________
Feel free to contact me over Email! My current timezone: Europe/Amsterdam (GMT+1 or GMT+2)
Code:
+------------Oo.------+
| Transport Empire -> |
+---------------------+

[ General TE Discussion ] [ TE Development ] [ TE Coding ]
Under construction...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 7:14 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 9:55 am
Posts: 105
Location: Israel
Hellfire wrote:
No, that's really old code. (Should be deleted, actually)


Can I ask why?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 12:53 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 9:30 am
Posts: 699
Location: Back at the office
It's code released by the very first programmer who worked on this project. It was uploaded by someone else, to make it publicly available. After a long discussion, we decided that the old code does not fit the requirements we've set for this project and that we would start from scratch.

I roughly know what the code does, but it contains design flaws. I also know that, because it contains GUI code, it looks a lot better than the text-based stubs in the current codebase. Don't let yourself be fooled by nice graphics; it needs a good core to provide the gameplay.

_________________
Feel free to contact me over Email! My current timezone: Europe/Amsterdam (GMT+1 or GMT+2)

Code:
+------------Oo.------+
| Transport Empire -> |
+---------------------+


[ General TE Discussion ] [ TE Development ] [ TE Coding ]

Under construction...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:03 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13179
Location: The Netherlands
Should the code be deleted from the CVS and saved in a dark spot on Steve's server?

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:08 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 3:54 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Perth, Australia
Either that or to a new directory on the CVS? Although I favour its removal cause it has almost zero usefulness.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:02 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13179
Location: The Netherlands
I've made it hidden on the SF CVS, it can no longer be downloaded but is still available to developers with a valid SF TE registration.

Topic locked (14112006).

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.