Boat Wakes

Archived discussions related to Transport Empire. Read-only access only.

Moderator: Transport Empire Moderators

Sprocket
Engineer
Engineer

Boat Wakes

Post by Sprocket »

Hello, this is my first post. I'll start with flattery. I think this project is really a neat thing to be doing, and I hope it goes well. To that end, I would like to code a little (small projects). However, I don't know C++ (as I said, small projects). On the other hand, I am a physics grad student, and I have worked a little with C#, so I might not be totally worthless. Anyways, on to the point of this post.

I haven't seen anything about how you plan to implement water, and in particular the wakes caused by ships in it. A few months ago, I came across a relatively simple method of modeling ripples from a point source that reflect, interfere and even diffract here: http://www.bugman123.com/Physics/Physics.html

Basically it works by looking at a point of water on a grid (smaller than the usual map grid) and subtracting where the water was a short time ago (contains velocity information) from the average height surrounding it (smoothing filter). Remarkably this works well, and you only need to store two arrays (though they might be huge...)

In any case, I decided to give a shot at adapting the method to model a boat wake. Five hours later, what I have still needs work. It is written in Mathematica, and is much too slow. I would like to spend some time writing better code in C++ and seeing how it works there. I with proper smoothing, I think it could look quite nice, and Mathematica isn't well suited for rendering quickly, so it should be faster in C++. Let me know what you think, and whether it's worthwhile for me to go further with this.
Attachments
wake.txt
Messy Mathematica 5.1 code
(1.58 KiB) Downloaded 690 times
Animation: opens with quicktime if nothing else
Animation: opens with quicktime if nothing else
wake.gif (580.08 KiB) Viewed 16079 times
charlieg
Transport Coordinator