Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:49 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 7:37 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:19 pm
Posts: 147
Where can i sign up to help? I am a typer of wikis and id like to help there. Ive typed many before now. A LOT for video games.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:19 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4538
Location: /home/sweden
As noone of the others have answerd your question, I'll as a former member will try to answer your question as good as I can.


Transport Empire is currently not under development, since it got no coders at the moment. During its 2-4 year long history many things have been disscussed, but little coded. Currently the project is basicly hoping for a coder to apear and say tada! I'll code the engine for you, since there aren't any coders that are willing (or at least don't have time or knownledge) to code the engine.

At the current state there is not mutch use for people like you (sad but true). Since to much time have been spent on documentation and to little on coding so far.

--

Steve, Hyronymus, etc. Please correct me if you don't share my view.

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 11:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13178
Location: The Netherlands
No, this is the case (sadly). I must've missed this post as I'm used to reply to volunteers, sorry theshipper. Perhaps we should shop around on the Internet and find some professional coders...

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:27 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 2:07 pm
Posts: 323
Or learn a little yourselves... even if it's only enough to get the basics started until some more experienced volunteers pop up.

_________________
Open source tycoon games
--
Free Gamer - open source and Free Software games
FreeGameDev forums - open source game development community


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Ok, just a probably stupid suggestion. There are some Drag & Drop tools around like GameMaker ( http://www.gamemaker.nl ) which allow you to program your own games quite easily. Even I can program with it. Now you're probably gonna flame me for this stupid suggestion you can't use, but you would probably kill me if you need it and I didn't tell about it :tongue:

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 6939
I think that in the end, making something from scratch is less work then using that gamemaker thing. It's probably fine for simple things, but a full transport game gets quite complex and I'm afraid you hit the ceiling pretty fast with programs like that.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 9:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
I am working on a 3D engine with a friend of mine ATM. It is meant to use in other games. The engine is far from finished, it only has a terrain render (which is really quick, it made a AMD 3000+ with a nVidia GeForce 6800GT crash because the memory couldn't cope with the speed of rendering :P) and a basic scripting language in it, all it needs is a particle engine, an object renderer and shaders. It could be used in Transport Empire because it is designed to be a module of an other game and it is modular too so you can edit/remove/add anything you want.
If you want to use it in Transport Empire we start distributing early (it is in an early stage of development as I said) and maybe your developers could help us to improve it.
Hopefully this gets you off your feet and starting again.

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 11:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 6939
That's very nice. Unfortunately however, we don't have any developers now.
What kind of game are you making with it?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 12:22 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
Arathorn wrote:
That's very nice. Unfortunately however, we don't have any developers now.
What kind of game are you making with it?


We are making a MMORPG (see signature) with that engine, we're busy for quite a while because we saw an improvement in the engine every time we were halfway there that needed a total conversion.

I forgot to mention that the engine supports fully skinnable GUIs and has its own compression method based on bzip IIRC too.

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 12:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 6939
Sounds very nice. Now if we would have any coder we could do something with it. :(

About the engine itself, since it's for an MMORPG, how well would it be able to display a lot of different low-poly objects? I guess you're optimizing it for a smaller number of high-poly ones?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 12:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
We are planning to use low-poly models, a MMORPG has a lot of objects scattered around a map (players, NPCs, static objects like trees) and it is targeted at systems that were mainstream a few months ago (GeForce 5x00/6x00 series).

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13178
Location: The Netherlands
charlieg wrote:
Or learn a little yourselves... even if it's only enough to get the basics started until some more experienced volunteers pop up.

Yes, thx for pointing that out. I already hear myself talking to depressed adolescents in my future job: learn a little psychology yourself, the experts will pop-up sooner or later :roll:

But anyhow (I hope you see the funny side of my reply charlieg), we don't have any coders atm. Maybe we should post a wanted poster on Sourceforge.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:36 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 1:07 pm
Posts: 5
Location: England
i can code in gml, im getting quite good at it now but im no expert, what are we coding TE in? (im guessing C)

_________________
Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:41 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13178
Location: The Netherlands
C most likely indeed.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 3:26 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 2:07 pm
Posts: 323
Hyronymus wrote:
But anyhow (I hope you see the funny side of my reply charlieg), we don't have any coders atm. Maybe we should post a wanted poster on Sourceforge.

There is a horrid irony in all this. When coders offered to help, the game design was not done. Now the game design is done, there's no coders to help.

_________________
Open source tycoon games
--
Free Gamer - open source and Free Software games
FreeGameDev forums - open source game development community


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:38 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 9:30 am
Posts: 699
Location: Back at the office
thewag wrote:
i can code in gml

What's GML? Geographic Markup Language?

_________________
Feel free to contact me over Email! My current timezone: Europe/Amsterdam (GMT+1 or GMT+2)
Code:
+------------Oo.------+
| Transport Empire -> |
+---------------------+

[ General TE Discussion ] [ TE Development ] [ TE Coding ]
Under construction...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 3:57 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 1:07 pm
Posts: 5
Location: England
GML is gamemaker language, im actually coding in pascal but is seems to work as GML is very similar to C++ and pascal, so hopefully C will also be fairly similar

_________________
Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 5:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
You can see C++ as an extension to C, so it will be very simular ;).

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 5:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Hellfire wrote:
thewag wrote:
i can code in gml

What's GML? Geographic Markup Language?


GML = Game Maker Language, see the link I posted above. It's fairly easy to use, and can be combined with Drag and Drop thingies within Game Maker.

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 6:16 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 9:30 am
Posts: 699
Location: Back at the office
I noticed something in the Game Maker Documentation:

Quote:
Game Maker focuses on two-dimensional games. So it is not meant to create 3D worlds like Quake, even though there is some limited functionality for 3D graphics.

Bummer. :(

_________________
Feel free to contact me over Email! My current timezone: Europe/Amsterdam (GMT+1 or GMT+2)

Code:
+------------Oo.------+
| Transport Empire -> |
+---------------------+


[ General TE Discussion ] [ TE Development ] [ TE Coding ]

Under construction...


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.