Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:46 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 92 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 2:30 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17150
Location: Harringay, North London
I can only agree.

2x2 it is then!

Now we've got that sorted, can we move onto selection of construction?

Or does that come under GUI?

And also, cost differences between "Dirt", "Normal Road" and "Dual Carriageway"

EDIT: Incidentally - I do wonder about how many styles of road there will be.

The one problem I always found with TTD was that there was just city and country, which meant if you'd edited the sprites to look more countrylike, things looked weird in the Suburbs of cities.

Has anyone got any ideas on this?

I think "Urban", "Suburban" and "Country" should do the trick.

And also - Pedestrianised roads... Just for a bit of realism.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1984
Location: Hampshire
one thing; the M11 is 2 lanes, the A11 is 2 lanes wide, but when it joins the A14 its 3 lanes wide until they diverge ~10 miles later. so we could have motorways 2 and 3 lanes wide but they have 70mph limits, and dual carridgeways are 2 lanes but only 60mph, DAVE dont rant at me for that, its just otherwise how do you tell the difference. also only motorways have hard shoulders, which means if a lorry/bus breaks down, it would pull over leaving the motorway clear, but on a dual carridgeway it would block the left lane. this also sparks a very good question, CARS and VANS!

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 7:36 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:06 am
Posts: 801
Location: Plymouth, England
M4rek wrote:
can we have traffic actually going round? that would be cool...


and i got scolded for going off topic...

and here we are, on topic.

i vote that we have traffic going round and therefore need more lanes.

_________________
Toyland isn't a climate, it's a mistake.
Everyone has a photographic memory - Some just don't have film
No matter how hard life gets, remember there is always light at the end of the tunnel. Let's just hope it's not a train.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 8:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
I vote for 2x2, if you want more you should just put 2 motorways next to each other.

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:36 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17150
Location: Harringay, North London
m3henry wrote:
one thing; the M11 is 2 lanes, the A11 is 2 lanes wide, but when it joins the A14 its 3 lanes wide until they diverge ~10 miles later. so we could have motorways 2 and 3 lanes wide but they have 70mph limits, and dual carridgeways are 2 lanes but only 60mph, DAVE dont rant at me for that, its just otherwise how do you tell the difference. also only motorways have hard shoulders, which means if a lorry/bus breaks down, it would pull over leaving the motorway clear, but on a dual carridgeway it would block the left lane. this also sparks a very good question, CARS and VANS!


Henry - be quiet.

I wasn't trying to advocate EVERY difference and I did point out "GENERALLY!".

Grr!

Speed limits tho, are a valid idea. Anyone?

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13179
Location: The Netherlands
Speed limits are fine with me if they are the same for all roads, that is regardless of their owner.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:01 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 8:50 pm
Posts: 529
Location: Somewhere in a country called Argentina
I thinked in 1(lenght)x2(wide) size for motorways, which is more flexible and with the same usability than 2x2 but it looks too complicated to build curves with it. If someone has got an idea for building curves with 1x2 then post it so we can have an own motorway building method :).

And what will we do with the end of the motorways? If we let them end in the air that will look too dangerous. Maybe an finishing on-ramp will fix it.

_________________
Sorry for my english I am argentinian
TTO don't crashes in Windows XP; XP crashes TTO

Formerly known as UnderBuilder.

MyMiniCity


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 7:33 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 3:54 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Perth, Australia
UnderBuilder wrote:
And what will we do with the end of the motorways? If we let them end in the air that will look too dangerous. Maybe an finishing on-ramp will fix it.

That's assuming an American style motorway which is elevated. British (and Aussie) motorways are usually on the ground (except for flyovers). Hence they can end at a regular junction.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:34 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:06 am
Posts: 801
Location: Plymouth, England
speed limits, same for all roads but can be changed by the owner at the owners own risk

_________________
Toyland isn't a climate, it's a mistake.
Everyone has a photographic memory - Some just don't have film
No matter how hard life gets, remember there is always light at the end of the tunnel. Let's just hope it's not a train.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 8:48 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17150
Location: Harringay, North London
M4rek wrote:
speed limits, same for all roads but can be changed by the owner at the owners own risk


No - Roads should be limited universally.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:16 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 3:54 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Perth, Australia
M4rek wrote:
speed limits, same for all roads but can be changed by the owner at the owners own risk
If we allow this, then we will have to allow the speed of rail to be changed. Micromanagement!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:37 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:13 pm
Posts: 80
Dave Worley wrote:
M4rek wrote:
speed limits, same for all roads but can be changed by the owner at the owners own risk


No - Roads should be limited universally.


As a german I do not agree for motorways!

I would say:

Dirt roads: 60km/h (37,5mph)
Concrete/Asphalt roads: 90km/h (55mph)
Dual Carriageways: 110km/h (70mph)
Motorways: no limit (or minimum 160km/h (100mph)


If this is possible: Roads in towns: 50km/h (30mph)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:47 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:13 pm
Posts: 80
aarona wrote:
M4rek wrote:
speed limits, same for all roads but can be changed by the owner at the owners own risk
If we allow this, then we will have to allow the speed of rail to be changed. Micromanagement!


I wouldnt say that the speed is micromanagment...

Or is it micromanagment if you buy a faster train????

I would like the possibility to create own speed limits on rails and roads with a fixed maximum speed for the individual types.

I miss such a possibility at TT and Loco!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:55 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
TomausRP wrote:
I would like the possibility to create own speed limits on rails and roads with a fixed maximum speed for the individual types.

Speed limits are suppose to keep vehicles traveling at a save speed so they can't get off the road or get involved in other accidents. So setting different speed limits for different train/road vehicle types won't help IMO. Ofcourse are tilting passenger trains capable of a higher speed than your average freight train, but you can set the maximum speed to the maximum speed of the fastest train to avoid this.

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 1:01 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17150
Location: Harringay, North London
Only Germany has sections of Autobahn with no speedlimit.

I think there's a wider base than German users.

Speedlimits for motorways should be included.

I also think that rail speed limits SHOULD apply, alas this is for a different topic. I'll bring it up at the meeting.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:27 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:13 pm
Posts: 80
Dave Worley wrote:
Only Germany has sections of Autobahn with no speedlimit.

I think there's a wider base than German users.

Speedlimits for motorways should be included.

I also think that rail speed limits SHOULD apply, alas this is for a different topic. I'll bring it up at the meeting.


And India and North Korea 8)

The Rest of the World has speed limits between 90km/h (Norway) and 160km/h (Dubai).

It's not so easy if you will have fixed limits which can't be managed by players...

And today's motorways are a german invention... :D


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:30 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:13 pm
Posts: 80
XeryusTC wrote:
TomausRP wrote:
I would like the possibility to create own speed limits on rails and roads with a fixed maximum speed for the individual types.

Speed limits are suppose to keep vehicles traveling at a save speed so they can't get off the road or get involved in other accidents. So setting different speed limits for different train/road vehicle types won't help IMO. Ofcourse are tilting passenger trains capable of a higher speed than your average freight train, but you can set the maximum speed to the maximum speed of the fastest train to avoid this.


If i can set the speed limit for all trains to maybe 80km/h on a line, this line will have more capacity against a line where train 1 travels with 200km/h, train 2 with 140km/h and train 3 with 80km/h....

And to manage the capacity of a line is not micromanagment!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:43 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 8:50 pm
Posts: 529
Location: Somewhere in a country called Argentina
Where I live the speed limits are:

- Dirt roads: 20-30km/h (12.5/19mph) (here the dirt roads are almost all in terrible conditions)
- Concrete/asphalt roads and dirt roads in good conditions: 40km/h (25mph)
- Dual carriageways: 60kmh (37.5mph) or 80 km/h (50mph)
- Motorways: 100km/h (62.5kmh), 110km/h (69km/h) or 130 km/h (81mph)

Some of these speed limits are ridiculous (mainly the concrete/asphalt roads) but the dual carriageways and motorways ones looks fine. And the speed limits that TomausRP proposed looks too high. Well, I go for the mines.

_________________
Sorry for my english I am argentinian
TTO don't crashes in Windows XP; XP crashes TTO

Formerly known as UnderBuilder.

MyMiniCity


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:51 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 3:54 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Perth, Australia
TomausRP wrote:
And to manage the capacity of a line is not micromanagment!
Uh, you would think that...your German!

Oh by the way, this is the second time in this thread that you have double posted. This is against the forum rules. Please refrain from double posting in the future. Your opinions are not worth double of everyone else.

TomausRP wrote:
If i can set the speed limit for all trains to maybe 80km/h on a line, this line will have more capacity against a line where train 1 travels with 200km/h, train 2 with 140km/h and train 3 with 80km/h....
Are you sure?? I don't agree with this at all.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 4:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 12:43 am
Posts: 1808
Location: Spain
Dave Worley wrote:
Only Germany has sections of Autobahn with no speedlimit.

I think there's a wider base than German users.

Speedlimits for motorways should be included.

I also think that rail speed limits SHOULD apply, alas this is for a different topic. I'll bring it up at the meeting.
I am from Spain, and we have a speed limit of 120 KPH, but I think that is better in this game not have speed limit in motorways because this is a reason to buy faster vehicles or build it.
For dual carriageways 110kph is a good option.

_________________
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 92 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.