Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Jan 17, 2018 11:19 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 92 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:24 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17065
Location: Harringay, North London
Well, unless it's the end of the motorway, motorways in Britain never connect with another road except by means of a junction - the likes of which we see in several pictures... And also see below. There are NO level crossings on motorways - nor dual carriageways (I don't think).

Thus - motorways are not interconnectable. This means we may need to specify "slip roads". I don't know what it is in other languages.

I'll describe below.

Excuse the bad drawings.


Attachments:
singlecar.PNG
singlecar.PNG [ 6.16 KiB | Viewed 8988 times ]
dualcar.PNG
dualcar.PNG [ 5.98 KiB | Viewed 8980 times ]

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Dave Worley wrote:
Thus - motorways are not interconnectable. This means we may need to specify "slip roads". I don't know what it is in other languages.


Yeah, but motorways are interconnectable ( = connectable to each other, I assmume) via the usual big crossings (whatever they're called).


Attachments:
motorwaycrossing.PNG
motorwaycrossing.PNG [ 15.79 KiB | Viewed 8978 times ]

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:40 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17065
Location: Harringay, North London
Yes I was going there next :P

They're called interchanges and flyovers.

There are several designs of these tho, depending on the purpose the junction has.

Thus, I think it wise that we give people the option to build freely but select "slip road" as a buildable option.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
Is a slip road a oneway road connecting one side of motorway A with one side on motorway B? Like the circles in the cloverloaf?

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:06 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:06 am
Posts: 801
Location: Plymouth, England
all the pink lines in the drawings are sliproads

_________________
Toyland isn't a climate, it's a mistake.
Everyone has a photographic memory - Some just don't have film
No matter how hard life gets, remember there is always light at the end of the tunnel. Let's just hope it's not a train.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:11 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17065
Location: Harringay, North London
Sliproads also connect motorways with their junctions - which are usually above or below. Never on the same level though.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:13 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1983
Skype: m3hww-henry
Location: University of Southampton
XeryusTC wrote:
Is a slip road a oneway road connecting one side of motorway A with one side on motorway B? Like the circles in the cloverloaf?
yes


Attachments:
grrrrrrrrrrr.PNG [23.1 KiB]
Downloaded 204 times

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13161
Location: The Netherlands
SimCity 4 calls them on-ramps, if that helps. But I think we can conclude that everyone agrees that motorways need a sophisticated way of crossing each other.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:54 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17065
Location: Harringay, North London
Hyronymus wrote:
SimCity 4 calls them on-ramps, if that helps. But I think we can conclude that everyone agrees that motorways need a sophisticated way of crossing each other.


That is the American term, yes.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 7:13 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Dave Worley wrote:
Thus, I think it wise that we give people the option to build freely but select "slip road" as a buildable option.


I'm not sure about that. I think I'd prefer the SimCity 3000* way, where a slip road is 1 piece of 1 pre-defined size (dependable on the type of crossing tho) which can be built.

Either that or have pre-designed flyovers and such.

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:21 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 3:54 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Perth, Australia
I would agree with making it SimCity-ish. Its a proven formula, simple to implement and does the job.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:23 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
It's simple for the player too. :wink:

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 5:50 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:06 am
Posts: 801
Location: Plymouth, England
i never actually figured out how to do sliproads in SimCity...

oh wait, i did, but that was just before i got bored of the game and stopped playing

_________________
Toyland isn't a climate, it's a mistake.
Everyone has a photographic memory - Some just don't have film
No matter how hard life gets, remember there is always light at the end of the tunnel. Let's just hope it's not a train.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:58 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17065
Location: Harringay, North London
aarona wrote:
I would agree with making it SimCity-ish. Its a proven formula, simple to implement and does the job.


Could you get a couple of screenshots for me?

I think if we're agreed, we can start discussing other roads.

For example - motorways in Britain are three lanes wide - But what about dual carriageways that are two?

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13161
Location: The Netherlands
Dual carriageways are double-deck motorways, right? I suggest we start simple. Also, note that motorways are 2-lanes per tile according the DD. I think that's silly.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:55 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17065
Location: Harringay, North London
Hyronymus wrote:
Dual carriageways are double-deck motorways, right? I suggest we start simple. Also, note that motorways are 2-lanes per tile according the DD. I think that's silly.


No - a carriageway is one lane of traffic.

A dual carriageway is two lanes of traffic in either direction.

In Britain a motorway is three.

Since I assume a road will = one tile, then a motorway could be three tiles wide?

(One way up road on left tile, two way road on middle tile with special graphical seperation, one way down road on right tile)

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 2:31 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 3:54 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Perth, Australia
Here is a picture from Sim City 4 (Rush Hour) which shows a "motorway", with a motorway junction and on and off ramps. (top right of the screen)

I'm glad the British have a sensible naming system. We have freeways which change from 2 lanes both-way, to 3, to 4 and 5 (with or without a dedicated bus lane). Some also have rail going down the middle between the two directions.


Attachments:
File comment: Sim City Screenshot from http://au.media.pc.ign.com/media/566/566222/img_1817619.html
simcity4rushhour_092203_001.jpg
simcity4rushhour_092203_001.jpg [ 113.23 KiB | Viewed 8844 times ]
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:00 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17065
Location: Harringay, North London
aarona wrote:
Here is a picture from Sim City 4 (Rush Hour) which shows a "motorway", with a motorway junction and on and off ramps. (top right of the screen)

I'm glad the British have a sensible naming system. We have freeways which change from 2 lanes both-way, to 3, to 4 and 5 (with or without a dedicated bus lane). Some also have rail going down the middle between the two directions.


Well I say three lanes loosely.

In the middle of complicated junctions, there'll often be a fourth lane to give drivers two lanes each for each direction. Then for a while there'll be two lanes, then it'll grow to three again.

There are *some* discrepancies but generally British motorways are three lanes.

Incidentally, in Britain we have the usual way of numbering motorways - M1, M4, M5, M6, M25, M40, M62 and so on and so forth.

But there is also a secondary category for roads that were originally A-roads (that is to say "primary" routes) that have been given motorway status.

These are usually referred to with an M in brackets. So the Aston Expressway in Birmingham (which leads to Spaghetti Junction on the M6) is the A38(M).

It's a little more confusing than I've made out.

Motorways - generally 3 lanes, occasionally 4 in busy sections.
A-Roads with Motorway status - generally 2 lanes, with 3 in some areas.
A-Roads - "Trunk roads" are often dual carriageways and are the main routes where motorways don't apply. A lot of A-Roads are single carriageway (that is one lane in either direction), especially in urban areas. I personally live on the A491.
B-Roads - Are almost always single carriageway and are like minor routes. The B4173 diverges from the A491 a little way down the road and carries traffic to the main road at the bottom a little closer to Stourbridge than the A491 does.
Unclassified roads are usually streets - and occasionally small countryside roads. In the cities, they will generally be a normal single carriageway but in the countryside they may be single track - that is only one car's width. Then there are passing places for cars to stop and let others through and so on.

As I said - a little more confusing than I made out, but to be honest - and I'm sounding my own country's horn a little here - I think it's a top-notch classification system that far outstrips that of the Continental countries.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:45 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
We don't need 2*3 lane roads if there's no ordinary traffic at them.

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:15 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13161
Location: The Netherlands
No, indeed, just 2 x 2 should do :).

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 92 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.