Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 7:53 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 92 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: [RFD] Constructing roads
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 12:32 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13174
Location: The Netherlands
Just something that spring my mind. If you lay roads within the jurisdiction if a city, does the city immediatly become the owner? I would favour that as long as there isn't a stupid limit on the amount of road you can remove and as long as you (or the AI) don't make RV stops unreachable. I thought of this when I contemplated on the shared infrastructure suggestions. I would find it rather annoying to be unable to use/cross city roads that were build by competitors without having to sign a contract for 'sharing their crossings'. Outside the city jurisdiction this would be less a problem. There is enough space to build your own competing network, with bridges or tunnels to cross competitors' roads.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 12:49 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:22 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
I think this is a good idea. I'd also contemplate perhaps having the city reimburse companies that build roads for them.

_________________
Grunt
(aka Stephan Grunt, CEO of Grunt Transport Inc. since 1994.)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 1:23 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 354
Location: Denmark
... but if your city rating rises as an effect of building roads inside/near a city, it could be just as good as building trees. Clearly that would at the very least need some kind of restriction on when it raised your city rating.

I like the idea of road built inside a city belonging to the city. (Or maybe rather just "being public".) I'm not sure if it should ever be allowed to remove road inside a city, actually... because then some non-transport buildings could be left without road access which is very undesirable, and basically no-one would like.
Actually, I think I wouldn't be against it if modifying roads inside a city was entirely forbidden, except for any automatic modifications done as a result of building transport structures.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:10 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:22 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
jfs wrote:
Actually, I think I wouldn't be against it if modifying roads inside a city was entirely forbidden, except for any automatic modifications done as a result of building transport structures.


...not without substantial bribery and deceit, at least. :) I mean, c'mon.. it just wouldn't feel right if you couldn't at least fund road reconstruction. :twisted:

_________________
Grunt

(aka Stephan Grunt, CEO of Grunt Transport Inc. since 1994.)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 7:52 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13174
Location: The Netherlands
I must admit with jfs that the ability to remove roads isn't a real must when TE comes with a sane approach to building stations in towns. I think I have a nice suggestion for constructing stations but I'll create a new topic for that.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 10:37 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 8:19 pm
Posts: 2085
Location: London
I thinm the LA should own all the roads, otherwise we could just have a big mess. Although maybe we could have company owned roads coming off main roads to their truck stops.. At least then another company can't just use your roads to start stealing your cargo.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 12:15 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13174
Location: The Netherlands
Isn't that too much TTD thinking? What if TE has drive-through RV-bays?

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 12:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 8:19 pm
Posts: 2085
Location: London
It is? What if?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 2:43 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4535
Location: /home/sweden
Steve wrote:
It is? What if?

The FRD says that it will, and noone have objected that. So it WILL have drive trought stops.

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:15 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 8:19 pm
Posts: 2085
Location: London
I'm not objecting to it, i just want to know what that has to do with anything.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 8:18 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:22 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Steve wrote:
Although maybe we could have company owned roads coming off main roads to their truck stops.


...with the drive-through RV bays, we can just put the bay on a stretch of road owned by the LA and not have to worry about building our own roads to serve our cargo stations.

_________________
Grunt

(aka Stephan Grunt, CEO of Grunt Transport Inc. since 1994.)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 9:55 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 8:19 pm
Posts: 2085
Location: London
That's not what i meant. I meant we have a goverment controlled route between London and Skegness, let's call it the P5. A mile off the P5 is a Coal mine. Steve Transport makes a road from the coal mine, linking it up to P5 and thus letting his wonderful trucks make Steve lots of money, so he can buy the world. But watch out! Owen's Oranges wants coal, and plops his own station at the end of my pretty road and starts running his own smelly trucks down it!

I'm simply saying, there is an advantage to road that only the builder can use.

I don't think it's wise to just dump a RV bay in the middle of a road, otherwise when trucks are loading, traffic can't get past! It's have to be off the road slightly, but trucks can still go through.. a bit like a petrol station.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 10:18 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:22 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Well, yes, you're allowed to have roads only you can use if they're outside cities. This is more a question of what happens inside cities.

And an inline truck bay would, of course, most likely have a separate loading zone. Very cheap inline bus stops might not have that option, however :)

_________________
Grunt

(aka Stephan Grunt, CEO of Grunt Transport Inc. since 1994.)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 2:05 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 429
Why would we do this any different than tracks?

If you build a road, you own it and if somebody wants to use it, they pay you. That's for outside cities ofcourse.

Inside cities, I guess we should have something like the airport construction : the player proposes it, builds it, pays (a bit) for it, but then the town owns it.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 2:08 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 8:19 pm
Posts: 2085
Location: London
Inside towns, chances are that the town will build all the roads it needs from normal expansion anyway. Any roads built in the town should be defiently owned by the town, but what about roads that come into it's area as it expands? I guess we'll have to add them too.

As for the proposing road suggestion, i think it needs to be automatic in the planning mode for normal road building or it's probaly too much detail for something we may not do A LOT of.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 2:30 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 429
Steve wrote:
Inside towns, chances are that the town will build all the roads it needs from normal expansion anyway. Any roads built in the town should be defiently owned by the town, but what about roads that come into it's area as it expands? I guess we'll have to add them too.


I think they should stay owned by the player, but maybe forced open-acces to everyone against a fixed fee.

Steve wrote:
As for the proposing road suggestion, i think it needs to be automatic in the planning mode for normal road building or it's probaly too much detail for something we may not do A LOT of.


Ofcourse, I just listed it, to show that the town might say "no".


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 5:21 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4535
Location: /home/sweden
For cities it was suggested that they will first build 2 lane roads in the middle of the tiles, and the rest would be grass or park. Later on they will upgrade it to a 4 lane road, when needed.

Why not use the extra space becides a 2 lane road for stops. And for 4 lae roads have the stops at the outer lanes. This way a company that builds a stop cant block the traffic on public roads. Alltroght on a 4 lane road the traffic will be a bit hindered.


For roads that YOU own, wou should be allowed to place stops on 2 lane roads, that block the traffic if you want. (not sure about this, becuse it might lead to less sharing of roads.)

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:34 am 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer

Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2002 4:39 pm
Posts: 3610
Location: Over there --->
When was the last time you were stuck behind a bus at a bus stop for long enough that it really mattered?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 4:39 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4535
Location: /home/sweden
ChrisCF wrote:
When was the last time you were stuck behind a bus at a bus stop for long enough that it really mattered?

Well, in simutrans I find it quite anoying that buses block the street compleetly at that direction when they stop.

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 7:22 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4535
Location: /home/sweden
minutes of meeting 2005-03-05 wrote:
* VOTE: Are we going to add traffic for visual effect? Quick poll, yes/no.
RESULT: Yes: 3, No: 2


This means that we have to make a dev poll. Right?

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 92 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.