Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Discuss, get help with, or post new modifications, graphics or related tools for Locomotion in this forum.

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 183
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

I'm following Walter's tutorial to convert an MSTS loco. I'm nearly finished, however, when finding which Png file is the horizontal sprite, I noticed ALL the png's are just black images! I don't think this is normal, what happened?! :shock:

Thanks!

Also, I'm doing a steam locomotive with a tender, do I need to start the locomotive numbering at 136 or the tender numbering at 136?
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

User avatar
Manuel18
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 164
Joined: 23 May 2011 15:31
Skype: mejias.manuel36
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Contact:

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Manuel18 »

There is a problem with loco palette. You should use it with Wally.

In other words. Wally is necessary at all cost. Locomotion PNG use a 8bit palette, but there are some special colors like company and transparent than are necessary.

Most graphic Programs like MS Paint use a default 24bit palette.
Image[url=steam://friends/add/76561198029896773]Image[/url]

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 183
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

Yep, I then put them into wally and followed his tutorial and used his locomotion palattes. Still blank black sprites. Perhaps I will try again once he gets back to me.
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

User avatar
Manuel18
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 164
Joined: 23 May 2011 15:31
Skype: mejias.manuel36
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Contact:

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Manuel18 »

This problem sound familiar to me.

I think you should close all programs except Wally and try again. DirectX 7 it's too old. :roll:

Let's see on the future I will use my coding skills because using Wally to do this task cost a lot time.
Image[url=steam://friends/add/76561198029896773]Image[/url]

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 183
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

What is DirectX 7?

Also, I'm not saying that my sprites are black in - game. They are blank black images once they export. Even before I put them into wally, they should come up as images.

Screenies:

When I go to view them after exported - Blank Black images! All of them!
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-06-04 at 11.24.56 AM.png
(681.83 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2020-06-04 at 11.25.20 AM.png
(437.79 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

User avatar
Walter1940
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 870
Joined: 19 Mar 2007 01:30
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Walter1940 »

I'm not sure if Wally can work with Mac.
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 183
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

Walter1940 wrote:
04 Jun 2020 20:24
I'm not sure if Wally can work with Mac.
Everything was working great, again. It begins when I export from Vehicle creator, the sprites exported are just blank. they do not go blank after using wally. Are they supposed to be blank?

And none of this stuff can work with mac, but with crossover, everything operates flawlessly
Last edited by Blaxlandridge3 on 04 Jun 2020 20:49, edited 1 time in total.
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

User avatar
Walter1940
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 870
Joined: 19 Mar 2007 01:30
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Walter1940 »

No of course not. You have to be able to see the vehicle before and after processing with Wally.
If not, something is going wrong.
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 183
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

Walter1940 wrote:
04 Jun 2020 20:49
No of course not. You have to be able to see the vehicle before and after processing with Wally.
If not, something is going wrong.
So it must be a problem with MSTS2Loco then. Any idea how to fix it?
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

User avatar
Walter1940
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 870
Joined: 19 Mar 2007 01:30
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Walter1940 »

It can be. But nobody has ever tried to build vehicles with a Mac.
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 183
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

Walter1940 wrote:
04 Jun 2020 21:08
It can be. But nobody has ever tried to build vehicles with a Mac.
While the fact that my base machine is a Mac may be it, once crossover is working it's like 100% windows. And to prove so, I have taken screenshots from one of my lomo games, and those came out just fine. I'm not sure what to do at this point. :?
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

User avatar
Walter1940
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 870
Joined: 19 Mar 2007 01:30
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Walter1940 »

Neither do I. I have the same MSTS model for editing. And so far everything works for me.
I will think about it.
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 183
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

Thank you. I'm really disappointed. ;(
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 183
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

Last night, while trying to fall asleep, staring at the ceiling, I thought, ok, all this program does is it takes a bunch of pictures of the sprits it needs. What if there is some sort of screen capturer that can take a bunch of pictures of the screen while MSTS2loco runs it through the process? That would work! I'm going to search around and see if anything like that exists. Wish me luck! :mrgreen:

EDIT: Tried a few, resulted in poor image quality. :(
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

griffinrails
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 86
Joined: 08 Jul 2016 00:11
Location: I dunno (help i'm lost)

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by griffinrails »

Perhaps a VM could work? I'd recommend a Windows XP virtual machine.
I know next to nothing about macs. :(
= STEAM TRAM viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87037 =+= CITY AND COUNTRY USA viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87054 =+= MAILCAR PATCH viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87071 =+= THE DECLINE viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87127 =+= NEW STATIONS viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87191=+= DISTANT SIGNALS viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87206 =+= AUSSIE LEVEL CROSSING viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87364 =+= BROAD GAUGE FOR LOCOMOTION viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87336 =

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 183
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: Modding help! All my sprites are blank!

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

Ah, I tried the virtual machine, but to no avail. I'm thinking of just getting a windows computer. I'm fed up with this mac.

Visit my Announcement topic I made yesterday. I stated that if I'm sent the .bmp's I can do everything else. That includes trying moving rods :wink:
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Graphics, Modifications & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests