[WIP] Steam Tram

Discuss, get help with, or post new modifications, graphics or related tools for Locomotion in this forum.

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

griffinrails
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 86
Joined: 08 Jul 2016 00:11
Location: I dunno (help i'm lost)

Re: [WIP] Steam Tram

Post by griffinrails »

Ok, so i have this issue with Wally. Every time i go through and do the instructions, even after I have checked everything again and again, it says "Nothing to convert". :evil:
I searched the forum and saw that some people use Irfanview to do it. I tried it aswell and it aid the same thing!
Could anyone just do it for me quickly please? This is an absolute PAIN with my crappy laptop.
I also have goofed up the trailer script, could anyone fix it up?
(PS-I'm still working on the sloped sprites for the engine)
Attachments
STRAM V0.2.1 (help!).zip
Some additional sprites added for the engine
(223.91 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
= STEAM TRAM viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87037 =+= CITY AND COUNTRY USA viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87054 =+= MAILCAR PATCH viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87071 =+= THE DECLINE viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87127 =+= NEW STATIONS viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87191=+= DISTANT SIGNALS viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87206 =+= AUSSIE LEVEL CROSSING viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87364 =+= BROAD GAUGE FOR LOCOMOTION viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87336 =

User avatar
Walter1940
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 870
Joined: 19 Mar 2007 01:30
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: [WIP] Steam Tram

Post by Walter1940 »

If I see that correctly, you have edited the pictures 000 - 035. But unfortunately something went wrong. Your image editing program compressed the images too strongly when saving. The new ones are almost half the size of the rest. I suspect that part of the image information was lost.

Please stop editing and use the program Paint.net. I've had very good experiences with this, unless you change any settings when saving.
If you have further questions, you can also write me a PM.

In addition, I do not now know what the trailer for the tram should be. The file in the xml is different than in your working folder.
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/

User avatar
Zakos
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3913
Joined: 15 Mar 2012 02:48
Location: USA but hiding it
Contact:

Re: [WIP] Steam Tram

Post by Zakos »

I think there was either a mistype or my computer didn't like the program. Either way, I had the same problem. There's a certain part of the tutorial that tells you to use .bmp, but I got it to work by selecting .png, try that and see if it works.

User avatar
Walter1940
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 870
Joined: 19 Mar 2007 01:30
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: [WIP] Steam Tram

Post by Walter1940 »

Zakos, I know. But normally the images are created with MSTS2loco in the bmp format.
Because he uses existing images in png format, of course you have to change the settings accordingly.
Nevertheless, it only processes images 036 - 063. They are also 2 Kb in size, while images 000 - 035 are only 1 Kb in size.
Something was wrong when saving the images after editing. You can't get the pictures like this.
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/

griffinrails
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 86
Joined: 08 Jul 2016 00:11
Location: I dunno (help i'm lost)

Re: [WIP] Steam Tram

Post by griffinrails »

Alright, i'll try out Paint.NET. Hopefully it works.
= STEAM TRAM viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87037 =+= CITY AND COUNTRY USA viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87054 =+= MAILCAR PATCH viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87071 =+= THE DECLINE viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87127 =+= NEW STATIONS viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87191=+= DISTANT SIGNALS viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87206 =+= AUSSIE LEVEL CROSSING viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87364 =+= BROAD GAUGE FOR LOCOMOTION viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87336 =

griffinrails
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 86
Joined: 08 Jul 2016 00:11
Location: I dunno (help i'm lost)

Re: [WIP] Steam Tram

Post by griffinrails »

So, I did a test using the British EMU with Paint.NET, and this happened for some reason. Anyone know how to fix this?
EDIT:
It might have the same problem as the tram..
Attachments
Fail..PNG
Fail..PNG (6.68 KiB) Viewed 417 times
EDIT
EDIT
Screenshot4.png (165.3 KiB) Viewed 412 times
= STEAM TRAM viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87037 =+= CITY AND COUNTRY USA viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87054 =+= MAILCAR PATCH viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87071 =+= THE DECLINE viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87127 =+= NEW STATIONS viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87191=+= DISTANT SIGNALS viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87206 =+= AUSSIE LEVEL CROSSING viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87364 =+= BROAD GAUGE FOR LOCOMOTION viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87336 =

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 183
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: [WIP] Steam Tram

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

Looks like a camoflauge EMU now :lol:
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

User avatar
Lighthouse
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 306
Joined: 29 Jul 2009 17:51
Location: ´s-Hertogenbosch (AKA "The Duke´s Forest") , the Netherlands

Re: [WIP] Steam Tram

Post by Lighthouse »

looks like that the background is not filtered out.

Nice to see that Walter has learned a new trick :D
The only thing that is not very successful in the wireless version : Bungee Jumping 8o
Just fold at the dotted line and cut it out with a pair of scissors. If you are under the age of 16 please ask one of your parents or an adult supervisor if she/he can help you.
Image........................................................................................
ImageImage

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7330
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [WIP] Steam Tram

Post by kamnet »

griffinrails wrote:
21 May 2020 04:49
So, I did a test using the British EMU with Paint.NET, and this happened for some reason. Anyone know how to fix this?
EDIT:
It might have the same problem as the tram..
It's because you used PDN, which doesn't preserve palette colors properly. Use GIMP instead, extract the palette based on the file, and then load that before you load the image and start editing.

griffinrails
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 86
Joined: 08 Jul 2016 00:11
Location: I dunno (help i'm lost)

Re: [WIP] Steam Tram

Post by griffinrails »

Thanks Kammet!
I wonder if it's possible to convert the sprite I made with Gimp?
= STEAM TRAM viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87037 =+= CITY AND COUNTRY USA viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87054 =+= MAILCAR PATCH viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87071 =+= THE DECLINE viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87127 =+= NEW STATIONS viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87191=+= DISTANT SIGNALS viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87206 =+= AUSSIE LEVEL CROSSING viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87364 =+= BROAD GAUGE FOR LOCOMOTION viewtopic.php?f=40&t=87336 =

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Graphics, Modifications & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests