Industry in a straight line

Discuss, get help with, or post new modifications, graphics or related tools for Locomotion in this forum.

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Daf00
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Apr 2019 05:32
Contact:

Industry in a straight line

Post by Daf00 » 01 Apr 2019 06:35

Hi Locomotors.

Im trying to figure out how to place industry tiles in a straight line.
The windmill shows me how to allways face a single direction. But not in a straight line.
It would make placement of my container ship a lot easier.
I tried all the different bits shown in the variables list. I think.
But if anyone knows its yous guys right? So here I am :D
The attachment industry.jpg is no longer available
v004042019.jpg
v004042019.jpg (256.12 KiB) Viewed 6523 times
WIP. The models is bought then edited with Blender.

Thanks to tt-forum for keeping old threads and helping me this far.
Last edited by Daf00 on 04 Apr 2019 02:21, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Owen-Alexander
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 76
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 11:30
Location: Australia

Re: Industry in a straight line

Post by Owen-Alexander » 01 Apr 2019 07:33

There is a trick using roads (in scenario editor) or rail (during a playable game). What most people do is place the road in such a way that the only spaces for the industry to be placed is between the road/rail.

----------------
+++++++++
+++++++++
----------------

Where - = road/rail and + = Your industry tile. That's the best example I can give without trawling through all my old scenarios. If you have free time, look up the serpent map by zimmlock, I sort of remember that some of the industries are placed in strips like you want.

Edit: I just realised you may be wanting to know if there is code way of making it be in one line, to that I am not sure of. The method I described is mainly used to help with catchment areas for industries.

User avatar
Daf00
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Apr 2019 05:32
Contact:

Re: Industry in a straight line

Post by Daf00 » 01 Apr 2019 14:29

Owen-Alexander wrote:There is a trick using roads (in scenario editor) or rail (during a playable game). What most people do is place the road in such a way that the only spaces for the industry to be placed is between the road/rail.
Thats perfect. Youve made my day:D
Thanks a lot Owen-Alexander! :bow:

User avatar
Owen-Alexander
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 76
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 11:30
Location: Australia

Re: Industry in a straight line

Post by Owen-Alexander » 01 Apr 2019 23:49

No problems. It certainly helps with lining up industries to get the most out of a map or have a certain look to the placement.

User avatar
_CHILI_
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: 08 Jan 2018 19:26
Location: Boulder Bay

Re: Industry in a straight line

Post by _CHILI_ » 04 Apr 2019 04:28

Those industries look amazing. Great work!

User avatar
Daf00
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Apr 2019 05:32
Contact:

Re: Industry in a straight line

Post by Daf00 » 04 Apr 2019 22:26

_CHILI_ wrote:Those industries look amazing. Great work!
Thanks m8. You can get them @ mixen.dk for now. But remember its W.I.P.
The ship is made of 2 oilrigs. One should edit what is produced to ones needs before play. For both front and back of the ship (001 & 002).
right now its produces Steel and Paper.

User avatar
Owen-Alexander
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 76
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 11:30
Location: Australia

Re: Industry in a straight line

Post by Owen-Alexander » 05 Apr 2019 08:07

What are the containers classed as? (Building, Station, Docks?)

I only ask as I'm curious and want to see how they would fit in (in the scenario editor) to the game.

Are you open to suggestions as to making improvements (in ways to reduce building spam to make functional container yards).

User avatar
Daf00
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Apr 2019 05:32
Contact:

Re: Industry in a straight line

Post by Daf00 » 30 Apr 2019 00:46

Owen-Alexander wrote:What are the containers classed as? (Building, Station, Docks?)

I only ask as I'm curious and want to see how they would fit in (in the scenario editor) to the game.

Are you open to suggestions as to making improvements (in ways to reduce building spam to make functional container yards).
Hi Owen.
Yes would be very nice if you would teach me something. Containers and Cranes is buildings and the Ship is industry.

I could use help with the new Crane. Trying to make it slim enough that train station can reach the ship. Some kind of "always on top". :D
Attachments
failed-test.png
Always on top this Crane?
failed-test.png (386.62 KiB) Viewed 2366 times
MXCPRT00.dat
ship
(208.29 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
MXCPRTXX.dat
fail crane
(143.85 KiB) Downloaded 22 times

User avatar
Owen-Alexander
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 76
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 11:30
Location: Australia

Re: Industry in a straight line

Post by Owen-Alexander » 30 Apr 2019 06:35

I think the issue your having with the crane is mainly due to scale. Now, there is nothing wrong with the scale your using (as it actually looks like it should) but a thing to keep in mind is how locomotion scale has things. A good example of this (in the early days of modding) coaches were given almost perfect real world lengths, leading to a four tile long coach, while locomotion's biggest is two tiles at most.

So, maybe have a rethink on scale? If you do resize the tiles to be like 2x2 max, then the trains get a bit closer to the ship than in your picture. With resizing in mind, why not add a rail station that has gantries on it to look part of your crane aesthetic.

The improvements I had in mind (that I mentioned earlier) are these:
1. Add a container yard industry (So players can fund their own yards without using the scenario editor).
2. If you can, Add a 'airport' made of the containers and gantry buildings in 2x6, 2x8 and 2x10 sizes.
3. Rail wagons/trucks with your containers on them. (Add a bit more immersion to the game).

Hope I am not overstepping, just want to add my 2 cents to something that I see going far.

User avatar
Daf00
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Apr 2019 05:32
Contact:

Re: Industry in a straight line

Post by Daf00 » 30 Apr 2019 19:32

Owen-Alexander wrote:
Hope I am not overstepping, just want to add my 2 cents to something that I see going far.
Your ideas is very welcome. Making me to think things over.

I really want the road underneath the crane. I figure it can be done in more than one way.
The front of the crane can be a Digidampfman type track and signals.
Or it could be a second industry made of 1x1's? Even if a industry can be made of only 1x1's, it would take up 2 industries which is not good.
The best thing would be including the front crane in the ship industry. making it look like the upper half of the first picture below.
Problem would be if it acts like the lower half of that same picture.
industry between roads placement.jpg
upper half is good. lower half is bad.
industry between roads placement.jpg (30.3 KiB) Viewed 2208 times


My second choice
front of crane as digidampfman type track signals.jpg
digidampf type track for front of crane
front of crane as digidampfman type track signals.jpg (52.51 KiB) Viewed 2208 times


Last example is the way I would like to go. If the industry can be set to act like it.
front of crane included in ship industry.jpg
this would be optimal
front of crane included in ship industry.jpg (48.86 KiB) Viewed 2208 times


You are right about gantry and containers as industry. Making them fit between tracks and producing more.
Problem is them taking up industry slots. It will have to be done to make the choice tho.
The trucks and wagons is going to make my hair turn grey. But they are needed indeed. I will dig into those later. Im far from :bow: Seelenquell quality. I need more learning to make things look like that:D

User avatar
Daf00
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Apr 2019 05:32
Contact:

Re: Industry in a straight line

Post by Daf00 » 30 Apr 2019 20:55

EDIT: I just tried removing tiles in the middle of the airport to drive at train "into" it. I didnt know that was a possibility. I will be doing more airport testing now. Seems to be a fix to my problem. Thank you for suggesting the airport.

User avatar
Owen-Alexander
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 76
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 11:30
Location: Australia

Re: Industry in a straight line

Post by Owen-Alexander » 01 May 2019 00:05

I'm sure that an idea will come to you regarding the road issue (its something that has stumped a few players before).

On a side note, were you aware of the previous attempts on a container mod? If not, a source of inspiration maybe this thread. It's the previous attempts at a container yard mod set, including the original idea for setting the gantries as an airport.

For the rail wagon and road vehicle, see if you can work something out with walter1940. He's got good stuff on his site, and (at least as a temporary measure) could have something that works for you.

User avatar
Daf00
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Apr 2019 05:32
Contact:

Re: Industry in a straight line

Post by Daf00 » 01 May 2019 01:34

Owen-Alexander wrote:I'm sure that an idea will come to you regarding the road issue (its something that has stumped a few players before).

On a side note, were you aware of the previous attempts on a container mod? If not, a source of inspiration maybe this thread. It's the previous attempts at a container yard mod set, including the original idea for setting the gantries as an airport.

For the rail wagon and road vehicle, see if you can work something out with walter1940. He's got good stuff on his site, and (at least as a temporary measure) could have something that works for you.
My man 8) You placed me right infront of the answer.
Test shows no problem continuing with the crane as airport.

Yes I saw the picture of Plastikmans container port. But when I couldnt get those files I decided to make my own.
I regrettingly forgot to look at the Plastikman thread again for help since I have saved the gameplay picture on my pc.

I will look into Walters guide before start making vehicles. Already using some trains of his website. The DB and DSB ones. Specially DB BR120C and DDBREGIO.

Thanks again Owen
test-working.png
test-working.png (64.77 KiB) Viewed 2148 times

User avatar
Owen-Alexander
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 76
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 11:30
Location: Australia

Re: Industry in a straight line

Post by Owen-Alexander » 01 May 2019 02:20

Always happy to help. Good to see that you figured out the cranes.

If I remember correctly, the files were removed shortly after the initial posting (it was, at the time, an April fools joke that led people to believe it was a container mod, but was a 'drug' commodity mod).

Looking forward to seeing what you got in store for us when you next update.

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Graphics, Modifications & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests