Troubleshoting my first conversion.

Discuss, get help with, or post new modifications, graphics or related tools for Locomotion in this forum.

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Post Reply
SD40-2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 11 Apr 2013 21:20

Troubleshoting my first conversion.

Post by SD40-2 » 02 Sep 2015 23:27

Before I go off and make Company-Colored Vehicles, I decided to convert one of my previous MSTS reskins to Locomotion.

The scale came out rather well, actually. However, I seem to have messed up somehow, because it's stuck at a weird angle and slope... Screenshot attached

So, what did I do wrong? I can think of two things right now.

1. I made it too long.
2. The image files I used are too big.

However, it seems that the colors came out extremely well. So, that's really nice.
Screenshot1.jpg
SD70
(1.7 MiB) Not downloaded yet

SD40-2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 11 Apr 2013 21:20

Re: Troubleshoting my first conversion.

Post by SD40-2 » 03 Sep 2015 01:11

Problem Solved - I regenerated the model at a smaller scale. It's still too long, but behaves normally.

TJ-99
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 67
Joined: 17 Jun 2014 17:39
Location: Louisiana

Re: Troubleshoting my first conversion.

Post by TJ-99 » 03 Sep 2015 02:17

The screenshot looks good.

Keep up the good work. It's nice to see new creations.

SD40-2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 11 Apr 2013 21:20

KCS SD70MAC

Post by SD40-2 » 03 Sep 2015 04:02

Wow. I'm surprised, considering the strangeness of that first shot. Thank you.

Here's one significantly more tuned and modified. Now it kinda fits in with Plastikman's and Long John Sliver's locomotives. :P

Still like to get the trucks to turn separate from the locomotive. But that's another time.

PS - Long John Sliver or Plastikman: If you can read this, I'd really like your help please. How do you two make your locomotives look so good?
Screenshot4.jpg
KCS Belle SD70MAC
(1.68 MiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
glenjimen
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 102
Joined: 16 Aug 2013 00:44

Re: Troubleshoting my first conversion.

Post by glenjimen » 04 Sep 2015 18:00

Hey! I like the look of that loco!
SD40-2 wrote:Still like to get the trucks to turn separate from the locomotive. But that's another time.
To get separate trucks, you have to run the trucks through MSTS2Loco separate from the loco. You only need to do this once (not twice, once for the front, once for the back ). In the .DAT file, the loco pics are numbered 0-135, while the trucks are 136-183. Then change the XML file, I forget exactly what to change, but this site might help : http://www.tt-wiki.net/wiki/Variable:Li ... -_Vehicles

I look forward to using some of your creations!
... but what do I know? I play with trains.

User avatar
Walter1940
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 798
Joined: 19 Mar 2007 01:30
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Troubleshoting my first conversion.

Post by Walter1940 » 04 Sep 2015 18:23

@SD40-2
If I understand you correctly you need to build trucks !? In this case, you need 208 images similar to the narrow-gauge railway. The rest of the settings can be found on my website.

http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-m ... english/#F

Good luck
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/

SD40-2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 11 Apr 2013 21:20

Re: Troubleshoting my first conversion.

Post by SD40-2 » 04 Sep 2015 20:59

Ok, now I've manged to confuse myself. Thank you, but I still need a little help.

I converted a truck to the proper format.

Could you guys please tell me which images I need to use? I used the wagon setting on it, for the record.

I've already got everything else ready to go.
Attachments
HTCR.zip
(41.02 KiB) Downloaded 37 times
Last edited by SD40-2 on 04 Sep 2015 21:56, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
glenjimen
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 102
Joined: 16 Aug 2013 00:44

Re: Troubleshoting my first conversion.

Post by glenjimen » 04 Sep 2015 21:33

I found the problem, you had 16 + 4 extra sprites. 16 extra came from the first set of 32 level truck sprites, you only need every-other one. 4 extra came from the mid-slope sprites, you don't need them at all. I uploaded your sprites again without these extra sprites. Now they are 136 - 183.
Attachments
HTCR_fix.zip
(47.34 KiB) Downloaded 39 times
... but what do I know? I play with trains.

SD40-2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 11 Apr 2013 21:20

Re: Troubleshoting my first conversion.

Post by SD40-2 » 04 Sep 2015 21:59

Thank you for the clarification and info.

Which sprites are the mid-slope sprites? I found it rather hard to tell given the small scale and the way the sprites need to be arranged.

User avatar
glenjimen
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 102
Joined: 16 Aug 2013 00:44

Re: Troubleshoting my first conversion.

Post by glenjimen » 04 Sep 2015 22:12

In your HTCR.zip file, the mid-slope sprites I'm referring to are sprites: 167,168,169,170.
... but what do I know? I play with trains.

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Graphics, Modifications & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests