Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:20 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

Which feature would you want in development?
Old American Locomotives (1830-1900) 17%  17%  [ 9 ]
Old European Locomotives (1830-1900) 19%  19%  [ 10 ]
New American Locomotives (1900-2000) 24%  24%  [ 13 ]
New European Locomotives (1900-2000) 17%  17%  [ 9 ]
New American Aircraft (1905-2500) 9%  9%  [ 5 ]
New European Aircraft (1915-2100) 15%  15%  [ 8 ]
Total votes: 54
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:18 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:47 pm
Posts: 33
Image
WELCOME TO LOCOMOTION EXPANDED, MY FRIEND.

Locomotion Expanded is an expansion pack / mod set during an expanded time-span going from 1820-2150; and includes FOUR maps from two eras, Rise of Railroads (1820-1900), The Big Boom (Under Construction, 1900-1960), and The Jet Age(Under Construction, 1960-2050. They are to showcase the free-play mode in the game, and the progress so far on the latter locomotives (1900-2000) and also because I am reworking the normal scenarios involved in the game. There are many new locomotives, most of which are made between 1820 and 1920, others are still being fixed up for the final release.

The 1800's are a little wonky, but that's because of the inflation system and how it is usually set up between 1900 and 2100, and is hardwired into the executable, which is illegal to edit and/or publish. So, unless I am cleared to edit the exe, or get the rights to make an official expansion, this is what you'll get.

UPDATE! New Early US Locomotive: Muddigger; New Locomotive Start Dates (Based on RAILROAD TYCOON 2).

Coming Soon: More AMTRAK (1965-2040),GENERAL MOTORS (1975-2040), BOEING (1915-2150), and AIRBUS (1980-2035)!
Dunno when. Still working on the music replacements.

DOWNLOAD
Image
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/8h5cihbte34vq23/AACjZs7wfJns-VPLyDuYocsfa
Image
https://www.dropbox.com/s/4j23kba4asm2hb6/LocoExpand.exe
Thanks to Glenjimen for the description.
Thanks also to Steve, because I have no idea how to make an airport.

_________________
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian


Last edited by Thrillville109 on Mon Jul 07, 2014 12:30 am, edited 15 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 2:44 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:48 am
Posts: 3604
Location: IL, USA
Exactly what will we do from 1830-1900?

_________________
Image

Formerly known as LocoRoller


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:30 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:47 pm
Posts: 33
You will.... Build a transport system?

_________________
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 6:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:48 am
Posts: 3604
Location: IL, USA
So it includes trains all the way back to the Rocket?

_________________
Image

Formerly known as LocoRoller


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:03 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:47 pm
Posts: 33
Back to 1830, yes, vehicles are there. But not the train itself is in there yet.

_________________
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:02 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:44 am
Posts: 102
Well, since no one will really describe what this is, I downloaded it, tested it and will now give my opinion.

Included are six new Scenarios;

Europa (EUR)
North America (1845 - 1900)
North America (Multi-player)
Pebble Smasher
The German Era
United States

Also there are some new locos, some look like built-in locos with the design dates changed.
There are also some rolling stock with changed dates.
You can now play locomotion starting from the year 1800.

The cost of things seems way to high. I was playing Pebble Smasher, the cost of the smallest loco was about $2 million in 1830, inflation should have made it more like 2 thousand. Locos don't even cost $1 million until about 1950. I could not pay off my starting loan (of about $10 million), then new industries started appearing in the already limited space making the scenario unplayable.

It's a good start, but there are some bugs that need to be worked out.

Here are some screen-shots of some stuff in the pack.


Attachments:
Pebble Smasher.jpg
Pebble Smasher.jpg [ 236.76 KiB | Viewed 5048 times ]
Eurpa (EUR).jpg
Eurpa (EUR).jpg [ 129.46 KiB | Viewed 5048 times ]
locos.jpg
locos.jpg [ 62.55 KiB | Viewed 5048 times ]

_________________
... but what do I know? I play with trains.
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:38 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1089
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
Nice map of Europe (I can see my house from here !!!), but unfortunatly as always with locomotion the scale is way of...Only one town in most of the countries and the distance between them is of course very short. I would rather release maps of one country at the time, but all and all it's nicely done !

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 4:07 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:44 am
Posts: 102
I think I found the problem with this mod I was encountering earlier. As you can see in the picture of the first four locomotives designed, there is no consistency in cost. You start with the super expensive "Norris 8wheel", then ten years later, the much cheaper "Baldwin 6ft" is designed. This Baldwin is about 1/10th the cost of the Norris, but has almost the same stats, so of course I used this.
Also the pic of the four locos was taken in 1857, so I think inflation is causing the costs to rise a little to fast.

I'll change the stats myself and see if this helps.

The second picture is my attempt at playing Pebble Smasher, after 27 years I'm still struggling at about 18% performance. I'd like to see someone successfully play this scenario. :?


Attachments:
fourLocos1800's.jpg
fourLocos1800's.jpg [ 38.45 KiB | Viewed 4978 times ]
Pebble Smasher.jpg
Pebble Smasher.jpg [ 214.75 KiB | Viewed 4978 times ]

_________________
... but what do I know? I play with trains.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 4:11 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:48 am
Posts: 3604
Location: IL, USA
I'm curious; how did you manage to make the game begin before 1900? Countless attempts have been made before, with no permanent results or no explanation from the user (leading us to believe it to be a fake).

_________________
Image

Formerly known as LocoRoller


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 4:44 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:47 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Victoria, Australia
@Zakos: Try here: viewtopic.php?f=40&t=66614&p=1082561&hilit=pre+1900#p1082561 it might work. Havn't tried it myself, so it might be a fake.

Cheers,
Greyfox.

_________________
Windows 10 discussion here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=72527
Looking for AMI trains, Chicago Locomotive Works, etc: You'll find your needs here: http://www.locomotiondepot.net/
__________________________
"Don't badger the Badger"....(Retired Moderator)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 11:18 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:47 pm
Posts: 33
Zakos wrote:
I'm curious; how did you manage to make the game begin before 1900? Countless attempts have been made before, with no permanent results or no explanation from the user (leading us to believe it to be a fake).

Download it yourself and check the map date, the economic system might seem overpriced, but hey, this is a beta.

_________________
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 11:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1089
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
Better do something about those overpriced loco's, there's no way you can make that kind of money in that specific era unless you are willing to cheat that kind of cash...It's a nice mod and a nice idea, but I wait with this one until the 'normal' completed version is released :lol:

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 4:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:48 am
Posts: 3604
Location: IL, USA
Emperor Darth Sidious wrote:
Better do something about those overpriced loco's, there's no way you can make that kind of money in that specific era unless you are willing to cheat that kind of cash...It's a nice mod and a nice idea, but I wait with this one until the 'normal' completed version is released :lol:

I agree. Look at the values of "runcostfact" and "costfact" in other vehicles and base your own vehicles' cost indices on that. However, there may just be an issue with how the game handles being run before 1900.

_________________
Image

Formerly known as LocoRoller


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 10:38 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:47 pm
Posts: 33
I said it might SEEM overpriced. the prices are actually normal, but because the prices are based in 1900, the money goes around the loop to a ludicrous amount to try and make ends meet for the game. You can very well make money, you just make an unusually large amount of it, because of said issues.

_________________
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:45 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:48 am
Posts: 3604
Location: IL, USA
I wrote:
However, there may just be an issue with how the game handles being run before 1900.

Nevertheless, it's a good mod. Maybe I'll use it for my screenshots thread, actually.

_________________
Image

Formerly known as LocoRoller


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:51 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:47 pm
Posts: 33
The American 4-4-0 is the first vehicle with "new" graphics! Currently 2 new appeasing directions!


Attachments:
016.png
016.png [ 1.45 KiB | Viewed 4734 times ]

_________________
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 3:10 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:48 am
Posts: 3604
Location: IL, USA
That actually looks really cool; what other models are you working on?

_________________
Image

Formerly known as LocoRoller


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:16 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:47 pm
Posts: 33
I am converting the RCT Train Models, Got as far as ACTUALLY CONVERTING THEM, because renaming 512+ bitmaps to the game's standards, so I need someone to help me on this.


Attachments:
File comment: American-Style Steam Locomotives' Graphics, Engine Only
RCT.zip [1.43 MiB]
Downloaded 86 times

_________________
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:43 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:30 am
Posts: 759
Location: Munich, Germany
You can quick rename the images using the program IrfanView.
But the Locomotive has a black background and you would need a blue background. That's the biggest problem.
In addition, the Tender are messed up some pictures.

_________________
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 6:32 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:47 pm
Posts: 33
Thank you, but that backfired when it was slightly above the rail.

_________________
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.