[WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Discuss, get help with, or post new modifications, graphics or related tools for Locomotion in this forum.

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Hammo
Director
Director
Posts: 574
Joined: 08 May 2008 07:01
Location: /home/root

Re: [REL] British Steam Locos

Post by Hammo » 03 Nov 2009 07:05

I can confirm that all the steamers work. That problem sounds like you've got a corrupt dat somewhere in your objdata folder. If you're hard drive was corrupted, it's entirely possible that at least one dat in your objdata folder has become corrupted.

What I would do in that case is make a copy of your objdata folder, then reinstall lomo. Then proceed to begin adding dats back into your objdata folder. If you have lots of files, one at a time may not be feasible, but using some sort of algorithm to detect the faulty dat(s) when inserting them. Try inserting in batches or divide and conquer, etc. Or if you have all the installers, run them.

User avatar
60007
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 82
Joined: 14 Jun 2008 17:01

Re: [REL] British Steam Locos

Post by 60007 » 03 Nov 2009 07:27

This hasn't got anything to do with my hard drive, I Had to take my hard drive out of my computer, turn it into a slave unit, attach it to a Linux computer, get all the data and put it into another removable hard drive. I then put my hard drive back into my computer, installed windows xp and transfered the data back.

But I installed a brand new version of Locomotion, didn't transfer any old dats and some of the uk steam dats didn't work. Thing is when I take out the stated dats, the game loads up as normal
LNER and LMS, Kings of The ECML and WCML
GWR - Gresley Was Right
WIPS: Various UK Stuffs for Locomotion

User avatar
Hammo
Director
Director
Posts: 574
Joined: 08 May 2008 07:01
Location: /home/root

Re: [REL] British Steam Locos

Post by Hammo » 03 Nov 2009 07:31

Maybe the dats were corrupted when you downloaded them. It's not unheard of. Try downloading them again.

User avatar
Plastikman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3941
Joined: 24 Dec 2005 03:14

Re: [REL] British Steam Locos

Post by Plastikman » 21 Nov 2009 19:02

There are some oddities with steamers....

I had the same issues when I first released mine. 75% of the people they worked for. Then random steamers didn't work for others. there was no logic to it. I finally figured out a template that worked 100% of the time. it had reduced frames so looked a bit jerky on turns, but is 100% stable.


For those complaining about the sound. put a "Steam Engine Flipper" in front of the steamers. That will give them running sounds.
North American sets and then some...
US SET Ver 3.1.0 updated ~ Amtrak Pack 3.1.0 ~ US Passenger/Metro Set 3.1.0 updated~ Auto Factory 2.6 ~ VIA Rail Pack ~ LTD ED1 Conrail Alcos ~ LTD ED2 NJ Transit ~ DBR E60 ~ TGV Duplex ~ Umbrella Corp. ~ Comboios de Portugal~ Dekosoft UP/BN/BNSF Sets ~ ICE // MegaPack = 1.0.3.
Image
Image
Image
My Trains are made from 100% recycled electrons!

User avatar
kingmush360
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 471
Joined: 02 Sep 2008 13:20
Location: At the computer, playing Locomotion!

Re: [REL] British Steam Locos

Post by kingmush360 » 25 Nov 2009 09:47

Ahh, I have been waiting for the legendary 9Fs!

Best thing that could have happened to British steam,
(if BR didn't scrap them at only 5 years old!)

Keep it up.

Also, a small request, a BR standard sort of set (think I might'ave said that already :? )
Kingmush, being awkward and trying to mod since 2008.

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Re: [REL] British Steam Locos

Post by DJC » 14 Dec 2009 20:14

Ok, time for a quick update. I've been busy with uni work over the past few months, but in between I've been working on a few more additions as you can see below. I'm now done for this semester, so I plan to do a few carriges and then get this stuff released before Christmas.
Attachments
14_12_09.png
14_12_09.png (35.55 KiB) Viewed 2940 times
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
Illegal_Alien
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7824
Joined: 29 Sep 2004 20:07
Location: Kingdom of Far Far Away
Contact:

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by Illegal_Alien » 14 Dec 2009 20:22

Tze red is burning!
:: Looking for the Locomotion section? Scroll down on the forum index or click here. :: See all releases in Locomotion section? Clicky here! :: Click here for the best tool ever! :: .datCrawler try it! ::
Following roadmap for releases: Whats a roadmap?
Releases of LocoTrains can be found by checking the posts of: LocoTrains - Goold old AMI Trains member of the first hour.
I have Private Messaging disabled, because of the stupid questions i get in my PM box.
Want to talk to me? Get on the #tycoon and #locomotion channel on OFTC thingy. :: Evolution of men: Loosing more braincells, everytime you post...

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by DJC » 14 Dec 2009 20:42

Illegal_Alien wrote:Tze red is burning!
That's pretty much what they look like in real life, though I think the MSTS model is a bit brighter than the actual livery.
Attachments
Duchess.jpg
Duchess.jpg (144 KiB) Viewed 2930 times
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
MjD
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1608
Joined: 07 May 2005 20:37
Location: www.amitrains.co.uk
Contact:

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by MjD » 14 Dec 2009 21:00

Is that the Mk1 maroon coaches from the BRSet or did you do your own?

[Just in-case you made them yourself or posted a pic of the ones we did, you can release them as part of the loco pack (I'm sure Andel and co won't mind) for those that don't have them already]

MD
::::: WIP -- British Rail Set [BRS] for Locomotion with IA, andel, matloughe, Barry and Jonnie :::::
Image
Researcher for the TTDP BRSet Team. Which is here.

User avatar
Kevo00
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5623
Joined: 07 Feb 2004 01:51
Location: East Coast MainLine

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by Kevo00 » 14 Dec 2009 22:11

I do like the Coronation Scot, looks very cool. Are the other ones BR standards? DJC, you are doing so much for the game. :D

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by DJC » 15 Dec 2009 15:45

MjD wrote:Is that the Mk1 maroon coaches from the BRSet or did you do your own?
No, those are the ones from the BR Set.
Kevo00 wrote:I do like the Coronation Scot, looks very cool. Are the other ones BR standards? DJC, you are doing so much for the game.
Cheers. :) Yes, the rest are BR Standards. From left to right we have a Britannia (hope you recognised that one), a BR 4-6-0 4MT, then both the tender and tank versions of the Ivatt 2MT's.
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
Kevo00
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5623
Joined: 07 Feb 2004 01:51
Location: East Coast MainLine

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by Kevo00 » 15 Dec 2009 17:07

Woo. A Britannia. I thought it was but wasn't totally sure. Great loco. :D

User avatar
kingmush360
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 471
Joined: 02 Sep 2008 13:20
Location: At the computer, playing Locomotion!

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by kingmush360 » 15 Dec 2009 19:14

WOW :shock:

Just what i have been waiting for!

Great Christmas present DJC, too all of the BR loving folk on the forums!

Keep it up.

Just one note though, the duchess seems a bit bright there!
But all great work!

~Mush~~Merry Christmas~
Kingmush, being awkward and trying to mod since 2008.

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by DJC » 19 Dec 2009 11:09

Right, I've started doing some brake coaches and brake vans as requested, which will carry small amounts of mail. Also I've made an LMS parcels van, currently only carrying mail. In real life they also carried food or goods, but I'm not sure if having a 90 mph coach introduced in 1933 that can carry mail, goods and food will make game play too easy in Loco or not. What do you guys think?
Attachments
Stock 19_12_09.png
Stock 19_12_09.png (6.89 KiB) Viewed 2783 times
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
Kevo00
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5623
Joined: 07 Feb 2004 01:51
Location: East Coast MainLine

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by Kevo00 » 19 Dec 2009 15:38

Maybe have a different goods and food version that can only travel at 60mph or similar?

User avatar
60007
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 82
Joined: 14 Jun 2008 17:01

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by 60007 » 19 Dec 2009 21:16

DJC wrote:Right, I've started doing some brake coaches and brake vans as requested, which will carry small amounts of mail. Also I've made an LMS parcels van, currently only carrying mail. In real life they also carried food or goods, but I'm not sure if having a 90 mph coach introduced in 1933 that can carry mail, goods and food will make game play too easy in Loco or not. What do you guys think?
Your Guards Van looks A LOT better than mine! well done, I'll have to up my game

I'd make it as prototypical as possible, though to get round the "too easy part" why not limit them to something like 2 tonnes of food/goods but keep the ammount of mail the same?

looking forward to more,

~Andy
LNER and LMS, Kings of The ECML and WCML
GWR - Gresley Was Right
WIPS: Various UK Stuffs for Locomotion

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by DJC » 24 Dec 2009 16:45

Everyone turn to page 1 for your free Christmas present. ;)
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by DJC » 27 Dec 2009 18:19

A few things I've noticed that have now been fixed:

1. I totally forgot to include the J15 class for no apparent reason. :roll:

2. The Coronation Scot brake coach not carrying any mail.

3. Small graphical glitch with the GWR Castle class, a couple of sprites got in the wrong place, so it looked funny when going up a slope from a certain angle.

See the attached zip for the fixed DATs.
Attachments
Fix.zip
(434.58 KiB) Downloaded 130 times
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
Plastikman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3941
Joined: 24 Dec 2005 03:14

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by Plastikman » 27 Dec 2009 19:13

Hey DJC,

You might want to put the Fix into the first post or update to a new version #. most people dont read the threads at all and will miss getting this update.
North American sets and then some...
US SET Ver 3.1.0 updated ~ Amtrak Pack 3.1.0 ~ US Passenger/Metro Set 3.1.0 updated~ Auto Factory 2.6 ~ VIA Rail Pack ~ LTD ED1 Conrail Alcos ~ LTD ED2 NJ Transit ~ DBR E60 ~ TGV Duplex ~ Umbrella Corp. ~ Comboios de Portugal~ Dekosoft UP/BN/BNSF Sets ~ ICE // MegaPack = 1.0.3.
Image
Image
Image
My Trains are made from 100% recycled electrons!

User avatar
kingmush360
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 471
Joined: 02 Sep 2008 13:20
Location: At the computer, playing Locomotion!

Re: [WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by kingmush360 » 31 Dec 2009 11:07

Yes!!

Finally some BR standards, thanks for the Christmas Present DJC.

Now I am going to have to edit the Great Britain map to have your steamers!
Kingmush, being awkward and trying to mod since 2008.

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Graphics, Modifications & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest