LocoTool V0.4.3 [30 Oct 2004]

Discuss, get help with, or post new modifications, graphics or related tools for Locomotion in this forum.

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7576
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman »

The goal of this tool is to add new vehicles (and soon other stuff) to Locomotion, and perhaps edit the existing one. I don't know what you want to swap...

For those interested, I've posted an updated version of the source code only, plus the libraries you need to compile it with cygwin, at http://www.ttdpatch.net/loco/

No real new feature, but the xml reading is getting there. I decided to go with libexpat, btw.
jpinard
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 66
Joined: 12 Sep 2004 22:40

Post by jpinard »

Swap, you know like 50 aging busses... You want to upgrade or replace them all and don't want to do it one by one...
babs
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 67
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 23:09

Post by babs »

Patchman wrote:The goal of this tool is to add new vehicles (and soon other stuff) to Locomotion, and perhaps edit the existing one. .
Well if there be some changes I would like to see the 747 raised its seat to 250. Th concorde down to 100 passengers (its now a kind of uberplane with more passengers and more speed for only about 10% more bucks then the 747), and raised running cost. (Supersonic flights costs a lot of fuel).

Also I would like to see the A380 increased his passenger capacity to ... 380.

And last but not least: Can there be some real difference between the Stanier Black 5 and the Stanier Jubilee. At the moment they are the same size, both have a top speed of 90mph, 1600hp and wiegh 140t.,
jpinard
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 66
Joined: 12 Sep 2004 22:40

Post by jpinard »

I second what Babs said.
User avatar
Slace
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 368
Joined: 15 Mar 2004 10:20

Post by Slace »

wow that's a bit of hard core code you got there patchman :P

I was gonna offer to help but I think by the time I'm able to follow the code well enough the tool will be finished :P

I might build a gui front end for it instead :P
User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Post by Villem »

Btw, i aren't entirely clear on this, can the tool already intengrate new graphics?
Realgar
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 06 Sep 2004 22:26

Post by Realgar »

I've been thinking for a while, I don't have the game to check that but maybe some of you can (when locotool gets to the point of repacking vehicles), that line referring to reliability on the xml file, I think it can be 1 of 2 things, either the maximum reliability of the vehicle, or some rate that the reliability drops (for example drops 1% every #reliabilitynumberhere# days), if it's the second then it'd be possible to get rid of the problem of having to change everything every 5 years, don't remember now if it's possible too but to balance things a bit you just raise the running costs of the vehicles to compensate for the costs of changing the machine, if that can be done I'd buy the game.

Maybe some of you can look at the reliability number of a vehicle in the xml file and compare it with the number in the game, see if it is the maximum reliability...
Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7576
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman »

Realgar wrote:Maybe some of you can look at the reliability number of a vehicle in the xml file and compare it with the number in the game, see if it is the maximum reliability...
Yes, that is it. I haven't found the reliability decay rate (yet?).
User avatar
Daan Timmer
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2406
Joined: 12 Apr 2004 11:21
Location: +31299......

Post by Daan Timmer »

PROGRAM IN JAVA !

atleast then I am able to follow ya :P
Image

"Your arguments are totally nothing.. They have so little meaning that its kind of funny you took the time to write them"
"your pixels aren't good enough to talk to me.. sorry"
"Random does not mean fair, and past results do not influence future occurrences." - Corbenn
Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7576
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman »

DaaNtje wrote:PROGRAM IN JAVA !
Whatever you say dude :roll:

The only other language I'd consider writing this in is Perl... it'd be my preferred language, but it'd make it kind of hard for other people without Perl to run it...
Realgar
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 06 Sep 2004 22:26

Post by Realgar »

Yes, that is it. I haven't found the reliability decay rate (yet?).
hmm too bad, there goes the chance of an easy fix for that, I don't think that you will actually find the decay rate, cause I don't think there is one then, it's probably just calculated by some (current year - year vehicle was bought) formula. Wish I knew how to create trainers...
PROGRAM IN JAVA !
I dont think C and java are so different... I prefer C tho... more compatible... (hmm lets not make this thread an language discussion ?)
Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7576
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman »

Realgar wrote:
Yes, that is it. I haven't found the reliability decay rate (yet?).
hmm too bad, there goes the chance of an easy fix for that, I don't think that you will actually find the decay rate, cause I don't think there is one then, it's probably just calculated by some (current year - year vehicle was bought) formula. Wish I knew how to create trainers...
Well it does seem to me like some vehicles lose reliability a lot faster than others, though. I doubt that's just an effect of higher starting reliability.

So it might be out there somewhere... but I don't have good enough statistics to go look for it. What I'd need someone to do is start a game, buy a loco and set it to run in circles. Then write down the reliability at the beginning, after exactly one year, then 2, 3, 4 and 5 years. Then repeat that for some other locos from other years. Maybe that'll allow me to figure out the decay rate.
PROGRAM IN JAVA !
I dont think C and java are so different... I prefer C tho... more compatible... (hmm lets not make this thread an language discussion ?)
Agreed.
smallboy
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Sep 2004 14:36

Post by smallboy »

I tested it for a Class 86 with no cars attached. Started my game in 1990.
Age: Reliability:
---------------------------
0 93
1 88
2 82
3 76
4 71
5 65

After that I used a Class 86 with 3 mk3 passenger cars. Reliability numbers were the same (for the first 2 years, after that I didn't test).

Might do some more testing tomorrow.
nintendoboy
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 Sep 2004 18:08

Post by nintendoboy »

Just 3 questions:


-will you be able to create a new vehicle by using an existing vehicle model? It would be really cool if you could use the concorde model and create some sort of "uber" plane, that would be invented in about 2030.

-would it be feasable to make a "fan" expansion pack to add new vehicles like maglevs and superbuses? then to finish it off, Patchman could add some gameplay enhancing features. (Of course this could only be if the worst comes to the worst and Chris Sawyer dosen't release another expansion)

-(slightly unrelated) I heard that Chris Sawyer is working on a "secret project" but I can't remember where it was. Does anyone else know about this? Could it be an expansion?
maartena
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 470
Joined: 11 Jul 2003 04:53
Location: California, U.S.A.

Post by maartena »

I have a question. I haven't really examined the Locomotion folder yet, and can't do so as I am at work now ;) but I was wondering if the same is true for Industries. Can industries be added, changed, etc....

It would be nice to be able to add your own industries. If thats the case I have a few suggestions. Just a few wild ideas, no idea if it even can be done. I am not a graphics artist either so don't count on me creating the graphics! Just throwing in the ideas :)

- Uranium Mine to Nuclear Powerplant (after 1950)
- Waste from cities to Incinerator (from 1900)
- Waste from cities to Recycling Centre (after 1980)
- Converts waste in 33% Recycled Materials (3 tons waste --> 1 ton recyclables, 2 tons will still be Incinerated)
- Transport Recycled Materials to Factory for Goods.
- Gold Mines, Mints, Banks
- Raw Gold to Mints
- Gold Bars to Banks in/near cities.
- Car Manufacturing Plant
- Requires Steel and Chemicals (plastics)
- Delivers to Car Dealership in/near cities.


I think especially the waste transports will be quite a challenge. I was actually thinking of Simcity 3000, when you did not have enough incinerators or landfills, trash would start piling up in the streets. The transporting of it was not your concern in Simcity, you were only building the facilities.

Just some ideas for people that want to create some neat stuff in the future :)
Tyrell
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 137
Joined: 10 Aug 2003 23:09

Post by Tyrell »

... Some data ...

Scanned at high speed, looking at reliability values changed.
Dates are of by about +2/+4 day's
Train built date: 01/05/96

raw data result:
nomal decay rate: about 1.50 - 1.55 percent / day
Accel decay rate: about 4.0 percent / day

Code: Select all

[ID]	Train	Designed	Obsolete
A	Century	1960	2000
B	Dash-7	1977	(none)
C	Electra-Star	1994	(none)
D	SD70	1994	(none)

Code: Select all

Date	A	B	C	D
01/05/96	90	87	94	85
02/05/98	79	76	83	74
14/08/98	77	74	81	72
18/10/98	76	73	80	71
21/12/98	75	72	79	70
27/02/99	74	71	78	69
29/04/99	73	70	77	68
30/07/99	72	69	76	67
02/09/99	71	68	75	66
06/11/99	70	67	74	65
08/01/00	69	66	73	64
01/05/00	65	65	72	63
12/05/00	67	65	72	63
18/05/00	64	64	71	62
22/05/00	66	65	72	63
06/06/00	63	64	71	62
02/07/00	62	64	71	62
17/07/00	62	63	70	61
20/07/00	62	63	70	61
27/07/00	61	63	70	61
22/08/00	60	63	70	61
20/09/00	59	62	69	60
18/10/00	58	62	69	60
23/11/00	57	61	68	59
10/12/00	56	61	68	59
24/01/01	54	60	67	58
29/01/01	54	60	67	58
17/02/01	53	60	67	58
29/03/01	52	59	66	57
01/04/01	52	59	66	57
08/04/01	51	59	66	57
10/04/01	51	59	66	57
04/05/01	50	59	66	57
30/05/01	49	59	66	57
01/06/01	49	58	65	56
26/06/01	48	58	65	56
20/07/01	47	58	65	56
Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7576
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman »

That's pretty clear, all of them have the same decay rate, except for the Century's, whose rate accelerates after it's obsolete (which sort of makes sense anyway).

That means there's probably no way of adjusting the rate. There might still be something that adjusts breakdowns for each loco, because some locos do seem to have more breakdowns than others.
Tyrell
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 137
Joined: 10 Aug 2003 23:09

Post by Tyrell »

Patchman wrote:That means there's probably no way of adjusting the rate.
Your probably right. Did think the same when I saw the chart.
Still, it could be that all trains have the same setting. (unlikely I admit).
(I'll look at some of the early models tomorrow)
Patchman wrote: There might still be something that adjusts breakdowns for each loco, because some locos do seem to have more breakdowns than others.
Have not notist that.
Got some names of suspected trains in this case?
Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7576
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman »

Maybe it's just that slightly lower reliabilities give unproportionally higher breakdown probabilities... I should find the average number of breakdowns per year when the reliability is at 20%, 40%, 60% and 80%.
User avatar
Rens2Sea
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 109
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 10:22
Location: Holland
Contact:

Post by Rens2Sea »

What if you change the Reliability property of a vehicle? Each vehicle has his own reliability property, i think if you just increase that, the vehicle's reliability will drop slower and has less breakdowns.

But ofcourse, that's just a guess :wink:
Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Graphics, Modifications & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 11 guests