Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:04 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:20 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:50 pm
Posts: 4
I would just like to mention I'm new to this forum. However, I've played Locomotion my whole life. Anyways, is there anyone who could make DRGW NG locomotives and rolling stock possible. It would be even cooler to see ET&WNC R.R. mods too! If you don't know what railroad I'm talking about look up the url below.

Get back with me guys! I'd really like to see it happen. Bc narrow gauging railroads were major in the early days of US railroading.

http://www.stateoffranklin.net/johnsons/crumley/tour1.htm

_________________
ET&WNC R.R.
East Tennessee & Western North Carolina Railroad
Eat Taters & Wear No Clothes
Exquisite Trains & What Nice Conductors
Every Time & With No Complaint


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:43 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 2:38 pm
Posts: 16
I have thought about doing DRGW steam locomotives in narrow gauge. My reluctance is that they transferred to standard gauge in 1889ish so it would mean around that time in the game you would have to rip up all your narrow gauge for standard gauge for newer locomotives.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 3:28 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:50 pm
Posts: 4
True, but I'm not necessarily talking about just DRGW narrow gauge locomotives. Maybe see some commercial steam locomotives with no road name. Like a 4-4-0, 4-6-0, 2-8-2, 2-6-0. :)

_________________
ET&WNC R.R.
East Tennessee & Western North Carolina Railroad
Eat Taters & Wear No Clothes
Exquisite Trains & What Nice Conductors
Every Time & With No Complaint


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 2:55 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 2:13 pm
Posts: 62
Skype: Carpet Crumbs
Location: United States
Okay, here's the thing.
This would have been a great request a few years ago when many of the locomotion modders were still online and using the forums, etc etc.
However, due to the "bleeding death" (as referred to by one of the members) of locomotion the only chance you have for Narrow guage type stuff is if you convert some of the standard gauge DRGW stuff from the megapacks to narrow gauge. I'm not 100% about there being steam engines necessarily, let alone narrow gauge.
I hope this helped and I wish you best of luck

_________________
Let the good times roll!
I make locomotion videos! :D https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCF9pxCq7IJCkrVuIltm0vhQ


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 3:10 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 12:26 am
Posts: 566
Location: Canada
Jagged_bacon wrote:
Okay, here's the thing.
[Snip] the only chance you have for Narrow guage type stuff is if you convert some of the standard gauge DRGW stuff from the megapacks to narrow gauge. I'm not 100% about there being steam engines necessarily, let alone narrow gauge.
I hope this helped and I wish you best of luck

One thing to bear in mind with converting standard gauge locos to narrow gauge, is that you would be missing steep slope sprites.

_________________
Image - Winner of the 2010 - Best New User Award (Locomotion Forum)
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:01 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:30 am
Posts: 754
Location: Munich, Germany
SD89MAC is right. In the case of narrow-gauge vehicles, 208 images are required. And a lot more pictures for steam locomotives.

_________________
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:15 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 2:13 pm
Posts: 62
Skype: Carpet Crumbs
Location: United States
I didn't know that. Apologies.

_________________
Let the good times roll!
I make locomotion videos! :D https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCF9pxCq7IJCkrVuIltm0vhQ


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 5:04 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:50 pm
Posts: 4
thanks guys

_________________
ET&WNC R.R.
East Tennessee & Western North Carolina Railroad
Eat Taters & Wear No Clothes
Exquisite Trains & What Nice Conductors
Every Time & With No Complaint


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3670
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
Well I suppose it you don't mind loosing out on step slope sprites, you could still theoretically convert standard gauge locomotives to run on Narrow gauge but they'll only work properly on the two larger bends on narrow gauge because they don't have sprites for the sharp turn either.

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:16 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 2:38 pm
Posts: 16
It is still technically do able. Just someone has to step up to the plate to do it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 9:00 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 3:21 am
Posts: 78
Another issue if one is to do this they still have to go through the "I hope I get permission from the MSTS modeler" to make and release them. I have several items that I have made but can't release, and a few ng locos.
There are several how to do it articles in the forum if you where to want to try it yourself. A few good moders are still reading and replying in here.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 9:33 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:30 am
Posts: 754
Location: Munich, Germany
Yes, this is unfortunately a problem. A few years ago that was different. But now you can be glad if the email address is still correct.
I also have a few vehicles on the disk without permission. Luckily I was so diligently many years ago and I have obtained many approvals.

_________________
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:41 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 3:21 am
Posts: 78
Making locos is not that hard if one follows the format Walter has in the tutorials. However making buildings and scenery is not so easy. I have found that the msts2loco tool doesn't always place sprites the same for buildings and scenery and that makes it time consuming to adjust their position by trail and error.

Now I suggest to get the locos you desire would be make them yourself and ask for advice when a problem arises. A dew moders still drop by the forums from time to time.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.