have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Talk about the sequel to the original TT, Transport Tycoon Deluxe.
andreasaspenberg
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 52
Joined: 26 May 2020 18:33

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by andreasaspenberg »

yes, that is correct.
User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5812
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by wallyweb »

andreasaspenberg wrote: 02 Jun 2020 11:00 yes, that is correct.
Good. Do TTDLOADW.OVL and GameGFX.exe exist in that folder?
andreasaspenberg
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 52
Joined: 26 May 2020 18:33

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by andreasaspenberg »

gamegfx was always there, tddload.ovl was not there to begin with but created by the patch.
User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5812
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by wallyweb »

andreasaspenberg wrote: 02 Jun 2020 15:34 gamegfx was always there, tddload.ovl was not there to begin with but created by the patch.
Good. I'm sure you meant ttdloadw.ovl. Correct?.
That w is very important. Its use prevents a lot of confusion.
Now, lets see if we can point ttdpatchw to your CD drive.
1. Open ttdpatchw.cfg with your text editor.
2. Copy the first two lines and paste them in your reply.
User avatar
fridaemon
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 178
Joined: 27 Oct 2019 21:06
Contact:

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by fridaemon »

Hi ;)
I tried to install old Transport Tycoon but it doesn't work in my Windows 10.
It has one reason - I'd like to get this blue skyscraper. I loved it decades ago and I miss it in game. Could be someone so kind and do screenshot with this building? Nothing around, just this building? :bow:
Image
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Image
Fridaemon's Objects: VERSION 1.1 BETA OUT NOW
Beach Objects * Shopping Centres * Shops * Garage Entrances
Modular Warehouses (1.1) * Truck Parking Lots (1.1)

Winner of the Screenshot of September 2020 and November 2020 :twisted:
Timberwolf
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 247
Joined: 22 May 2006 18:25
Location: London-ish.
Contact:

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by Timberwolf »

fridaemon wrote: 26 Jan 2021 11:25 Hi ;)
I tried to install old Transport Tycoon but it doesn't work in my Windows 10.
It has one reason - I'd like to get this blue skyscraper. I loved it decades ago and I miss it in game. Could be someone so kind and do screenshot with this building? Nothing around, just this building? :bow:
Image
This is just a normal subtropical building from the original graphics set, if you use `original_windows` or `original_dos` as the baseset in OpenTTD it'll show up in later years in subtropic games.

If you already have a game disc it should be possible to extract the TR*.GRF files from that and use them with OpenTTD.

(FWIW, the screenshot is OpenTTD - I spot a custom building set, custom bridges with extra height enabled, OpenGFX coastal tiles and what looks like one of George's Long Vehicles on the bottom left)
andreasaspenberg
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 52
Joined: 26 May 2020 18:33

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by andreasaspenberg »

in order to use the original windows graphics, you need to install the windows version first. then you need to install openttd and then point its installer to where you installed the original game. that will install the graphics set from the original windows version.
Post Reply

Return to “Transport Tycoon Deluxe”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests