TwentyTwoTowns Challenge...

Talk about the sequel to the original TT, Transport Tycoon Deluxe.
Prof. Frink
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3849
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 14:51
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
Contact:

TwentyTwoTowns Challenge...

Post by Prof. Frink » 27 Oct 2003 18:47

...Why 22 towns? Because that's the maximum number that you can link together with one train per link such that every town has a direct service to every other town with a train limit of 240 (1+2+3...+20+21=231).
This means that every town will have 21 trains visiting it.

This in turn will mean that you will need to design your network, junctions and station entrances carefully to avoid traffic jams.
I would advise increasing your town expansion switches as you will be transporting a lot of passengers and mail from each town.

Use other loading areas to expand catchment areas in your towns, but all transport must be by trains.

I haven't started on this yet, so I don't know how hard it will be.
Attachments
TRP23.SV0
TwentyTwoTowns Challenge Map
(164.05 KiB) Downloaded 161 times

BobXP
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2720
Joined: 04 May 2003 11:00
Location: Torquay, England
Contact:

Post by BobXP » 27 Oct 2003 21:15

Sounds interesting, but you would probably need the stations to be bigger than the towns themselves :lol: ;)
<!-- End Of Post !-->
Image

User avatar
Lundis
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 106
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 10:55

Post by Lundis » 27 Oct 2003 21:30

Why large stations? The trains don't have to be full length.
One engine, two passanger cars and one mail.
A several tracks wide and 2 squares long station.

Or something. This makes the trains accelerate better.

One problem would probably be to count all the trains and check where they are going.

User avatar
Maverick
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 175
Joined: 08 Dec 2002 15:20
Location: West Ryde, Australia.
Contact:

Post by Maverick » 28 Oct 2003 14:09

You have not given us a goal, but it's great to have a challenge! :)

_RicH_
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 49
Joined: 10 Jun 2003 09:33

Post by _RicH_ » 28 Oct 2003 14:24

you should say how many passengers should be transported, or how small/long the trains can be.

otherwise ppl will just make one engine with 1 passenger carraige :/

Prof. Frink
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3849
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 14:51
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
Contact:

Post by Prof. Frink » 28 Oct 2003 14:47

It'll be a challenge just to set up the network, see how people set up their junctions etc.
I suppose the main challenge is the same as in TTD - Money!

User avatar
lynsey
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1258
Joined: 27 Nov 2002 18:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by lynsey » 28 Oct 2003 16:30

Sounds good, I think I'll give this one a try!

User avatar
Bart
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1110
Joined: 02 Mar 2003 13:43
Location: Stompetoren, the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Bart » 28 Oct 2003 17:42

yep...me too...like it already :)
[url=CALLTO://Sgreehder]Image[/url]

Grunt
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 449
Joined: 03 Oct 2003 20:22
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Hmmm...

Post by Grunt » 29 Oct 2003 02:36

I'm so intrigued by this that I just have to give it a try... the philosophy very much resembles that which drove me to what my current non-scenario game resembles (although I've bent the rules a bit by having three ships and trains that carry cargo!)... see you on the other side. ;)
Grunt
(aka Stephan Grunt, CEO of Grunt Transport Inc. since 1994.)

The-Me
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 12:42
Location: The Netherlands

Post by The-Me » 07 Nov 2003 14:35

Quite a challenge. I m playin TTDX for a while now, but i'm not really an expert. Will there be a special forum to check out how everybody is doing?

Theo

User avatar
lynsey
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1258
Joined: 27 Nov 2002 18:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by lynsey » 07 Nov 2003 15:13

Just attatch what you have done here if you want to show it. I started it a few days ago, it is not that easy to make money at the beginning of the game this way, but it's just about manageble (so far)

User avatar
Bart
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1110
Joined: 02 Mar 2003 13:43
Location: Stompetoren, the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Bart » 07 Nov 2003 22:47

Well...yeah...I'm trying this for a couple days as well...things get really messy...I started over once...but where to begin??? :P
[url=CALLTO://Sgreehder]Image[/url]

User avatar
Casual Criminal
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Nov 2003 06:49
Contact:

Post by Casual Criminal » 09 Nov 2003 06:51

Sounds intriguing, Ill give it a go...
My Karma ran over your Dogma... sorry.

User avatar
Zooz
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 287
Joined: 12 Sep 2002 14:20
Location: Een, Drenthe, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Zooz » 09 Nov 2003 18:38

Im in 1945 now, i started using trains, my old bus lines i used to make money with at first are still running. I had to cheat to 1932 to get my first vehicle available. Im not using any sets and crap, just longvehicles v2
I'm using alpha 4.2, the game contains some huge stations.
Attachments
ttdpatch.cfg
(2 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
newgrfw.cfg
(324 Bytes) Downloaded 24 times
22Towns Zooz 1945.zip
(149.88 KiB) Downloaded 43 times

Grunt
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 449
Joined: 03 Oct 2003 20:22
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Completion of the Challenge

Post by Grunt » 10 Nov 2003 18:49

I've managed to construct all 22 stations and 231 trains in just 25 years. Find all of the information, configuration files, and set of five saved games in the attached zip...

Other statistics:

Cash on Hand: £ 295,624
Loan: £ 0
Company Value: £4,019,390
Company Rating: about 694
Attachments
22towns_sgrunt.zip
Here it is!
(591.38 KiB) Downloaded 47 times
Grunt
(aka Stephan Grunt, CEO of Grunt Transport Inc. since 1994.)

User avatar
Casual Criminal
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Nov 2003 06:49
Contact:

Post by Casual Criminal » 13 Nov 2003 22:20

Sgrunt:

You've got several signal problems in various places locking up trains...
My Karma ran over your Dogma... sorry.

Grunt
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 449
Joined: 03 Oct 2003 20:22
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Post by Grunt » 13 Nov 2003 23:05

I realize that... if I continue this game I'll spend the next five years cleaning up the network such that everything works properly. :)
Grunt
(aka Stephan Grunt, CEO of Grunt Transport Inc. since 1994.)

The-Me
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 12:42
Location: The Netherlands

Post by The-Me » 14 Nov 2003 17:00

I started with the challenge. And a challenge it is.
I 've come quite a way. At least i think.

All towns have stations, most of the railway is double track. It´s becoming a serious network.
What do you think, is it the right way?
I build mostly RoRo stations, I think they have a larger capacitiy, but the presignals give some problems at some stations.

Theo
Attachments
THEOCONF.CFG
(20.25 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
TRT06.SV1
(201.59 KiB) Downloaded 28 times
I'm addicted to this game. I tried to refit my train to work.

Grunt
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 449
Joined: 03 Oct 2003 20:22
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Post by Grunt » 14 Nov 2003 22:00

Fancy... I see you decided to build stations even before they would be connected to the network, and that you're building routes all over the map without a unified network at this point in time. I'm curious as to how you intend to keep track of which routes you've built already, and which ones you haven't?

Incidentally, all of the stations in my game are ro-ro and most of them get by with two tracks each... but then again all of my trains are BR38s so there's no real demand for large numbers of tracks :D
Grunt
(aka Stephan Grunt, CEO of Grunt Transport Inc. since 1994.)

User avatar
Casual Criminal
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Nov 2003 06:49
Contact:

Post by Casual Criminal » 15 Nov 2003 04:18

Well, It's finally finished... The year is 2090, and the network has been a long way coming... 231 Transrapids all toting passengers, mail, and valuables between each individual city... The reason for taking so long was the amount of tweaking and tuning that had to be done to improve the flow of traffic... Now that It's finished I enjoy just sitting back and watching the wheels turn...

This monster rakes in $11mil per year and the train running costs are nearly $800k per year.

I had to turn off breakdowns and disasters after a while because it got too frustrating.
Attachments
Casual Criminal - 22 Towns.zip
Casual Criminal - 22 Towns
(176.32 KiB) Downloaded 50 times
My Karma ran over your Dogma... sorry.

Post Reply

Return to “Transport Tycoon Deluxe”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests