Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:50 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2003 10:37 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 333
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Alpha 5 released:
http://www.jiifurusu.dk/ttdsge/

Changelog for Alpha 5:
- Added interactive, scrollable isometric view. Several maps can be viewed at one time. Only supports Contours map color coding atm.
- Fixed bug where strange "boxes" appeared behind the savegame names.
- Made the render-to-file isometric view smaller so it will work on Windows 95, 98 and Me.
- In the Heightmap Only view, bridges over water are no longer shown as land.
- Hopefully fixed bug where file-listing would be empty if you switched to the root directory of a drive on Windows 95, 98 or Me.

Changelog for Alpha 4:
- Added the file-browser. I'm attempting to emulate the in-game file browser, except for showing all TTD savegame format files.
- Changed interface to only show one map-view at a time. The map-view can be changed with a drop-down list.
- Removed the right-click menu on the map-view, it is replaced with two buttons above the map-view.
- Changed internal interface for map-rendering so it is easier to add new color-codings to the map-renderer.
- I think I forgot something. Sorry.

Changelog for Alpha 3:
- Fixed the RLE decompression function, now it will work with any game. (Previously it failed if it had to allocate extra memory.)
- Got L5 id's for all industries in the three first climates, so the industries-map is now complete, except for Toyland.
- Implemented the Vehicles map. Decided that it's not worth showing vehicles on the Contours map.
- The Vegetation map shows desert and snow areas correctly
- Remembered to turn off the console window this time :)

Changelog for Alpha 2:
- Can now load scenarios and savegames saved without morevehicles patch
- Loading time for compressed games considerably improved (30-40 times faster)
- Drawing speed for 2d minimaps improved
- Ownership map now shows real company colors
- Routes map implemented

_________________
Ex-tycooner. I'm no longer playing TT or watching this board.
Aegisub - if you're serious about making subtitles


Last edited by jfs on Sat Jul 19, 2003 3:44 pm, edited 8 times in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Screenshots
PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2003 10:48 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 333
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Ok, I'm resurrecting this post again with the screenshots at my webpage. They should be clickable for an enlarged version.

This is the main window as in Alpha 4:
Image Image

A quick preview of the 3d isometric rendering:
Image


Last edited by jfs on Wed Jul 16, 2003 11:52 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2003 10:51 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23809
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Good work! :) This could develop into quite an interesting and useful tool.

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2003 10:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2002 2:55 pm
Posts: 2743
Location: Georgia
It's already interesting, albeit not extremely useful (No offense)

_________________
Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction. - Albert Einstein


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2003 9:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13748
Location: London, UK
well for me EXTREMLY USEFUL
just think of it as a TTD map/save browser !!!
(like ACDSee or IrfanView only for TTD files)
it can even replace Owen's TTSGM :wink: (and sure it will probably do it)

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2003 11:11 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23809
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
SHADOW-XIII wrote:
it can even replace Owen's TTSGM :wink: (and sure it will probably do it)


Oh no it won't! I'll create a plug-in though you can access the map viewer from TTSGM. ;)

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2003 11:16 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13748
Location: London, UK
but I would prefer that you have normal list of files on the left ... and on the right are few maps ... after browsing (selecting) and file ... program will display conture map, company map, map name, Ai number, money info, vehicles number, etc ....

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2003 12:01 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23809
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
That's all very possible... I'll see about it. Let me get TTDAlter and TTDX Editor out of the way first though. ;)

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2003 12:32 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 11:00 am
Posts: 2720
Location: Torquay, England
Can't the contour map be just land heights and no roads, towns, industries, and be in greyscale (white=high, black=sea level) cos then I could use it to make maps for SC3K. Right now, I had to use PSP8 to make the roads dissapear, any industries turn into craters and wherever there was a road in a mountain, you get a valley! :D

_________________
<!-- End Of Post !-->
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2003 12:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13748
Location: London, UK
yeah, I suggested the same on IRC channel :)

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2003 5:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2002 2:55 pm
Posts: 2743
Location: Georgia
Shadow: I meant it's not very useful YET, I know it will be useful later.....after upgrades.

_________________
Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction. - Albert Einstein


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2003 5:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13748
Location: London, UK
sure it will be

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2003 8:08 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 333
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Ok, I'll put up a new version in short time. What will be new:
- No more "debug views", only the 6 views from the ingame minimap
- Saving any of the minimaps as either a minimap or as colorcoded isometric view
- Replaced console-window with small message window
- Updating GUI while rendering minimaps
- Commandline interface to generate a minimap from a savegame
- Possibly more stuff

What will not be there:
- "Vehicles" and "routes" minimaps will not be implemented but instead have a nice 4-way gradient
- Industries map might not be fully correct
- No support for other climates than temperate (but no check is made)
- Probably forgot something

_________________
Ex-tycooner. I'm no longer playing TT or watching this board.
Aegisub - if you're serious about making subtitles


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2003 8:53 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 333
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Ok, here it is. It's even got an icon and a proper filename! :D
To use the commandline mode: You can pass any numer of filenames on the commandline. Each filename will be processed as if it was a compressed TTD savegame. It will create 1 bitmap for each file, showing the Contours map.
Example:
Code:
ttdsge trp01.sv1 trt05.sv2

Will create two files: trp01.bmp and trt05.bmp . If any of the output files already exists they will be overwritten without prompting!


Attachments:
ttdsge.zip [217.53 KiB]
Downloaded 159 times

_________________
Ex-tycooner. I'm no longer playing TT or watching this board.
Aegisub - if you're serious about making subtitles
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 8:55 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 333
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Alpha 2 released. Edited top post.

_________________
Ex-tycooner. I'm no longer playing TT or watching this board.
Aegisub - if you're serious about making subtitles


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 12:44 pm 
Offline
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:08 am
Posts: 20670
Location: Belgium
Impressive, I hope you're still developping it


Attachments:
ttdsge.JPG [152.05 KiB]
Downloaded 83 times

_________________
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:59 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 333
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
I only started making this a few days ago, I hope to expand it much further!
One of my goals is a map editor where you can freely place ie. buildings in a 3d iso view like ingame.

_________________
Ex-tycooner. I'm no longer playing TT or watching this board.
Aegisub - if you're serious about making subtitles


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2003 1:04 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 333
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Ok, Alpha 3 is out!
Download location is still the homepage at http://www.jiifurusu.dk/ttdsge/

Changelog from A2 to A3:
- Fixed the RLE decompression function, now it will work with any game. (Previously it failed if it had to allocate extra memory.)
- Got L5 id's for all industries in the three first climates, so the industries-map is now complete, except for Toyland.
- Implemented the Vehicles map. Decided that it's not worth showing vehicles on the Contours map.
- The Vegetation map shows desert and snow areas correctly
- Remembered to turn off the console window this time :)

_________________
Ex-tycooner. I'm no longer playing TT or watching this board.
Aegisub - if you're serious about making subtitles


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2003 6:42 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 11:00 am
Posts: 2720
Location: Torquay, England
I've already said this but...

On the contours map you should ONLY see contours and water.
On the routes map you should ONLY see routes and vehicles.
On the vehicles map, well that's unneccacery cos they're on the routes map, so change it to a Towns map, where you see towns' roads/buildings.
On the industries map, you should see ONLY routes and industries.
On the vegetation map, you should see ONLY vegetation.
...I've forgotten one...

_________________
<!-- End Of Post !-->

Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2003 10:45 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 333
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
BobXP wrote:
I've already said this but...

On the contours map you should ONLY see contours and water.

(etc.)

I think I've mentioned this already, but these maps are supposed to be EXACTLY like those in the ingame minimap. I can always extend with some more views like those you suggest, but my first goal was to implement all the ingame minimap views.
(Yes, I know there are a few things that aren't entirely correct in my maps, but it can be fixed.)

_________________
Ex-tycooner. I'm no longer playing TT or watching this board.
Aegisub - if you're serious about making subtitles


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.