Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 11:11 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 70 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 7:26 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:01 pm
Posts: 663
Calhadras Coal
Im posting this because simply i have had A LOT of fun with it! Three attempts to get a working track layout... the challenge is in engineering rather than management.

Basically - haul silly amounts of coal across a the vast 'Calhadras' mountain range.

Its starts off very slow, but you can micro manage to pass the time. Once the second coal field is linked up the cash will come rolling in and you can start on the main event, moving colossal quantaties of the black stuff accross the mountians.

Start date: 1965
Objective: Move 500,000 tonnes of coal
Difficulty: 'Medium' (as money is not the issue)
Compettitors: None (they're idiots anyway).


Background
A northern Scandanavian province has been blest with massive amounts of high grade and useful coal, suitable for export to the whole world. Only one problem... the massive Calhadras mountians stand between the Tundra flats where most of the coal is mined and the coastal port (next to a power station).

The challenge is not making money, but engineering a line over the mountians with enough capacity to fulfill the needs of the coal mines. You can take the historical pass right the way up and over or try and tunnel through at key points, the choice is yours.

The government has kindly given you a big loan with a low interest rate.

Don't feel obliged to link the Towns, but do so of course if you wish. I feel electric locomotives is cheating, but it makes it much easier.

The Map:
Image

Attractive Scenery:
Image

A track layout i found to work (note the slag heaps to the left):
Image

The pass:

Image

Okay then thats my humble submission to you pro's it shoudl give 3-4 hours worth of entertainment anyway at least... :?


Attachments:
Calhadras Coal.zip [330.39 KiB]
Downloaded 1636 times

_________________
Best thread ever: Network maps
Loco Scenarios:
Caladras Coal - (870) Wessex - (225) Anduin Valley - (245) Sinclaire - (150) The Aural Sea - (200)
Westward Ho! - (475)


Last edited by teccuk on Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:28 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 12:40 pm
Posts: 374
Location: Bennekom, Netherlands
Looks really great! I'll give it a try :)

_________________
[REL] MaxiStack Containers | [REL] French Set
[REL] Belgium | [REL] Arnhem - Utrecht | [REL] More Scenario's

My released packs are no longer online. In case you own them, please contact me or upload them on a Locomotion site.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:43 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:23 pm
Posts: 79
Location: Worthing, Sussex
Any mods needed?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 3:20 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:01 pm
Posts: 663
locarny: :oops: aw thanks, but i reckon you lot will eat it alive and find it really easy by doing things like building lots of tunnels rather then going over as much as its designed to make you :wink:

sureshot: Err, i dont think so... I run the nobreakdowns mod, i dont think that will effect it though?

_________________
Best thread ever: Network maps
Loco Scenarios:
Caladras Coal - (870) Wessex - (225) Anduin Valley - (245) Sinclaire - (150) The Aural Sea - (200)
Westward Ho! - (475)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 4:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 9:01 pm
Posts: 3098
Location: Leicester / Hull - Britland
Looks amazing! :D

I think I'll go play this now. *Wo0t!*



Nice work.

_________________
My OpenTTD screenshot thread which hasn't been updated in a few years now.

Formerly known as Lankku.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:50 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:39 pm
Posts: 50
Location: The Netherlands
How did you made this scenerio? I mean look at those mountains, how did you do that? Which mod?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 3:14 am
Posts: 3941
I used this map to beta test some US coal hoppers out on today. nice map, i usually hate mountains on maps, but since the object was to deal with them, i had fun.

_________________
North American sets and then some...
US SET Ver 3.1.0 updated ~ Amtrak Pack 3.1.0 ~ US Passenger/Metro Set 3.1.0 updated~ Auto Factory 2.6 ~ VIA Rail Pack ~ LTD ED1 Conrail Alcos ~ LTD ED2 NJ Transit ~ DBR E60 ~ TGV Duplex ~ Umbrella Corp. ~ Comboios de Portugal~ Dekosoft UP/BN/BNSF Sets ~ ICE // MegaPack = 1.0.3.
Image
Image
Image
My Trains are made from 100% recycled electrons!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:47 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 164
i've only taken a quick look at this map in-game.

I'm totally stumped as to how i'm going to win this one.

I'm glad there's no time limit on it.

_________________
Raptor


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:32 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:01 pm
Posts: 663
I have to admit i was'nt expecting positive feedback, its quite daunting submitting somthing to a dedicated community.

2-10-1, Thanks! I hope you feel the same way once you've played it though...

Geert, It was painstkingly drawn by hand in ms-paint then blurred and softened in PaintShop Pro, converted into a map using Mapgen and then touched up in game - its a method that yeilds very good results if you have the patience (plus i have paint at work... heheheh).

Plastikman, cool, what route did you take, id love a screenie but it would be a spoiler i guess?

thompson_fan, yep, as i said it took three tries, the most annoying thing is having built the line and bought 30 odd trains and given them orders, you find the gradient's too steep at one point or some other problem and have to start from scratch :D!, if you run in to trouble use electric locos its much easier then.

_________________
Best thread ever: Network maps
Loco Scenarios:
Caladras Coal - (870) Wessex - (225) Anduin Valley - (245) Sinclaire - (150) The Aural Sea - (200)
Westward Ho! - (475)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:40 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 164
oh it's not the available trains thats i found tricky.

It's finding the quickest and cheapest route to get the goal. I'm more used to running passenger trains as opposed to freight trains.

_________________
Raptor


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:50 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:01 pm
Posts: 663
Passengers eh? Would you mind taking a look at this 'beta' then? Its 100% passenger orientated, but i cant put my finger on why its not as much fun as it should be...

viewtopic.php?t=23361

_________________
Best thread ever: Network maps
Loco Scenarios:
Caladras Coal - (870) Wessex - (225) Anduin Valley - (245) Sinclaire - (150) The Aural Sea - (200)
Westward Ho! - (475)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 6:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 3:14 am
Posts: 3941
i ran the valley all the way! i got a little lost at one point. i could not see what was in one corner no matter how i turned the camera so that part i did tunnel, just because i was irritated. I tried to keep te map as realistic looking as i could with lomo. small grades here and there.


I actually have not finnished it yet. there is nothing else to do but watch at this point. (and replace old engines, not running any breakdown mods. lol hard to beta like that) i have it all optimised. i guess i could drop additional staions for more coal. i could go over or under the mountain range now that i have millions in cash... but my system is flowing so nice there is really no point in changing the mainline.also if i add more trains i might cause delays, not sure. i am already getting about 98-100% of the coal now as it is. i am getting about $250,000 per trainload and the trains are non-stop rolling in.

unlike most scenerios. where there are other things to do, this one really is locked to running coal.... i almost tossed some amtrak trains running the pass connecting the 2 big cities..... maybe i will still....

i posted some shots in the screenshot thread. viewtopic.php?t=9916&start=824

_________________
North American sets and then some...
US SET Ver 3.1.0 updated ~ Amtrak Pack 3.1.0 ~ US Passenger/Metro Set 3.1.0 updated~ Auto Factory 2.6 ~ VIA Rail Pack ~ LTD ED1 Conrail Alcos ~ LTD ED2 NJ Transit ~ DBR E60 ~ TGV Duplex ~ Umbrella Corp. ~ Comboios de Portugal~ Dekosoft UP/BN/BNSF Sets ~ ICE // MegaPack = 1.0.3.
Image
Image
Image
My Trains are made from 100% recycled electrons!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:25 pm
Posts: 1721
Location: Warrington UK
Done! I bet you can do better.
Tip: Once you have anough money make a tunnel under the main mountain range. It alows you to transport the coal so much more quickely.


Attachments:
done.PNG
done.PNG [ 130.15 KiB | Viewed 18026 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 11:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 3:14 am
Posts: 3941
alistairgrew wrote:
Done! I bet you can do better.
Tip: Once you have anough money make a tunnel under the main mountain range. It alows you to transport the coal so much more quickely.
yah i bet it would.

i was having so much fun watching the trains in the valley, i didnt want to tunnel. i really wanted to keep the prototypical look. i doubt the railroads would have the billions to run a tunnel like that. might be fun to see a highspeed train through the rocky mountains. but you wont see it.

i had it down to a science with the signals to keep the trains rolling at about 55-70MPH through the valley. once i got the route laid i only spent money on signals and new trains. i had a nasty backup for a few years at the vally entrance. i totaly rebuilt th at a few times untill i found the best way. i also finally got signaling with waypoints down ot a science, i did not have one train take the wrong path this whole game. that might be a first for me.

Image

_________________
North American sets and then some...
US SET Ver 3.1.0 updated ~ Amtrak Pack 3.1.0 ~ US Passenger/Metro Set 3.1.0 updated~ Auto Factory 2.6 ~ VIA Rail Pack ~ LTD ED1 Conrail Alcos ~ LTD ED2 NJ Transit ~ DBR E60 ~ TGV Duplex ~ Umbrella Corp. ~ Comboios de Portugal~ Dekosoft UP/BN/BNSF Sets ~ ICE // MegaPack = 1.0.3.
Image
Image
Image
My Trains are made from 100% recycled electrons!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:06 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 2:46 am
Posts: 39
Location: New York
Please excuse my mod profanity. Plastikman what do you use to make your wagons look so nice?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:25 pm
Posts: 1721
Location: Warrington UK
He converts them from MSTS


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:22 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 3:14 am
Posts: 3941
adn wrote:
Please excuse my mod profanity. Plastikman what do you use to make your wagons look so nice?
i used the US/Canadian train pack.. found in my signature :twisted:

but mostly, i used blood, sweat, and tears .. usually someone elses..... oh yeah and a little hair pulling out.....

_________________
North American sets and then some...
US SET Ver 3.1.0 updated ~ Amtrak Pack 3.1.0 ~ US Passenger/Metro Set 3.1.0 updated~ Auto Factory 2.6 ~ VIA Rail Pack ~ LTD ED1 Conrail Alcos ~ LTD ED2 NJ Transit ~ DBR E60 ~ TGV Duplex ~ Umbrella Corp. ~ Comboios de Portugal~ Dekosoft UP/BN/BNSF Sets ~ ICE // MegaPack = 1.0.3.
Image
Image
Image
My Trains are made from 100% recycled electrons!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:02 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:01 pm
Posts: 663
Wow i'm really glad some others enjoyed this map! And i haven't managed it in that sort of time so well done.

Wd Plastikman for retaining the photrealism, t'is certainly the way it meant to be played, and that looks lovely the way it slowly snakes up the pass :cry: its just so beautiful.

Haha, but yeah your right not much to do once its connected cept watch, i didnt find that a problem, and usually ended up linking the towns too.

_________________
Best thread ever: Network maps
Loco Scenarios:
Caladras Coal - (870) Wessex - (225) Anduin Valley - (245) Sinclaire - (150) The Aural Sea - (200)
Westward Ho! - (475)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 3:54 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 2:46 am
Posts: 39
Location: New York
Here is my entry for this scenario.
I took the tunnel approach but had very poor scalability. Which had me redesign the unloading station twice. I ended up with a double decker 8 tracks to unload and 4 separate loops (one per loading station).
Strategy wise, I choose to build a cheap cash loop from cloppenstadt and focus on getting the first tunnel ready asap. Once it is built, every 12 cars train yields 500k, let it run couple of times, each tunnel costs about 2.5~3 million.

Nice scenario. Thanks for the fun.

Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 4:27 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
This scenario almost makes me want to play Locomotion, never thought I'd ever say that...

Impressive mountain ranges, teccuk. Well done.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 70 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.