Landscape generator

Got a nice scenario or saved game for Locomotion? Post it here!

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

User avatar
Sybil Goose
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 53
Joined: 12 Sep 2004 11:18

Post by Sybil Goose » 06 Feb 2005 12:55

i'm currently trying to arrange something with digital elevation data and GIS (geographical information systems)
is there someone else out there who also tried something like that?
I use 3Dem to make the maps, it'll handle most DEM types and it's much easier to set the gradient colours than some of the others programs I've tried.
Getting elevation data is easy though, I haven't found a good way of getting GIS atlas data yet.

User avatar
Menno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1190
Joined: 05 Feb 2005 14:35
Location: Netherlands, Utrecht

Post by Menno » 06 Feb 2005 14:21

thx sybil

in the meanwhile i created this iceland landscape
it's neither very nice, nor extremely bad
Attachments
iceland2.JPG
(139.97 KiB) Downloaded 505 times
iceland1.JPG
(249.71 KiB) Downloaded 656 times
*hmz*

Franctirreur
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 10
Joined: 25 Jan 2005 20:55
Location: Hardenberg, The Netherlands

Post by Franctirreur » 06 Feb 2005 16:03

Looks great :!:
Tjoek tjoek

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Post by Purno » 06 Feb 2005 16:41

Looks rough :!:
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Menno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1190
Joined: 05 Feb 2005 14:35
Location: Netherlands, Utrecht

Post by Menno » 06 Feb 2005 22:35

purno, i'm not sure you mean rough (as in great) or rough (as in not quite a skiddy surface)
if you mean the first, thanks ;)
if you mean the second, i can understand, i haven't smoothed up the digital elevation model, so there are some sparks. this is the result of half an hour's work, at first i had some strange pillars in the middle of the sea (like basalt pillars, not unusual in iceland however), but photoshop helped me eliminate that
*hmz*

User avatar
dave61
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 175
Joined: 31 May 2005 19:52
Location: Netherlands, pro tem

Post by dave61 » 11 Jun 2005 11:57

Ampz, is there a way to use other regions in Mapgen? I have created a RegXX.dat file with my personal preferences for vehicles which I would like to combine with Mapgen created file?

maley123
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 491
Joined: 29 Oct 2005 12:47

Post by maley123 » 30 Oct 2005 13:18

Place To Fine 384x384 Grayscale Maps Plz
leader of a Maley's Deluxe Railset

ampz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 158
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 15:03

Post by ampz » 03 Apr 2006 20:32

dave61 wrote:Ampz, is there a way to use other regions in Mapgen? I have created a RegXX.dat file with my personal preferences for vehicles which I would like to combine with Mapgen created file?
If you want to change some region properties (like vehicles or buildings), then just generate a map using my tool, open it in Locomotion scenario editor and select "Back to previous step" and then "advanced".
maley123 wrote:Place To Fine 384x384 Grayscale Maps Plz
I don't think you will find such maps anywhere. The idea is that you can easily create a map using a photo editor like "photoshop", "paint shop", or even microsofts "paint".
You can either draw a map freehand, or you can convert a real height map to 384*384 .bmp format.

ampz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 158
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 15:03

New version available

Post by ampz » 09 Apr 2006 19:13

I received a request to add support for custom regions.
So, in this new version I have added the possibility to import the region data from another scenario file.
http://www.brolinembedded.se/projects/mapgen/mapgen.zip

User avatar
Samo
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 415
Joined: 30 Apr 2005 01:02
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by Samo » 16 Jul 2006 23:05

zkreso wrote:I found a website containing topographical data free for download.

http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/seg/topo/gltiles.shtml
instructions on how to import into photoshop:
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/seg/topo/report/s11/s11Gx.html
would someone be able to send me each reason ready to crop in photoshop, i tried it and it came out horrible(yes i tried it more than once and re-read everything several times)
(and yes i know this is an old topic but its pinned so it's not as bad(that's no excuse for newbs to do this to other pinned topics ;)))

User avatar
Zeak
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 666
Joined: 01 Oct 2006 08:23
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Zeak » 11 Oct 2006 08:17

zkreso could you convert the aus/nz map to bmp or jpg 4 me my photoshop is stuffed and i cant find install cd
Melbourne emu pack /\Night mode for Locomotion/\SUPER SHIPS pack/
EvangelionProject ReTake
Proudly serving Australia.
Image

I'm Back after my long time off, I have now worked Google sketchup to assist me with mod creation so look forward to brand new professional looking mods

andel
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7259
Joined: 07 May 2005 20:20
Location: Somewhere over the spandex sea
Contact:

Post by andel » 11 Oct 2006 10:35

Zeak, this topic has been dormant for some time... I doubt he would be able to.
Andel
AMI Trains Website
WheelWorldRailway - a Blog about railway business.

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
DISCLAIMER: The views expressed in this post are not necessarily those of Andel, who will do and say almost anything to get the attention he craves.

Not offically a fan of anything but has been known to hump the leg of a moderizzle wearing a pink hat.

kazimierz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 56
Joined: 27 Jan 2005 16:01
Location: On the far side of the world..

Post by kazimierz » 08 Feb 2007 08:49

Mm.. I see that this topic is very much asleep.
But a question nontheless:

I´ve been trying to work with this editor for many times. I tried making several maps in several progams (coral draw/ painter etc) but will not work for me..

Is there anyone out here who knows how to make a map from scatch by using both a grapical program and this converter? - If yes, is there anyone who can help me, and probably others, step by step?

Much thanks!
Kaz
=One death is a tragedy , a million deaths is a statistic==

Image

ampz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 158
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 15:03

Post by ampz » 14 Apr 2007 13:07

Exactly what is the problem you are experiencing?

Lister7777
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 69
Joined: 25 Jan 2007 08:17
Location: Leeds
Contact:

Post by Lister7777 » 16 Apr 2007 08:23

Hi, i have created a simple layout with your tool. Its great.
Howevery i have a small problem. After around 10 mins the screen turns all funny colours. I have loaded other terrains and left the system for longer and its fine.

So anyone have any idea what the problem could be?
i used the following options

B
4
130

The terrian sits 2 levels above the sea.

Any advise would be great. I dont have a picture due to the fact it pictures normal.
Lister7777
Current Projects.
Loco Island Scenario.

User avatar
Illegal_Alien
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7824
Joined: 29 Sep 2004 20:07
Location: Kingdom of Far Far Away
Contact:

Post by Illegal_Alien » 16 Apr 2007 08:31

If its is ingame; we know, solution: Unknown, just restart Locomotion.
:: Looking for the Locomotion section? Scroll down on the forum index or click here. :: See all releases in Locomotion section? Clicky here! :: Click here for the best tool ever! :: .datCrawler try it! ::
Following roadmap for releases: Whats a roadmap?
Releases of LocoTrains can be found by checking the posts of: LocoTrains - Goold old AMI Trains member of the first hour.
I have Private Messaging disabled, because of the stupid questions i get in my PM box.
Want to talk to me? Get on the #tycoon and #locomotion channel on OFTC thingy. :: Evolution of men: Loosing more braincells, everytime you post...

Lister7777
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 69
Joined: 25 Jan 2007 08:17
Location: Leeds
Contact:

Post by Lister7777 » 16 Apr 2007 08:39

Thanks IA, I will try adding some stuff to it and will see if it does it as a scenario or not. Thanks once again.
Lister7777
Current Projects.
Loco Island Scenario.

User avatar
uktrackbuilder_loco
Director
Director
Posts: 573
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 18:57

Post by uktrackbuilder_loco » 19 May 2007 12:59

removed
Last edited by uktrackbuilder_loco on 12 Jun 2007 19:33, edited 1 time in total.

ampz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 158
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 15:03

Post by ampz » 30 May 2007 17:51

Is the resolution of your BMP files correct?

You can also try opening the bmp file in MS paint and then save it again.

AdrianGeo
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 5
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 04:25

Re: Landscape generator

Post by AdrianGeo » 23 Mar 2008 08:44

You made that map in ten minitues, Yeah right!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8) :bow:

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Scenarios and Saved Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests