Landscape generator

Got a nice scenario or saved game for Locomotion? Post it here!

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Lute Skywatcher
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 40
Joined: 27 Oct 2004 19:20

Post by Lute Skywatcher »

Could someone please email me the mapgen.zip? I can't get to the download site.

Lute Skywatcher
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 40
Joined: 27 Oct 2004 19:20

Post by Lute Skywatcher »

Never mind, it's working now.

I wonder if the fact I was at work had something to do with my being unable to connect.

Lute Skywatcher
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 40
Joined: 27 Oct 2004 19:20

Post by Lute Skywatcher »

Nice little program. I just made a map of Alaska.
Attachments
Alaska Screenshot.jpg
Alaska Screenshot.jpg (224.76 KiB) Viewed 12812 times

Lute Skywatcher
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 40
Joined: 27 Oct 2004 19:20

Post by Lute Skywatcher »

Fractal generators are good for creating realistic random landscapes. This is from a Fractint plasma fractal.

I'd prefer not having all that snow though.
Attachments
Fractal Screenshot.jpg
Fractal Screenshot.jpg (178.38 KiB) Viewed 12802 times

ampz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 158
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 15:03

Post by ampz »

The amount of snow can be decreased by either choosing a warmer climate in Locomotion's editor or by decreasing the height of your map (decrease the brightness of the BMP using a image editor).

Lute Skywatcher
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 40
Joined: 27 Oct 2004 19:20

Post by Lute Skywatcher »

Hey, thanks! Should have thought of that "North America, No Snow" option. Now my Hawaii map looks better, still needs a bit of work though.
Attachments
Hawaii.jpg
Hawaii.jpg (156.56 KiB) Viewed 12776 times
Oahu, Molokai & Lanai.jpg
Oahu, Molokai & Lanai.jpg (149.87 KiB) Viewed 12762 times

Roger
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 26
Joined: 03 Nov 2004 11:13

Post by Roger »

Many thanks for this great tool. I just started using it and it is just SO useful!

ampz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 158
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 15:03

Post by ampz »

People have requested that I add support for more types of ground than regular green grass. I have been busy for a while with other things (like life), but here is a update.

Ground type is entered as a number from 0-255.
3 = rock
4 = desert
130 = green grass
There are other ground types as well, but be aware that some ground types are not supported by locomotion and will make locomotion crash.
It is probably possible to add new ground types to locomotion.

For non advanced users: Just enter the number 130 and you will get a nice green map.

Download mapgen 1.04

User avatar
Overlord1191
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 172
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 14:12
Location: Georgia, USA
Contact:

Post by Overlord1191 »

Ampz how can I used new terrain in here? Does newly added land go into a certain number?
Overlord 1191 aka Brian Wilgus
creator of
Mods: Mars Terrain Set, Starport Style Names
Scenarios: Flordia, Georgia, Asheville, Nashville, Authoritive New England, and the only map from another planet Mars

ampz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 158
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 15:03

Post by ampz »

I'am not sure how numbers are assigned to new terrains.
There is one byte for each tile which controls the terrain-type. This new update simply gives you the option to set the value of that byte to something else than 130 (grass).
I found the numbers for desert and rock by trial-and-error.

A few bits in the byte most likely controls the amount of grass (or equivalent) growing on the tile, while the other bits control the ground-type.

fatpaul
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 26
Joined: 06 Nov 2004 17:12
Location: Hong Kong SAR
Contact:

Post by fatpaul »

just try to make a HongKong map using NOAA satelite map
result not too good as HK is too small in satelite map
please refer to https://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=222633#222633

screenshot from my hand-made map
Image

screenshot from NOAA map
Image

fistersn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 23
Joined: 31 Dec 2003 10:43

Dark as highest????

Post by fistersn »

Hello

I have tried mapgen and the results looks great..... The only thing is that I don't find to many sattelite maps over Norway... Do you have some examples?

I tried to make a maps over the province, Rogaland in Norway, but so I found out that my map have dark color for higher points and white color for flat land..... Is it possible to swith over this colors or to do someting in the program to use dark as the highest and not the lowest????

ampz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 158
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 15:03

Post by ampz »

Open the image in a editor and invert the colors.

You can adjust A LOT of things in a normal editor before you load up the image in mapgen.

Brightness/contrast adjusts height, bluring/filtering makes the landscape more smooth, and so on..

fistersn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 23
Joined: 31 Dec 2003 10:43

Post by fistersn »

Thanks for the tip..

fistersn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 23
Joined: 31 Dec 2003 10:43

Post by fistersn »

Does someone knows if it goes to replace all the white colors with black???

ampz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 158
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 15:03

Post by ampz »

Inverting the colors will invert the entire greyscale.

If you only want to replace white (value 255) with black (value 0) then you can open it in a editor, set it to a 256 color palette mode and change the white (255) palette entry to black (0).

The image below might be what you are looking for.
It covers much of scandinavia.
Attachments
swedenA.png
(646.95 KiB) Downloaded 479 times

fistersn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 23
Joined: 31 Dec 2003 10:43

Post by fistersn »

Thanks a lot.... :D

I had already began a work on the map, but I proboly change to this map... Much easier job to work out the mountains.... The only problem now is to place out the cities and waters....

Thanks again...

fistersn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 23
Joined: 31 Dec 2003 10:43

Post by fistersn »

I am not so good with photoshop...

How do I replace the white (255) with black (0)????

ampz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 158
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 15:03

Post by ampz »

I don't have photoshop.

In the image I posted you don't have to replace any color.

User avatar
Menno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1190
Joined: 05 Feb 2005 14:35
Location: Netherlands, Utrecht

Post by Menno »

i'm currently trying to arrange something with digital elevation data and GIS (geographical information systems)
is there someone else out there who also tried something like that?
*hmz*

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Scenarios and Saved Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests