Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:30 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 8:47 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:20 pm
Posts: 40
Could someone please email me the mapgen.zip? I can't get to the download site.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 1:19 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:20 pm
Posts: 40
Never mind, it's working now.

I wonder if the fact I was at work had something to do with my being unable to connect.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:04 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:20 pm
Posts: 40
Nice little program. I just made a map of Alaska.


Attachments:
Alaska Screenshot.jpg
Alaska Screenshot.jpg [ 224.76 KiB | Viewed 11315 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:59 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:20 pm
Posts: 40
Fractal generators are good for creating realistic random landscapes. This is from a Fractint plasma fractal.

I'd prefer not having all that snow though.


Attachments:
Fractal Screenshot.jpg
Fractal Screenshot.jpg [ 178.38 KiB | Viewed 11305 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 10:22 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:03 pm
Posts: 158
The amount of snow can be decreased by either choosing a warmer climate in Locomotion's editor or by decreasing the height of your map (decrease the brightness of the BMP using a image editor).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 12:18 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:20 pm
Posts: 40
Hey, thanks! Should have thought of that "North America, No Snow" option. Now my Hawaii map looks better, still needs a bit of work though.


Attachments:
Hawaii.jpg
Hawaii.jpg [ 156.56 KiB | Viewed 11279 times ]
Oahu, Molokai & Lanai.jpg
Oahu, Molokai & Lanai.jpg [ 149.87 KiB | Viewed 11265 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 11:16 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 11:13 am
Posts: 26
Many thanks for this great tool. I just started using it and it is just SO useful!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 6:45 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:03 pm
Posts: 158
People have requested that I add support for more types of ground than regular green grass. I have been busy for a while with other things (like life), but here is a update.

Ground type is entered as a number from 0-255.
3 = rock
4 = desert
130 = green grass
There are other ground types as well, but be aware that some ground types are not supported by locomotion and will make locomotion crash.
It is probably possible to add new ground types to locomotion.

For non advanced users: Just enter the number 130 and you will get a nice green map.

Download mapgen 1.04


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:18 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 2:12 pm
Posts: 172
Location: Georgia, USA
Ampz how can I used new terrain in here? Does newly added land go into a certain number?

_________________
Overlord 1191 aka Brian Wilgus
creator of
Mods: Mars Terrain Set, Starport Style Names
Scenarios: Flordia, Georgia, Asheville, Nashville, Authoritive New England, and the only map from another planet Mars


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 10:38 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:03 pm
Posts: 158
I'am not sure how numbers are assigned to new terrains.
There is one byte for each tile which controls the terrain-type. This new update simply gives you the option to set the value of that byte to something else than 130 (grass).
I found the numbers for desert and rock by trial-and-error.

A few bits in the byte most likely controls the amount of grass (or equivalent) growing on the tile, while the other bits control the ground-type.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:11 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 5:12 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Hong Kong SAR
just try to make a HongKong map using NOAA satelite map
result not too good as HK is too small in satelite map
please refer to https://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=222633#222633

screenshot from my hand-made map
Image

screenshot from NOAA map
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Dark as highest????
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 6:42 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 10:43 am
Posts: 23
Hello

I have tried mapgen and the results looks great..... The only thing is that I don't find to many sattelite maps over Norway... Do you have some examples?

I tried to make a maps over the province, Rogaland in Norway, but so I found out that my map have dark color for higher points and white color for flat land..... Is it possible to swith over this colors or to do someting in the program to use dark as the highest and not the lowest????


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 8:23 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:03 pm
Posts: 158
Open the image in a editor and invert the colors.

You can adjust A LOT of things in a normal editor before you load up the image in mapgen.

Brightness/contrast adjusts height, bluring/filtering makes the landscape more smooth, and so on..


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 10:04 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 10:43 am
Posts: 23
Thanks for the tip..


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 10:56 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 10:43 am
Posts: 23
Does someone knows if it goes to replace all the white colors with black???


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 9:12 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:03 pm
Posts: 158
Inverting the colors will invert the entire greyscale.

If you only want to replace white (value 255) with black (value 0) then you can open it in a editor, set it to a 256 color palette mode and change the white (255) palette entry to black (0).

The image below might be what you are looking for.
It covers much of scandinavia.


Attachments:
swedenA.png [646.95 KiB]
Downloaded 479 times
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 11:34 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 10:43 am
Posts: 23
Thanks a lot.... :D

I had already began a work on the map, but I proboly change to this map... Much easier job to work out the mountains.... The only problem now is to place out the cities and waters....

Thanks again...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:22 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 10:43 am
Posts: 23
I am not so good with photoshop...

How do I replace the white (255) with black (0)????


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 10:23 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:03 pm
Posts: 158
I don't have photoshop.

In the image I posted you don't have to replace any color.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 2:35 pm
Posts: 1190
Location: Netherlands, Utrecht
i'm currently trying to arrange something with digital elevation data and GIS (geographical information systems)
is there someone else out there who also tried something like that?

_________________
*hmz*


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.