Coal Ridge Scenario

Got a nice scenario or saved game for Locomotion? Post it here!

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
glenjimen
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 108
Joined: 16 Aug 2013 00:44

Coal Ridge Scenario

Post by glenjimen »

Hello Locomotion Community,

I created this scenario about a month ago to test the Serpent Stations, found here : viewtopic.php?f=30&t=86337
I tried to place the industries in groups such that you can capture all of them with one large curved station.
-
CoalRidge-CurvedStation.jpg
CoalRidge-CurvedStation.jpg (223.47 KiB) Viewed 1113 times
-
This uses the built-in map "Race to Read" with different industries and of course a different goal. Basically the valley is full of Iron ore and Coal, and your job is to haul it all up the mountain to the one lone Steel Works to produce Steel. This then needs to come back down the hill to produce goods. Sounds easy, well it's not! Early in the game, I had three large articulated steam locos distributed in one 20 car consist, and it still struggled up the grade! You need power, speed, and an organized railroad to stay profitable and haul high volumes of goods. I am glad you can run a train that looks 'normal' in the length here, not shortened like usual for Locomotion. Yes, I know about the Long Station Patch, but that is not necessary for this one. You start with early steam, and progress thru modern diesel. It wasn't until high horsepower diesels became common that I approached the goal here. Share your technique to get it done quicker!

Here is the scenario, one with all the mods I used, one that *should* be stripped of all mods. Let me know if you can't open it.
Attachments
Coal Ridge.SC5
Updated File.
(852.23 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
Coal Ridge - ModFree.SC5
(855.36 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
Last edited by glenjimen on 06 Jan 2020 03:18, edited 1 time in total.
... but what do I know? I play with trains.

trainzmaster4
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Jun 2011 14:03

Re: Coal Ridge Scenario

Post by trainzmaster4 »

Hello!

I had a few missing DATs for the modded version of the map. I found some of them after some digging but these are the rest of them I can't find anywhere. Any help is appreciated!

--- Sounds ---
SNDK4W1 : --- Not installed!!! ---
SNDK4W2 : --- Not installed!!! ---

--- Vehicles ---
GFLATCAR : --- Not installed!!! ---
GHOPCAR2 : --- Not installed!!! ---
T2SPCF01 : --- Not installed!!! ---
TRAM3WGN : --- Not installed!!! ---
TRAM4WGN : --- Not installed!!! ---
USHBGUC : --- Not installed!!! ---
XBC50CP : --- Not installed!!! ---
XGN34 : --- Not installed!!! ---
XGNGOND : --- Not installed!!! ---
XGP20SP : --- Not installed!!! ---
XGP9ATSF : --- Not installed!!! ---
XRS2SF : --- Not installed!!! ---
XRS2SLUG : --- Not installed!!! ---
XSF40BC : --- Not installed!!! ---
XSPSBC : --- Not installed!!! ---
XU30ATSF : --- Not installed!!! ---

--- Industries ---
COALDOPP : --- Not installed!!! ---
OREDOPPL : --- Not installed!!! ---
STEEWORK : --- Not installed!!! ---
WARENLAG : --- Not installed!!! ---

User avatar
Owen-Alexander
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 79
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 11:30
Location: Australia

Re: Coal Ridge Scenario

Post by Owen-Alexander »

Just wanted to chime to say that the mod free version is showing missing mods aswell.

--- Sounds ---
SNDK4W1 : --- Not installed!!! ---
SNDK4W2 : --- Not installed!!! ---


--- Bridges ---
INVISIBL : --- Not installed!!! ---


--- Industries ---
COALDOPP : --- Not installed!!! ---
OREDOPPL : --- Not installed!!! ---
STEEWORK : --- Not installed!!! ---

The bridge is from Glenjimen, The all terrain earth slope. The sound files seem like they are from a K4 Pacific, but not the ones in the US set, and lastly, no clue on the coal, ore and steel dopplers.

@Trainzmaster4: I can help with your search, the dats starting with X (i.e. XGN34) are from the old US stock pack by jose. I don't have a link handy, but hopefully puts you in the right direction. The USBGUC is the Umbrella Corp. Bethgon (a Plastikman mod).

Sadly, That is the extent of my knowledge on old mods.


User avatar
glenjimen
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 108
Joined: 16 Aug 2013 00:44

Re: Coal Ridge Scenario

Post by glenjimen »

Thanks for catching my mistakes, guys!

I've updated the modded version of the scenario such that it does not include T2SPCF01. That is a locomotive I got from user Tattoo privately, I'm not allowed to upload it. Sorry. The sound files : SNDK4W1 & 2 are for this loco as well. If the sound files are still in the scenario, then I can't remove them. The best way around that is to make blank / muted sound files, and name them appropriately so you can open the scenario. Many scenarios before this one have similar problems.

GFLATCAR and GHOPCAR2 are my original creations, uploaded here.

The rest are hosted on https://www.locomotiondepot.net/amitrains/

Thanks to Owen-Alexander and Walter1940 for helping find some mods.
I hope that helps!
Attachments
GFLATCAR.dat
(753.57 KiB) Downloaded 38 times
GHOPCAR2.dat
(679.86 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
... but what do I know? I play with trains.

User avatar
Owen-Alexander
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 79
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 11:30
Location: Australia

Re: Coal Ridge Scenario

Post by Owen-Alexander »

Would copying other sound files and renaming work as well? Or is there something internal that the game looks for.

I do have a rather obtuse way of 'fixing' the mod free version. I have an un-modded version I could use to recreate the mod free map. That way it wouldn't have the sound files or the added bridges and industries.

@glenji: How much of Race to Read was changed? Was is just industries or was there some terraforming done.

User avatar
Walter1940
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 816
Joined: 19 Mar 2007 01:30
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Coal Ridge Scenario

Post by Walter1940 »

Owen-Alexander wrote:
06 Jan 2020 04:47
Would copying other sound files and renaming work as well? Or is there something internal that the game looks for.
Yes, the internal name is read. But if you disassemble the sound with Locotool and change it internally and then change the file name identically, then it certainly works.
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/

User avatar
glenjimen
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 108
Joined: 16 Aug 2013 00:44

Re: Coal Ridge Scenario

Post by glenjimen »

@Owen-Alexander : I only changed the industries and towns in the Race to Read Scenario. You can recreate a version of it if you prefer. The main purpose of this scenario is to give me and others a chance to test the "Serpent Station" idea. See the link in the first post.
Walter1940 wrote:
06 Jan 2020 10:43
Yes, the internal name is read. But if you disassemble the sound with Locotool and change it internally and then change the file name identically, then it certainly works.
I too have done this. It's about the easiest thing you can do with LocoTool.
... but what do I know? I play with trains.

User avatar
Owen-Alexander
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 79
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 11:30
Location: Australia

Re: Coal Ridge Scenario

Post by Owen-Alexander »

glenjimen wrote:
07 Jan 2020 03:22
@Owen-Alexander : I only changed the industries and towns in the Race to Read Scenario. You can recreate a version of it if you prefer. The main purpose of this scenario is to give me and others a chance to test the "Serpent Station" idea. See the link in the first post.
Walter1940 wrote:
06 Jan 2020 10:43
Yes, the internal name is read. But if you disassemble the sound with Locotool and change it internally and then change the file name identically, then it certainly works.
I too have done this. It's about the easiest thing you can do with LocoTool.
@glenji: Oh, I had thought there was minor terraforming, Good to know its close to the default map. I mainly offered to try and recreate what you had done to help out those who may not be at confident as we are at modifying things.

It never occurred to me change sound dats before. Mainly used to changing the vehicles.

User avatar
Lighthouse
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 280
Joined: 29 Jul 2009 17:51
Location: ´s-Hertogenbosch (AKA "The Duke´s Forest") , the Netherlands

Re: Coal Ridge Scenario

Post by Lighthouse »

i missed the following files, can someone help me?

--- Sounds ---
SNDK4W1 : --- Not installed!!! ---
SNDK4W2 : --- Not installed!!! ---


--- Vehicles ---
TRAM1wgn : --- Not installed!!! ---
TRAM3WGN : --- Not installed!!! ---
TRAM4WGN : --- Not installed!!! ---
USCHTG01 : --- Not installed!!! ---
USGP759 : --- Not installed!!! ---
USOHOJN1 : --- Not installed!!! ---
USOHOJO1 : --- Not installed!!! ---
USSEMI59 : --- Not installed!!! ---
USSEMO59 : --- Not installed!!! ---
USSW1259 : --- Not installed!!! ---

the sounds i have to edit them and tramwgn files are not in my tram files?
thx.
Just fold at the dotted line and cut it out with a pair of scissors. If you are under the age of 16 please ask one of your parents or an adult supervisor if she/he can help you.
Image.........................................................................................
ImageImage
The only thing that isn´t very succesfull in the wireless version : Bungee Jumping

User avatar
Lighthouse
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 280
Joined: 29 Jul 2009 17:51
Location: ´s-Hertogenbosch (AKA "The Duke´s Forest") , the Netherlands

Re: Coal Ridge Scenario

Post by Lighthouse »

Lighthouse wrote:
23 Mar 2020 15:29
i missed the following files, can someone help me?

--- Sounds ---
SNDK4W1 : --- Not installed!!! ---
SNDK4W2 : --- Not installed!!! ---


--- Vehicles ---
TRAM3WGN : --- Not installed!!! ---
TRAM4WGN : --- Not installed!!! ---
I have found some files in the mean time but these four not.
The sound files are suppose to be from a k4 loco?
The tram files should be the wagons for the tram3&tram4 models, coronation tram and a ce2/2 ?
After a few hours strolling through the web and downloading dozens of file packs i’m stuck, can one put me in right direction?
Just fold at the dotted line and cut it out with a pair of scissors. If you are under the age of 16 please ask one of your parents or an adult supervisor if she/he can help you.
Image.........................................................................................
ImageImage
The only thing that isn´t very succesfull in the wireless version : Bungee Jumping

User avatar
glenjimen
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 108
Joined: 16 Aug 2013 00:44

Re: Coal Ridge Scenario

Post by glenjimen »

I helped Lighthouse with the missing files via Private Message.

Here are blank sound files for SNDK4W1 & SNDK4W2. There is no sound, but Locomotion will stop complaining about missing files.
Attachments
SNDK4W1.dat
Blank sound : SNDK4W1
(85 Bytes) Downloaded 6 times
SNDK4W2.dat
Blank sound : SNDK4W2
(85 Bytes) Downloaded 6 times
... but what do I know? I play with trains.

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Scenarios and Saved Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest