chicago locomotive works

Are you a beginner with Locomotion? Learn the basics here.

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Post Reply
locofan1227
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Apr 2014 19:26

chicago locomotive works

Post by locofan1227 » 08 Apr 2014 19:33

I downloaded Chicago locomotive works Mega pack, but It totally screwed up my locomotion. I want to fix it without having to re-install locomotion.

lsbc
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 78
Joined: 06 May 2012 03:21

Re: chicago locomotive works

Post by lsbc » 08 Apr 2014 19:56

Ahhhh more details of screw up. If it's total wreck reinstall is only option. Most times screw up is easy fix. Reinstall mega pack as sometimes it misses a file. Read the readme file in megapack. One last word.... whenever installing to objdat folder FIRST BACKUP objdat folder and do this every month or so just to be safe.

User avatar
Greyfox
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 369
Joined: 19 Jun 2009 14:47
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: chicago locomotive works

Post by Greyfox » 10 Apr 2014 04:04

Hello locofan1227, welcome to the forums.

Isbc has reminded us of two important points: read the Readme.txt first, and backup your default ObjData folder. This is how I would go about it, in fact I have in the past:

Uninstall Lomo, remove any remaining folders and files related to Lomo. Restart computer. Reinstall Lomo, then backup your ObjData folder. copy it to another area on your harddrive, or better still, on another partition if you have one. (you may wish to rename it, such as (ObjData_Default). That way you would allways have your original ObjData folder in case you have problems like you have now. In this case you would just copy it over to your Lomo folder and all should be well. Bearing in mind that any existing ObjData folder will be overwritten. Also, I suggest you create a folder to store these ObjData folders. You may wish to name it "Locomotion ObjData Folders", or something like that, that you recognise.

As an example, when you install the CLW, you should have all of the relevant vehicles, buildings etc to enable you to play scenarios such as The Serpent. (one of my favourites). If you wish to revert back to the default ObjData, first copy your existing ObjData folder over to your storage folder and rename it, such as ObjData_CLW, (your choice). Then copy your original ObjData_Default) folder to your Lomo folder. Don't forget to rename it to ObjData. It will overwrite your existing file, but that's OK, you would have just copied it over to your storage folder.

Finally, all of the above worked for me. I have quite a number of ObjData folders in my storage folder that relate to different mods, and they all work. If you uninstall Lomo, you may wish to save any existing save games, but bear in mind that they would only normally work using the ObjData folder that they were created in.

I trust that this helps you.

Regards.
Windows 10 discussion here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=72527
Looking for AMI trains, Chicago Locomotive Works, etc: You'll find your needs here: http://www.locomotiondepot.net/
__________________________
"Don't badger the Badger"....(Retired Moderator)

User avatar
Zimmlock
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2109
Joined: 02 Dec 2003 16:01
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: chicago locomotive works

Post by Zimmlock » 10 Apr 2014 17:42

Copy folder? copy folder? nooo, you can have more then one Objectdata folder in your game folder, its more easy to just rename them for example the ObjData you use right now has the name ObjData, lets say you want to use a other ObjData folder, just rename ObjData to ObjData-org for Original and then you can rename a other ObjData folder to ObjData.

Wow this is not realy clear, but who minds lol
Hodie Mihi Cras Tibi

lsbc
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 78
Joined: 06 May 2012 03:21

Re: chicago locomotive works

Post by lsbc » 10 Apr 2014 19:46

Well for the custom objdat folders I zip them with winrar giving the name of what pack(s) are present. Doing A LOT of modding and playing this keeps things a bit neater. I do both and have backup of game download and objdats saved to separate hard drive and a CD. Locomotion and backup are the keys to the fun of the game.

User avatar
Greyfox
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 369
Joined: 19 Jun 2009 14:47
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: chicago locomotive works

Post by Greyfox » 11 Apr 2014 00:20

Hello Zimmlock,

Nice to see you are still around. Copy folder?...yes, yes. I used your method a long time ago, but had problems. I changed Objdata folders, doing all of the necessary renaming, and all sorts of strange things happened, such as being taken back to the desktop, error messages relating to missing dat files. So I reverted to my current method with no problems.

As I said in my previous post, it works for me. But as many of us know, what works for one doesn't mean that it will work for another. Maybe it's an OS problem, not sure, I've never taken the time to track it down. But it appears to me that many problems in Lomo are caused by corrupted dat files. Moving files around frequently on your harddrive can cause corruption.

@Isbc: Nice to see that you are well organised on this subject. Obviously your method works for you.

Thanks guys for helping out with this problem from Locofan1227. Hope everything works for him/her in the future.

Cheers. :)
Windows 10 discussion here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=72527
Looking for AMI trains, Chicago Locomotive Works, etc: You'll find your needs here: http://www.locomotiondepot.net/
__________________________
"Don't badger the Badger"....(Retired Moderator)

OpenRailer90
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 163
Joined: 17 Aug 2013 02:42

Re: chicago locomotive works

Post by OpenRailer90 » 05 Aug 2014 18:23

In case you do not back up your Objdata, I found a ZIP file with all the DATS backed up:

https://onedrive.live.com/?cid=ae2c4afb ... 9827%21519#

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Beginners”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest