Adding Trains to Existing Scenarios

Are you a beginner with Locomotion? Learn the basics here.

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Post Reply
KJP1990
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 13 Feb 2014 22:03

Adding Trains to Existing Scenarios

Post by KJP1990 » 13 Feb 2014 22:19

Hey All,

This is my first post! lol.. Anyway, I was wondering how to add the trains downloaded in the packs from this site to the existing scenarios in the game. So instead of using the simple models from the game you can use some of the great ones from the packs?

I am a Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 person and have successfully added new rides to different in game scenarios but haven't been able to add any of the trains to this game..

User avatar
Emperor Darth Sidious
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1097
Joined: 07 May 2006 20:22
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Adding Trains to Existing Scenarios

Post by Emperor Darth Sidious » 14 Feb 2014 00:12

Welcome to the forums KJP1990 :wink: !

I'm like you, into RCT2 as well...I still play it a lot and I once designed the Titanic-Scenario for the game, does that sound familiar ?

If you know how to insert new things to RCT2 then you must know how that's done in locomotion. It goes the same way...

To use the new vehicles in the existing scenarios, you must open up the scenario in the scenario-editor (the globe on the far right in the main game menu), then point with your mouse on the save-disk icon and select "Load landscape". Next, point your mouse to the yellow folder icon with the arrow pointing up on the right and select a scenario from the list of excisting scenarios.

The landscape from the excisting scenario will now be opened.

Next, select the vehicles that you have downloaded (a maximum of 224 vehicles can be selected) and when your done with the selection of all the things that you want to choose go and save your scenario (one small advice, I suggest that you give the "new scenario" another name) and when you're done select your newly edited scenario from the globe on the far left in the main game menu and play the game.

You will now be able to play with your new vehicles.

By the way, here are a few links to other topics that you may find usefull, and they give your game a nice boost !

"Here you can find most, if not all packs that are released for Locomotion"
A great list wich Illegal Alien, one of the people behind some of the greatest mods for locomotion has put together. Worth a visit !
http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=19614

"How to add things to Road, Normal Gauge & Narrow Gauge?"
Another great topic by Illegal Alien for new players wich proved very usefull. Here's where I learned the basics for adding things to the game. Also worth a visit !
http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=29348

"Problem with Bridges"
If you have a problem with bridges or other things to add to the game you can take some time to check my topic on "Problem with bridges". A detailed topic which can be of some use for newbies or people who need help with adding stuff to their game:
http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... th+bridges

"The Long Station Patch"
A brilliant patch for Locomotion created by Banjobeni and Crispy. Crispy gave me (Emperor Darth Sidious) permission to upload it here on the forums. With it you can create much, much longer stations in your game and this topic gives a lot of details of how to get it running:
http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=50627

"The Valuables Mod V3.0"
The Valuables mod is my biggest (and most succesfull) mod so far. Information and download can be found in the topic. It's a mod that brings all kind of valuables to the game. There are a few members from the tt-forums who helped me a lot with this mod, after all it was a worth it. By a lot of members this was requested after the 2.0 version was removed from the forums. A truly must have mod for Locomotion:
http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=65622

"The Food Mod"
This mod is an extensive mod for foodproduction and transport. It's still a WIP, but worth a look. This is not yet up for release but will probably released before the end of the year.
http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=66368

Have fun exploring, adding and playing the game !

Regards,

Erik

KJP1990
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 13 Feb 2014 22:03

Re: Adding Trains to Existing Scenarios

Post by KJP1990 » 14 Feb 2014 02:55

Thank you so much!! :bow: I figured it would be similar because the games run on the same engine (no pun intended) but the icons are a little different and are in different places lol. I always screw up where the stations are so I have loose buses and trains running around until I cement them into place...

Thanks for all the links as well, I'll check them out!!


User avatar
Emperor Darth Sidious
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1097
Joined: 07 May 2006 20:22
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Adding Trains to Existing Scenarios

Post by Emperor Darth Sidious » 14 Feb 2014 09:54

Hahahahaha, indeed it has...But the only problems I had with it was that I wasn't able to open savegames that where using the Long Station Patch. I used it recently for the savegame from the test-scenario with the food-mod where I changed the normal forest to the coconut-plantation when also using the Long Station Patch. It worked like a clockwork. No errors and I could play the savegame with the new industry, the old forest being removed from the savegame.

Never had any problems with the program in these 10 years :mrgreen: !

User avatar
Greyfox
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 370
Joined: 19 Jun 2009 14:47
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: Adding Trains to Existing Scenarios

Post by Greyfox » 14 Feb 2014 17:45

@EDS: In regards to the LSP, I have noticed in the past that if I used the LSP in saved games that did not have the LSP engaged, it worked. But not all of the time. I think that this was the cause of my recent problems with the dreaded "Access Violation". I have also noticed that adding vehicles to save games can cause the same problem, but not all of the time. It just goes to show that unless the player uses these addons/extras, all to often ignoring the creators instructions, then there are going to be problems. Same old story, "read the ReadMe.txt" first.

These are just my thoughts.

Regards,

Greyfox.
Windows 10 discussion here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=72527
Looking for AMI trains, Chicago Locomotive Works, etc: You'll find your needs here: http://www.locomotiondepot.net/
__________________________
"Don't badger the Badger"....(Retired Moderator)

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Beginners”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests