Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:23 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 6:57 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:55 am
Posts: 40
Is there a way to make the cities grow slower? They grow too fast. If I put a tram service they almost double size in 1 year. That means my service is always bad. If I start to worry about other thing, like creating routes for industry, and I go back to the city it's a mess. Too many people. It's impossible to follow the growth.

In Railroad Tycoon 2 I can choose the economy growth rate. Is there something like this for Locomotion?

Also, there is no demand for Goods? I just deliver them to the city, as much as I want?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:00 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:51 pm
Posts: 275
Location: ´s-Hertogenbosch (AKA "The Duke´s Forest") , the Netherlands
If you want to build in your own speed You could use a little helper program Autopause.
Autopause V1.5 can be found here:
http://www.locomotion-fanpage.net/wbb/i ... tem&id=374

You can set the program that it "auto" pause the game after each click with the mouse some where in the landscape (on/off with F5 button). That way you have the time to check some other area´s then where you are currently building and you can easily plan ahead because the game is in pause mode.


After the city has grown to a certain level it wil accept goods and / or food. You get a message when the stations in your city´s will accept it.

_________________
Just fold at the dotted line and cut it out with a pair of scissors. If you are under the age of 16 please ask one of your parents or an adult supervisor if she/he can help you.
Image.........................................................................................
ImageImage
The only thing that isn´t very succesfull in the wireless version : Bungee Jumping


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:06 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:55 am
Posts: 40
Thanks for the tip.

Lighthouse wrote:
After the city has grown to a certain level it wil accept goods and / or food. You get a message when the stations in your city´s will accept it.


I know that after a while they require food, but how much? I can just deliver how much I want? No limit?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 6:46 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 1:20 pm
Posts: 471
Location: At the computer, playing Locomotion!
Yeah, no limit, the population in locomotion are very greedy!

_________________
Kingmush, being awkward and trying to mod since 2008.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 1:24 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 12
While not perfect. I'll "mark out" some space for the City to grow into. Thus limiting it's size and it's population. I do this with track running towards the city. The city will build roads right up to your "markers" but then won't be able to cross it due to the track. Can do this to mark out a future station area too and let the city grow around it.

Like I said, not perfect, but it works.

-Deewalla


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 2:59 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:55 am
Posts: 40
Deewalla wrote:
While not perfect. I'll "mark out" some space for the City to grow into. Thus limiting it's size and it's population. I do this with track running towards the city.
-Deewalla


I don't understand how is the algorithm of the cities in this game.
When I build a tram track, in a while the city start to grow real fast. Just the tram track and soon the city become metropolis. And this is not nice, that's why I became this topic.

Now I put stations in the city, and serve them with everything: passengers, mail, food and goods and they are stuck. No grow, or very slow grow.
Maybe it's because of where I put the train station. In the middle of the city, of course, to reach more people. But now the city doesn't grow. Where should I put the station then?

It grow too fast or doesn't grow at all. What is wrong with this game?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:58 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 7:01 am
Posts: 574
Location: /home/root
I think one of the biggest factors in city growth could be the number of passenger journeys. When you've got trams running, you usually get more "passenger journeys" than with conventional rail/etc. I think buses have the same effect if they don't get lost/stuck/whatever, as happens occasionally. Plus the strange routes they sometimes take through cities.

_________________
In exile until I have time to live again.

[WIP] (on hold) - QLD Narrow Gauge Set/Sugar Cane Plantation
[WIP/Beta] (on hold) - Sydney Cityrail Platforms
[WIP]NSW Rollingstock


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 1:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:35 pm
Posts: 3843
Skype: tommietomato1
Location: South London and Pembroke Dock.
If I remember, there is a boundary post which is visible in creator but invisible in player on the fanpage. Its worth a look, I don't know if this is what you are looking for exactly.

_________________
|flickr|Facebook|Steam|British Trainz Forum|UKTrainSim|UK Bus set for Locomotion|My OTTD Screenies|World of Trucks|
I have a self-confessed obsession the How To Train Your Dragon series.
Proud to have the most name-changes on this forum! More recently known as Aycliffe.
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:14 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:55 am
Posts: 40
73129 wrote:
If I remember, there is a boundary post which is visible in creator but invisible in player on the fanpage. Its worth a look, I don't know if this is what you are looking for exactly.


Which post? I don't see it. There is a link? If the post is invisible I will never see it.
Sorry if I don't understood you correctly but english is not my first language.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:16 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 8:07 pm
Posts: 7822
Location: Kingdom of Far Far Away
See the datcrawler, in the "other" section.

and i quote:

Quote:
ID: 65
Boundary Marker
.dat filename: BLDSTOP
Description: This is a little tool for Route style maps. It allows the map builder to set a route through a square map to give the illusion of a larger map by placing boundaries where he would like to prevent the player from passing through.
Author: Chicago Locomotive Works / Plastikman
Object Type: Other
Date Added to database: 2009-12-22 13:17:16
Website / Download / Discussion: viewtopic.php?f=40&t=44708


And some other variations.

_________________
:: Looking for the Locomotion section? Scroll down on the forum index or click here. :: See all releases in Locomotion section? Clicky here! :: Click here for the best tool ever! :: .datCrawler try it! ::
Following roadmap for releases: Whats a roadmap?
Releases of LocoTrains can be found by checking the posts of:
LocoTrains - Goold old AMI Trains member of the first hour.
I have Private Messaging disabled, because of the stupid questions i get in my PM box.
Want to talk to me? Get on the #tycoon and #locomotion channel on OFTC thingy. :: Evolution of men: Loosing more braincells, everytime you post...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:29 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 3:42 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia, Oyster Pond
Yes, I find that too. I just put up with it.

_________________
Toren Hynes
"Proudly Canadian"
If you happen to be using Trainz, you can get to me on the Trainz Discussion Forum under the username "TorenHynes"


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 5:32 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 12:15 am
Posts: 7
Are there any mods that fix this? I've been toying with putting railtrack everywhere to stop them building too much, but this is expensive and time consuming. At the moment it seems pointless playing beyond 20 years or so as towns get too big for the size of vehicles so quickly.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:15 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 8:07 pm
Posts: 7822
Location: Kingdom of Far Far Away
Erm read the topic? answer is no.

_________________
:: Looking for the Locomotion section? Scroll down on the forum index or click here. :: See all releases in Locomotion section? Clicky here! :: Click here for the best tool ever! :: .datCrawler try it! ::
Following roadmap for releases: Whats a roadmap?
Releases of LocoTrains can be found by checking the posts of:
LocoTrains - Goold old AMI Trains member of the first hour.
I have Private Messaging disabled, because of the stupid questions i get in my PM box.
Want to talk to me? Get on the #tycoon and #locomotion channel on OFTC thingy. :: Evolution of men: Loosing more braincells, everytime you post...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 6:50 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:09 am
Posts: 62
Location: Middle America
lemming3k wrote:
Are there any mods that fix this? I've been toying with putting railtrack everywhere to stop them building too much, but this is expensive and time consuming. At the moment it seems pointless playing beyond 20 years or so as towns get too big for the size of vehicles so quickly.

Depends on your definition of "fix". My definition can be found right below.

_________________
Corral those nutty peeps with a Boundary Fence
Replace wimpy steamer sounds with Steamer Sound Kit


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 10:17 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 12:15 am
Posts: 7
Illegal_Alien wrote:
Erm read the topic? answer is no.

I did. Sidetracked into "autopause" talk, followed by goods/food delivery and discussion about various growthspeed tricks, but nobody actually came out and said there was no mod or way to edit files to fix the issue. Thanks for clarifying.
Krakr wrote:
lemming3k wrote:
Are there any mods that fix this? I've been toying with putting railtrack everywhere to stop them building too much, but this is expensive and time consuming. At the moment it seems pointless playing beyond 20 years or so as towns get too big for the size of vehicles so quickly.

Depends on your definition of "fix". My definition can be found right below.

Well ideally a mod/file/algorithm edit - but I know that might not be possible so I think a fence might have to do! Thanks I'll have to download it.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 1:24 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 3:42 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia, Oyster Pond
lemming3k wrote:
Are there any mods that fix this? I've been toying with putting railtrack everywhere to stop them building too much, but this is expensive and time consuming. At the moment it seems pointless playing beyond 20 years or so as towns get too big for the size of vehicles so quickly.

Why does Atari not release a patch that fixes this problem?

_________________
Toren Hynes
"Proudly Canadian"
If you happen to be using Trainz, you can get to me on the Trainz Discussion Forum under the username "TorenHynes"


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 1:36 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:34 pm
Posts: 856
It's been talked about before. Chris and Atari had an incident that made Chris leave taking the rights to modify the exe with him.
Gamasutra.com wrote:
it's believed that Sawyer still owns the original IP to the game series.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:32 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:13 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Middlesbrough
If you have the cash going spare you could try building an elevated railway around the town which is only 1 high (I don't know what the professional term for raising and lowering the land is) so that the roads can't pass under it, preventing the city from expanding beyond it. Obviously it would look a bit silly but you could always add some stations use it as a perimeter railway or something.

_________________
Mr. Brunel's billiard table


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 8:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1095
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
In that case the best thing to use is Krakr's Boundry fence. Unlike the Boundry marker this one is removebla in the game if you want the town to expand you just replace the fence and the town can grow bigger.

I use this tool in all of my games and I love it !

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cities grow too fast
PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:34 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:57 pm
Posts: 557
Opan wrote:
It's been talked about before. Chris and Atari had an incident that made Chris leave taking the rights to modify the exe with him.
Gamasutra.com wrote:
it's believed that Sawyer still owns the original IP to the game series.


Right I have been doing some digging at TESS ( US Trademark Electronic Search System ) and found out the following.

Atari, 469 trademarks listed, Locomotion is not shown amongst them
CS, 3 trademarks listed , two for Rollercoaster Tycoon, 1 for Transport Tycoon
Info games has two, Microprose and Falcon
Microprose, 109 records

In short if CS does own the rights to Locomotion it was not trademarked in the US at that time under that mark and also the UK trademark office does not show any entry for Locomotion registered to Atari Europe S.A.S.U
In short the bit about all of the trademarks being the property of their respective owners seems to be a misnomer in this case

If Locomotion is not going to get any official support from Atari or CS maybe we should now finally push for it to be made open source. That way we can edit out the bugs that we know exist in the game and can improve it with official sanction to make it more user friendly and reliable.
Before you say I am going off topic Badger what I was trying to say is that CS is independently very wealthy from the RTC series by all accounts and this game probably hasn't crossed the consciousness of his management company for several years except when they were asked to allow the long station patch, etc to be developed.

_________________
Don't touch that rail!

Scenario's Done are

Broken Hills at the Rivers Mouth viewtopic.php?f=39&t=49627, Sinn River viewtopic.php?f=39&t=49626, Flat Lands viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37704, Mountain High River Deep viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37412, River Valley and Rock viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37135, First Attempt viewtopic.php?f=39&t=34097 Cwm Valley viewtopic.php?f=39&t=34049&hilit=cwm+valley


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.