Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Mar 20, 2019 12:48 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3422 posts ]  Go to page Previous 145 46 47 48 49172 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 11:42 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Re: George
Ahhh, river bugs. There are many, and some insurmountable!
I am strongly against redrawing the coasts to match the rivers, I love lepkkas shores! A redraw would reduce the obviousness of the bugs, but could not remove them, try the rivers with the default terrain to see what I mean.

In my modified version of your screenshot:
1. Pink circles: Completely unavoidable, and possibly worthy of a bug report. The river tiles, despite being at sea level and bordered by 3 water tiles still have "corners".
2. Green circles: IMO the correct behaviour. Ideally i would like an altitude varaction2 property for canals which lets you alter the bank graphics when sloping down to sea level, which would allow seamless transistion from river bank to shore. May cause bugs with other sea level rivers though.
3. Peach circle: Debatably the correct behaviour, but an altitude varaction2 property would allow shore graphics to be given to sea level river banks like this one for a more consistent look...

I'll have a proper look at the bugs and see if I can suggest a suitable patch to fix them, redrawing graphics won't particularly help....


Attachments:
screenshot mod.PNG [228.03 KiB]
Downloaded 450 times

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 12:20 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:43 am
Posts: 1588
Zephyris wrote:
Ideally i would like an altitude varaction2 property for canals

Like the one that is already there?

_________________
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 12:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Is that the "height above ground" property mentioned here? In that case I shall make some riverbanks for sea level, with banks like the coastline, and hopefully get a nice transition on the sloped banks down to sea level...

*edit* What about this "bug":
Quote:
1. Pink circles: Completely unavoidable, and possibly worthy of a bug report. The river tiles, despite being at sea level and bordered by 3 water tiles still have "corners".
I can see the logic used: It is a river tile, so has river banks. If there is land on the adjacent tile (including diagonally adjacent) draw the appropriate riverbank. Is there any way to tweak this so seawater overrides drawing of banks adjacent (excluding diagonally adjacent) to them?

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 3:02 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:14 pm
Posts: 37
Here we go then, a full set of signal lights for all climes! :D
Working from Soeb and buttercups' previous GRFs (and nsignalsw.grf), I've managed to mash together the GRF myself. :)

Have I missed anything?

-- Edit --
Fixed the Toyland signals - ta buttercup. :)


Attachments:
OpenGFX_-_newSignals_v0.4.png
OpenGFX_-_newSignals_v0.4.png [ 3.95 KiB | Viewed 3045 times ]
File comment: Attempt #2
OpenGFX_-_newSignals_v0.4.grf [11.26 KiB]
Downloaded 667 times


Last edited by Raumkraut on Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 5:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4306
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Zephyris wrote:
Re: George
Ahhh, river bugs. There are many, and some insurmountable!
I am strongly against redrawing the coasts to match the rivers, I love lepkkas shores!
Well, IMHO they do not fit these rivers, so I'd like not to see them this way

Zephyris wrote:
A redraw would reduce the obviousness of the bugs, but could not remove them, try the rivers with the default terrain to see what I mean.
They fit better than Lepkka's ones and I suppose it should be possible to provide a version that fits even better.

Zephyris wrote:
I'll have a proper look at the bugs and see if I can suggest a suitable patch to fix them, redrawing graphics won't particularly help....
I think because river sprites expand shore to the water, sea shore should behave (look) the same.

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 6:03 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:19 pm
Posts: 130
Zephyris, this is what the canals look like at the moment:
Attachment:
canals.png
canals.png [ 107.35 KiB | Viewed 3267 times ]

Raumkraut, in the Toyland signal GUI, the pre-signals are misaligned by a pixel:
Attachment:
signalgui.png
signalgui.png [ 3.9 KiB | Viewed 3255 times ]


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 6:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:45 pm
Posts: 11491
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility - New Mexico
I posted this earlier also but I think I posted it in transparent. :tongue:

Anyway, weren't the canal and lock graphics already original sprites since those were made by the community and not by Chris Sawyers team :?: :)

_________________
Image
Authority is something you deserve, not something you impose. -Wile E. Coyote (TT-Forums member)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 6:36 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:19 pm
Posts: 130
As I understand it, the existing canals and locks were based on the original game textures. Since the textures need to be remade, so too do the canals and locks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
Would it be possible to have the river banks somewhat more irregular? At the moment, its all straight lines, and looks a lot like brown-edged canals. A bit more irregularity - like the coastlines have, would look superb.

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:24 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 12:32 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Barcelona
George wrote:
Zephyris wrote:
Re: George
Ahhh, river bugs. There are many, and some insurmountable!
I am strongly against redrawing the coasts to match the rivers, I love lepkkas shores!
Well, IMHO they do not fit these rivers, so I'd like not to see them this way

Zephyris wrote:
A redraw would reduce the obviousness of the bugs, but could not remove them, try the rivers with the default terrain to see what I mean.
They fit better than Lepkka's ones and I suppose it should be possible to provide a version that fits even better.

Zephyris wrote:
I'll have a proper look at the bugs and see if I can suggest a suitable patch to fix them, redrawing graphics won't particularly help....
I think because river sprites expand shore to the water, sea shore should behave (look) the same.


Previous versions of my shores will fit, the ones not using the 05 0d action. But then all the work made by lakie its useless. I't going backwards. I strongly recommend changing rivers code, just a different riverbank for sea-line shores.

_________________
current project:
new water tiles
viewtopic.php?t=21365&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:30 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 12:32 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Barcelona
richk67 wrote:
Would it be possible to have the river banks somewhat more irregular? At the moment, its all straight lines, and looks a lot like brown-edged canals. A bit more irregularity - like the coastlines have, would look superb.


that's possible, but won't fit with any (mine or others) irregular shores: they need the sea to be drawn on the sloped-beached tiles

_________________
current project:
new water tiles
viewtopic.php?t=21365&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:21 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 973
Location: Gamle Ørnenuten
Nice job on the signals Raumkraut! Now I hope someone will soon make a new headquarter for us :wink:

_________________
..: Trond :.. because you deserve it! Image

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves,
and wiser people so full of doubts.
Bertrand Russell

MyGRFs: Norwegian Funny Town Names 4 | LOTR & WoW Town Names 2 | Islandic Town Names 1 | Random Norwegian Town Names
Favorites: GRFCrawler | ISR | WIKI | Now Playing: OpenTTD 1.3.2 w/YAPP 3.0-RC3.9ish


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:50 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 3903
Location: Ontario, Canada
Revised Battery Icon


Attachments:
Battery.png
Battery.png [ 569 Bytes | Viewed 2792 times ]

_________________
Regards,

Dan MacKellar
================
Projects in Progress
North American Renewal Train Set Topic,Canadian Train Set Website, Canadian Train Set Development Topic, Finnish Train Set Website,Visit my Train Gifs Site
Image
CN Boxcar drawn by Dave Hersrud
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 7:02 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 973
Location: Gamle Ørnenuten
New version with the revised battery icon.


Attachments:
OpenGFX_-_newCargoIcons_v0.15.grf [2.47 KiB]
Downloaded 619 times

_________________
..: Trond :.. because you deserve it! Image

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves,
and wiser people so full of doubts.
Bertrand Russell

MyGRFs: Norwegian Funny Town Names 4 | LOTR & WoW Town Names 2 | Islandic Town Names 1 | Random Norwegian Town Names
Favorites: GRFCrawler | ISR | WIKI | Now Playing: OpenTTD 1.3.2 w/YAPP 3.0-RC3.9ish
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:17 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Purno wrote:
Would my TGV graphics be of any use for this set?

(and perhaps there's more interesting stuff at http://users.tt-forums.net/2cc/sprites/ )

Ofcourse :)
I'm starting to code it now, if I may :)

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:45 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 973
Location: Gamle Ørnenuten
Talking abot that... Did anyone agree on how the sets should be? Just a pure GFX replacement with no stats altered, or one with new stats? My preference is the first one... I think we shall stay true to that part of the game (for now?) and just replace the graphics with better gfx (and for the question of copyrights).. DanmacK have also made a lot of gfx for trains I believe...

_________________
..: Trond :.. because you deserve it! Image

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves,
and wiser people so full of doubts.
Bertrand Russell

MyGRFs: Norwegian Funny Town Names 4 | LOTR & WoW Town Names 2 | Islandic Town Names 1 | Random Norwegian Town Names
Favorites: GRFCrawler | ISR | WIKI | Now Playing: OpenTTD 1.3.2 w/YAPP 3.0-RC3.9ish


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 12:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Trond wrote:
Talking abot that... Did anyone agree on how the sets should be? Just a pure GFX replacement with no stats altered, or one with new stats? My preference is the first one... I think we shall stay true to that part of the game (for now?) and just replace the graphics with better gfx (and for the question of copyrights).. DanmacK have also made a lot of gfx for trains I believe...

hmm.. Ok I think you are right.. So I made a little actionA sprite replacement :)
Attachment:
tim.png
tim.png [ 11.71 KiB | Viewed 2580 times ]
Attachment:
OpenGFX_-_newVehicles_TIM--TGV_v0.1.grf [1.59 KiB]
Downloaded 666 times


the livery override and that stuff will come as opengfx+ and will be a new engine, not actionA.
madis

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:08 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 3:43 pm
Posts: 100
Location: Switzerland
Can't you make one big board at the normal signals (and not two round boards)? like at the screen.
Two round boards looks ugly for me...

and I think the presignals should have the same high than the normal signals...


Attachments:
signal.PNG
signal.PNG [ 384 Bytes | Viewed 2307 times ]

_________________
Sorry for my bad english!

Wi wärs mitämä bsüächli uf minere Siitä http://www.ttdx.ch.vu?
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:56 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 3:10 pm
Posts: 277
It looks good for me. And no - pre-signals need to be higher then the signals.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:35 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:21 pm
Posts: 2134
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland
Regarding vehicle replacement.

Firstly, we need to acknolwedge that the new vehicle set must be built on top of the existing ones to remain backward compatible with old savegames. For instance we can add more locos, but the replacements for vanilla ttd locos must remain on their place ID wise and more or less stat wise.

This creates a problem with tenders (minor one) and tractive effort (more important one).

Should we add generations of train cars, or just add time based livery change (better because it is simpler)?
Should car/loco lengths differ or be set at 8/8? (test for compatibility is required)
Should we keep rail/mono/mag? Should the next tech outplace the previous? Or should all lines be expanded?

We can use 2CC, trunk ottd supports it.

There is a chance that we are going to have a significant increase in free IDs, so how many locos do we want (LOTS, of course :P)

Which start date we want to use? 1900? 1800? 1850?

Now which theme we want to use for each climate?
Temprate - Europe/Russia?
Arctic - North America?
Tropic - South America/Africa/India/Australia?

Now - planes are still missing, we need ships, more of them...

The keyword is compatibility tho - we can expand, but cannot remove anything from vanilla TTD.

_________________
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3422 posts ]  Go to page Previous 145 46 47 48 49172 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.