Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2019 5:07 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3422 posts ]  Go to page Previous 123 24 25 26 27172 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
okei, my last post for today...

Here is the two files i will be working on, and with proper names, i think.

1st one is simply Action A new trains. Currently
Maglev 4 'Chimaera' - maglev train
'SH 125' - Diesel train

2nd contain both engines, but with livery override for some wagons. currently
Chimaera; pax,mail,goods,valuables
SH 125: pax

Question;
Should i make the 3 other "express" style wagons for the SH125 as well, mainly after i've improved it more. Next grapics will probably be tomorrow, if i can find the time.
Im planning on makeing more "MU's", and should theese also include the express goods?


Attachments:
OpenGFX_-_NewTrains-7of9_v0.5.grf [3.42 KiB]
Downloaded 715 times
OpenGFX_-_Livery_Override_for_PAX-trains_v0.2.grf [6.35 KiB]
Downloaded 636 times
hst125-3.PNG
hst125-3.PNG [ 18.06 KiB | Viewed 4049 times ]

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Last edited by DJ Nekkid on Fri Jan 11, 2008 11:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:45 pm
Posts: 11491
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility - New Mexico
I see in the wiki that the canals and locks are to be redone aswell, but aren't they already original sprites since those were made by the community and not by Chris Sawyer :?:

_________________
Image
Authority is something you deserve, not something you impose. -Wile E. Coyote (TT-Forums member)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 12:16 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
Quote:
Should i make the 3 other "express" style wagons for the SH125...

Uop to you 7of9. You already know my opinion: The more the best! :mrgreen:

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 6:04 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
athanasios wrote:
Quote:
Should i make the 3 other "express" style wagons for the SH125...

Uop to you 7of9. You already know my opinion: The more the best! :mrgreen:


got'cha

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 6:50 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
DAMN IT! This is unthinkable. :evil:

Depots do not accept CC in all of their sprites. (I refer to inner wall sprites.)

Please, can a coder provide some information and probably give a hand?

regards
athanasios

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:58 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 2:05 pm
Posts: 876
Zephyris wrote:
I have updated the fruit and water wagons to be more distinctive.

Re: Desolator
Could you be more specific? See attached for a comparison between the original and my graphics.


OK, most of the cars that aren't flatbed are lacking some shading, for example the coal one.

The water car doesn't look like a tanker at all to me. Maybe making the edges a bit more visible, a little shading and some loading holes. The oil one seems to have the tanker a bit too small, but maybe that's just me.

IMO they're all not as good as other sprites, but in general they're very close, just some touching needed.

EDIT: I wish phpBB would be threaded.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 11:15 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
Did some grapical updates to the SH125.
* More contrast on windows in certain views
* Added a pinstripe inbetween the wagons in all views
* Fixed (i think?) the viewes i were not too happy with
* Added some noise to the wagons in sertain views
* Added express wagon override

Updated the post further up with new grf's, they also contain the Chimaera

Next up is the TVG i think, either that or EuroStar

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 12:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1166
Location: Sydney, AUS
7of9 wrote:
...'SH 125' - Diesel train...
Image

Hi 7of9, the sort order on the carriages is wrong at the top of the hill. I dont know if ots a bug, if not, then obviously it needs top go to the back! :D
Otherwise, that's looking nice. 8)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 12:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
it is probably "just" a matter of pretty wierd offsets :)

what would be a "normalized" offset?

currently it have theese;

Code:
-1 sprites/sprites/mus/sh125.pcx 2   40 01 23 9  -4 -12
-1 sprites/sprites/mus/sh125.pcx 42  40 01 17 22 -11 -9
-1 sprites/sprites/mus/sh125.pcx 82  40 01 12 32 -16 -6
-1 sprites/sprites/mus/sh125.pcx 122 40 01 17 22 -11 -9
-1 sprites/sprites/mus/sh125.pcx 162 40 01 23 9  -4 -12
-1 sprites/sprites/mus/sh125.pcx 202 40 01 17 22 -11 -9
-1 sprites/sprites/mus/sh125.pcx 242 40 01 12 32 -15 -6
-1 sprites/sprites/mus/sh125.pcx 282 40 01 16 22 -11 -8

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:49 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
7of9 wrote:
what would be a "normalized" offset?

The ones that you would copy from trg1r.nfo?
As far as I know, there are no 'normalized' offsets. I usually start with centering a vehicle: i.e. sprite offset = negative value of (sprite size divided by 2). Work from that to get it correctly on the tracks.


[canals and locks]
I added that to the list, because it looks like they use parts from the default dock. It might be wise to figure out who has drawn those canal/lock sprites (George, IIRC) and ask if it's a derived work, or drawn completely from scratch. In case of the latter, we don't have to replace anything.


[depot and CC]
I'll look into that later today. If it's true that no CC can be used in the 'inside' sprite, we have to live with that. There's no way of fixing that through GRF/NFO.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
i should stop asking so stupid questions i guess ... no wait, there are no stupid questions, only stupid people, mmkey? ;)

well, my offsets seems ok, tho all numbers are rounded down.

And; they are actually your work in the first place FooBar, from the MX3k set you coded for me to learn some nfo...

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
FooBar wrote:
[depot and CC]
I'll look into that later today. If it's true that no CC can be used in the 'inside' sprite, we have to live with that. There's no way of fixing that through GRF/NFO.

Should be possible. Its no different to the code below for the hangars in my airport grfs.

Code:
// 03 Old Hangar
         4A 0A 00 00  //tarmac below
               0E 00 00 02 10 1C 61 8A 00 80 // hangar front
               00 00 00 02 10 1C 62 8A 00 80 // hangar side
            80

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
richk67 wrote:
...the code below for the hangars in my airport grfs.
Could you please try and explain that code. I don't quite understand that...


7of9 wrote:
And; they are actually your work in the first place FooBar, from the MX3k set you coded for me to learn some nfo...

Well, that might have worked for the MX3000, but that doesn't imply those numbers work for another vehicle. And maybe I didn't even align the MX3000 properly; I don't remember :D

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
Sorry, yeah, bit of a severe cut in that cut/paste.

Its a sprite definition from a (Action0Station) Prop 09 sprite layout
The first line is the ground tile sprite.
The second is the hangar sprite on top of the ground. The 8A is the important part, where the 8 indicates that it is drawn with CC.
The third line is the inner wall of the hangar. Again, I draw it with CC, although it is technically unnecessary.

It would need to be checked whether the depot inner wall is drawn with CC in the code of OTTD. It might, it might not. If not, then there should be no problem changing OTTD to support it correctly.

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
7of9 wrote:
And; they are actually your work in the first place FooBar, from the MX3k set you coded for me to learn some nfo...

Well, that might have worked for the MX3000, but that doesn't imply those numbers work for another vehicle. And maybe I didn't even align the MX3000 properly; I don't remember :D[/quote]


well, we can align things when we need to, right now do i focus on the sprites, not so much on the offsets :)


anyway, im staring on the TVG now, but im not too sure on what style i should go for ... the original orange with the white stripe and black around the windows (1st generation TVG afaik) (orange should be CC)
or the slightly newer TGV-Réseau witch are mainly gray, but have CC around the windows.

Original orange
Reseau

Tho, i am tilting a bit towards the Reseau tho, but i heavent made up my mind yet. It is grayer, but it it also cleaner and will stand out more i think... Hard one :)

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Thanks. Now it starts to make sense to me.
But...In case of an airport, the hangar is part of a station, so Action0Stations makes complete sense to me. In case of a road vehicle depot, the depot is not part of a station, so I really doubt if Action0 would be of any use...

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
The Prop 09 definition is used widely within both newgrf and OTTD. The road depot is defined within table\road_land.h, and you can see how that relates to the Prop 09 format. It looks from that as though the inner wall is NOT drawn in CC by OTTD. However, if you look at table\track_land.h, those depots are drawn with inner wall in CC. Its a minor code mod.

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Last edited by richk67 on Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:38 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 3:10 pm
Posts: 277
Well, I've worked on rail fences. A lot of bugs are fixed but still some exist. Why? Because sometimes when one bug is fixed second is created.


Attachments:
OpenGFX_-_newInfrastructure_-_Fences_v0.6.grf [2.28 KiB]
Downloaded 589 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
I still think they are really good - they tile perfectly in the / | and \ directions. Plus I think they look great!

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:17 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
richk67 wrote:
The Prop 09 definition is used widely within both newgrf and OTTD. The road depot is defined within table\road_land.h, and you can see how that relates to the Prop 09 format. It looks from that as though the inner wall is NOT drawn in CC by OTTD. However, if you look at table\track_land.h, those depots are drawn with inner wall in CC. Its a minor code mod.

Would you be willing to submit a patch to change that behaviour. I could try and do it myself, but that would probably take another half a year or so, because I'd have to learn C(++) first :wink:


@Soeb:
Would you mind if I tried myself to align your fences the way I think it should be possible?

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3422 posts ]  Go to page Previous 123 24 25 26 27172 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.