Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2019 10:12 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3422 posts ]  Go to page Previous 116 17 18 19 20172 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Nickman wrote:
This is looking really great!
Some nice grf's have been made ;).

I would like to make a suggestion for the wiki:

Maybe it would be a good idea to upload the real graphics files (in png or wathever you guys use?) somwhere so they don't get lost in the progress?
Also, I think it would be better if you could provide download links on the wiki? Or is the plan to make one big .grf file when all is done?

Anyway, keep up the good work!!

Check the first post before you post...

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:13 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 11:07 pm
Posts: 66
I did check the first post, and it sais nothing about my questions/suggestions about the wiki page... ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Well, links to download locations are actually in the wiki already. Just click the number after each entry and it will take you to the location.

And that means that the real graphics are already uploaded somewhere: they're inside the grf files and easy to get out of it. I was not planning on uploading my working file somewhere. That's a complete mess, and probably not useful to anyone...

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Nickman wrote:
I did check the first post, and it sais nothing about my questions/suggestions about the wiki page... ;)

There is a link to wiki..In wiki there is table. In that table there is a tab -> link...Under that, you see something like this [7] or sth... click it and be impressed..;)

7of9...I tried it out and it seems you are right :(..I post the grf here so maybe someone can test it on TTDPatch...If thee it's ok, then it's time for another bug-report..And if it IS a bug, it seems to be very old..I downloaded an ancient nightly (r8396) to test it but the problem stayed...

EDIT: and for guys who demand another screenshot or don't know what I'm talking about..

EDIT2. Removed GRF because there could be guys who start asking why this isn't listed in the second post.


Attachments:
chimeara_problem.png
chimeara_problem.png [ 37.85 KiB | Viewed 4520 times ]

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Last edited by LordAzamath on Sun Jan 06, 2008 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:45 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
Please post (a link to) the original PCX file used for the first encoding; it may have been malformed.

In any case, GRFCodec did not like it. Massage it through The GIMP, or ensure its width is a multiple of 4.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 7:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Yes, thanks DaleStan.. I made it to be 80*400 and all problems were gone.. So 7of9, I won't be coding it again :) I would need to put the offsets right.. Just make sure your dimensions are multiple of 4.

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 7:06 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
the original is about 10 posts back :) but ill try to use the mutiple-of-4 thing :)

edit;

one file was 319 tiles wide, when i made it 320 the problem were gone :)

edit again; here is a grf with the maglev. The engine is Action A'ed, and the wagons are Action 1+2+3+0 since they are shared with monorail.

Screenie on how it looks in the terrain as well :)
But; is it just me, or are there a slight "wierd" artifact on the grasstiles where i've circled it out?


Attachments:
File comment: Graphic File
8bbp-chimera.pcx [21.06 KiB]
Downloaded 86 times
mag-done.PNG
mag-done.PNG [ 43.05 KiB | Viewed 6240 times ]
OpenGFX_-_newTrains_-_maglev_v0.2.grf [3.03 KiB]
Downloaded 671 times

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Last edited by DJ Nekkid on Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 7:57 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
7of9 wrote:
the original is about 10 posts back :) but ill try to use the mutiple-of-4 thing :)

edit;

one file was 319 tiles wide, when i made it 320 the problem were gone :)

edit again; here is a grf with the maglev. The engine is Action A'ed, and the wagons are Action 1+2+3+0 since they are shared with monorail.

Screenie on how it looks in the terrain as well :)
But; is it just me, or are there a slight "wierd" artifact on the grasstiles where i've circled it out?


But those wagons..do they refit for chimeara only? because still other lev trains use that wagon..hmm gonna try that out. :)

EDIT: And for naming convention I would suggest OpenGFX_-_newTrains_-_maglev_v0.1.grf ;)

EDIT: I think you should make other maglevs then too :)...and wagons ;)


Attachments:
File comment: :)
muhaw.png
muhaw.png [ 7.45 KiB | Viewed 4370 times ]

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
edited to fit a "proper" name, and no, atm all maglev trains use the sprites for pax+mail+armor :) it's temporary or something anyway. Atleast until something else is drawn and coded.

Perhaps I should draw a general pax/mail/armored wagon next :)

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
You can draw white wagons too...And make other maglevs somewhat white...or atleast ending with white and stripe...

BTW, what's the difference in armored and post wagons?

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
graphicly, nothing...

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 9:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
And now for something completely different. Maglev stations! Try to spot a straight line in those roofs :wink:


Attachments:
station-maglev.png
station-maglev.png [ 11.7 KiB | Viewed 4292 times ]

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 9:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
put a chimera under thoose and see if it fits :)

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 9:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Athanasios..you should update toyland road depot..It has grfID LA13 (13th grf by me, LordAzamath), but this is reserved for Ship Depot...generally a good idea is to make it unique, for you maybe AP (Arthur Pallas) or AT (Athanasios) (and the number..)..Like AT45..Just decode the grf and replace LA13 with your unique ID :)..PS. Don't add spaces there, it has to be w/o spaces.
And newRoadDepots released by you have ID LA13 too...Not good..If you want to use my ID then LA11 is avilable...

EDIT: And Zephyris your latest Toyland terrain shares GrfID with your latest OpenIndustries release...
EDIT: I just looked through it..Your latest newinfrastructure was v0.1 ? I can't find the next one...

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Last edited by LordAzamath on Sun Jan 06, 2008 9:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 9:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
7of9 wrote:
put a chimera under thoose and see if it fits :)

Like this? Seems to fit just nicely :P


Attachments:
station-maglev+train.png
station-maglev+train.png [ 12.66 KiB | Viewed 4254 times ]

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 9:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Why are you teasing us? :( Release it!!! :D We need it..Urgently :D Actually too..
:)

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 9:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
lordazamath wrote:
Why are you teasing us? :( Release it!!! :D We need it..Urgently :D Actually too..
:)

No can do. Other direction is not completely finished yet. And then there's this ugly stuff that happens when you remove one track from a double track station. That needs to be fixed first, because the next GRF will get my 'mark of approval' i.e. it get's a somewhat 'final' status.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Re: richk67
How are you defining a derivative work? Do you mean "drawing the same object"? How much copyright can be claimed of a four walled shed with a ridge roof?

Re: lordazamath
The toyland terrain GRFID clash doesn't matter as newTerrain v0.3 includes all those sprites... And newInfrastructure v0.1 is the latest release, I will release a new one with the complete rail/monorail/maglev/road stations and depots. I think it is a good idea to amalgamate grfs for releases like this for simple distribution of complete graphics sets.

Re: FooBar
Again, really beautiful stuff!
Bugs I have noticed:
Monorail "\" (NW ---> SE) orientation single square wide station doesn't have company colour.
Removing one track from a double rail station doesn't look good, but I assume you know this one!

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1166
Location: Sydney, AUS
Awesome work Gents. Foobar, Im liking the new stations. I especially love the Maglev one!
7of9, super work on the Maglev!

8)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 1:35 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:07 am
Posts: 1884
These stations look awesome :shock:

Maybe the maglev one could use a bit more cc (it has so few compared to the other two...) but other than that, mighty awesome :D

_________________
* @Belugas wonders what is worst... a mom or a wife...
<Lakie> Well, they do the same thing but the code is different.

______________
My patches
check my wiki page (sticky button) for a complete list

ImageImage
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3422 posts ]  Go to page Previous 116 17 18 19 20172 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.