Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Mar 23, 2019 2:10 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3423 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 8172 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2007 1:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Yeah, that would be ideal! Ill design new land/beach overlays to make sure none of the original terrain can remain...

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 2:59 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
The ones in the circle. Also swap 1 or 2 darker pixels where the red arrow points. They form a straight line.

regards
athanasios


Attachments:
spots_and_a_line.png
spots_and_a_line.png [ 210.25 KiB | Viewed 4826 times ]

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:51 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 12:32 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Barcelona
Zephyris wrote:

sooo..... does anyone feel like drawing water? I will gladly make all the coast sprites using the basic water tile, but I am having problems with grfcodec and palettes so I can't reliably draw things with action colours.

I'm the action color man. :] do you let me try making a coastline combining your terrain with my newwater?and let's see what happens

_________________
current project:
new water tiles
viewtopic.php?t=21365&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Sounds like a good plan! I will make the base tiles asap. Should we also make the additional coast tiles for a "completely shore" style patch?

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:34 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Attached are terrain tiles for the complete shoreline, in temperate, sub-arctic and sub-tropical in pcx and png. They are 8bpp in the windows palette. Overlaying the water and beach from your newwater should work nicely (see two tiles). I would do this myself but I am still breaking action colours :D


Attachments:
shore tiles 8bpp.pcx [70.8 KiB]
Downloaded 125 times
shore tiles 8bpp.png [65.32 KiB]
Downloaded 144 times
newcoastline preview.png
newcoastline preview.png [ 2.63 KiB | Viewed 4180 times ]

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 1:04 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Just a quick update for those who are interested:
Terrain is nearly complete (drawn, 32bpp ---> 8bpp converted and coded, except toyland) - just the coast tiles remaining.
Infrastructure is progressing nicely - road, rail, monorail, maglev, tunnels and level crossings are complete (drawn, 32bpp ---> 8bpp converted and coded). I am working on bridges at the moment, next will be stations and airports...
I got bored so I started playing with industries - see the coal mine below .
For road vehicles I think my generic road vehicles would be a good starting point, see the link in my sig.


Attachments:
industries infrastructure terrain and road vehicles.png
industries infrastructure terrain and road vehicles.png [ 81.93 KiB | Viewed 3919 times ]

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 1:32 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 9:08 am
Posts: 682
Location: Finland
You are a god. Clearly.

_________________
#################


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 1:59 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 192
Location: Brazil
Wow, talk about fast progress...

I would love to see your generic road vehicles as the default vehicles in the graphics replacement project.
I already use them instead of the default ones.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 2:54 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
Zephyris wrote:
next will be stations and airports...

Before doing any airport stuff, check with Skidd13. He has drawn a full airport set, that can replace all the current graphics. It also includes several of the missing angles on airports that then allows airports to be rotated. Its all part of the NewGRF_ports system - see the link in my .sig.

It is likely (post-Feb) that the NewGRF_ports system will totally replace the existing airport system. Thus the new set may not require any default airport graphics - it will all come from airportsbasic.grf and airportsextended.grf. However to allow for replacing the standard airport graphics (eg. the airport replacement set that gives it black tarmac), then having copies of the Skidd13 graphics at the traditional locations may be a good fallback.

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
richk67 wrote:
Zephyris wrote:
next will be stations and airports...

Before doing any airport stuff, check with Skidd13. He has drawn a full airport set, that can replace all the current graphics. It also includes several of the missing angles on airports that then allows airports to be rotated. Its all part of the NewGRF_ports system - see the link in my .sig.

It is likely (post-Feb) that the NewGRF_ports system will totally replace the existing airport system. Thus the new set may not require any default airport graphics - it will all come from airportsbasic.grf and airportsextended.grf. However to allow for replacing the standard airport graphics (eg. the airport replacement set that gives it black tarmac), then having copies of the Skidd13 graphics at the traditional locations may be a good fallback.


I actually already contacted Skidd13 and have seen those sprites. Before you mentioned this. You can see a comment in the first post about airports, but I forgot to mention it with another post..So we do have airport sprites. I would like to show them too ti everybody, but Skidd asked me not to distribute the link.

Lord

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Zephyris wrote:
Just a quick update for those who are interested:
Terrain is nearly complete (drawn, 32bpp ---> 8bpp converted and coded, except toyland) - just the coast tiles remaining.

Thanks for ruining my keybord; now there's drool all over it :D

Those graphics are absolutely FANTASTIC! Sometimes I want to nominate sets for the 'best set of the month' award, but this deserves the 'best set ever' award straight away!

What I love about this set is that the graphics are far more better than the original, but still capturing the original spirit of the game. Totally awesome, can't wait to play with it!

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:20 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 2451
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
You are simply a GOD!
I love your graphics keep this work up and soon we won't have to use the original ttd grahpics to run OpenTTD!

Oh and may I ask for a new beta?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 1:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Attached are newInfrastructure and newIndustries v0.1.

newInfrastructure:
Included:
Road
Rail
Monorail
Maglev
Level crossings
Tunnels
Not included:
Toyland
Stations and depots
Canals

newIndustries:
Included:
Coal mine

newTerrain has not been updated (ie. I can't be bothered to package it properly for a release :) ), v0.1 can be downloaded from here.

Generic road vehicle and tram set can be downloaded from here. "grvts.grf" is the final version.


Attachments:
OpenGFX_-_newInfrastructure_v0.1.grf [619.22 KiB]
Downloaded 700 times
OpenGFX_-_newIndustries_v0.1.grf [14.21 KiB]
Downloaded 704 times

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 1:50 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:42 pm
Posts: 94
Location: Estonia
This set brings tears into my eyes. I mean manly tears of joy *coughcough*.

How about making some default narrow gauge tracks, or if not that, then at least some level crossings for those of us who like to enjoy both this set and Canadian set? Pretty please?


Last edited by Acerbus on Sun Dec 30, 2007 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 2:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Zephyris, what can I say. I myself am learning to draw nice sprites, but when looking at yours...Dunno. Your art rocks my socks! Really. it's so beautiful.

BTW. Zephyris, I'm afraid the generic tram set won't be included if this thing gets ready. Or atleast until you personally contact some dev. I had a talk about it with Belugas, and as far as I understanded he will not include any tram set before you haven't contacted them or sth. Btw, please don't do road depot :D It's one thing I didn't see in your screenshot and now I started drawing it. If it gets good, I want to contribute too :D

And I update the first post too.

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 2:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 2451
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Would it be illegal for me to upload the games base grf files(except theo ne with UI stuff) all modified to be completely blank(filled with transparent colour) ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 2:48 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:42 am
Posts: 703
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 15 years and counting!
WOW just WOW Zephyris :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Your newInfrastructure, is getting beter and better all the time..

And your newTerrain, well it just won't get out of my games ever again, simply perfect... We only need the newwater now, but that is lepkka's work i suppose ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 2:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Killer 11 wrote:
Would it be illegal for me to upload the games base grf files(except theo ne with UI stuff) all modified to be completely blank(filled with transparent colour) ?

If there is no artowrk seen, then guess it's legal, only thing is that is it useful? And why?

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 3:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 2451
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
it's useful becouse without these files you can't load openttd and with them being blank you can infact host them and make a set of new grfs that replace everything and make it playable. It would also help to easily check what is missing and needs replacement graphics


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 5:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Re: Acerbus
I plan to, in the future, once the graphics replacement (or my bit of it) is complete, to release grfs which add features in the same visual style, planned features are:

Snow in temperate
Variable snowlines
Extra coast tiles
Water edges

Driving-side specific road markings
Climate specific road markings (UK in temperate, US in sub-tropical/sub-arctic)
Narrow gauge rail (to replace rail, monorail or maglev - set via a parameter)
Enhanced tunnels suitable tunnels

Re: lordazamath
The road depot is yours! enjoy...
Referring to the generic vehicles, I would lift and modify the graphics from them to produce the new road vehicles. Do you mean that the grf itself "grvts.grf" would only be distributed in trunk if I asked?

Re: Trees
Does anyone know if SAC is still active around here? SAC's stolen trees is an excellent selection of graphics which I would love to be able to use...

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3423 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 8172 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Quast65 and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.