32bit Extra Zoom Graphics Works In Progress

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1812
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

32bit Extra Zoom Graphics Works In Progress

Post by maquinista »

I have coded some graphics created by Wacki in a single TAR file, and he allows to distribute the TAR file.

http://wiki.openttd.org/index.php/City_ ... 9#Tropical

Is a preview release. The graphics are excellent.

This is the offsets that I have used:

Code: Select all

4620_z0.png x_offs=-125 y_offs=-53
4621_z0.png x_offs=-125 y_offs=-158
4622_z0.png x_offs=-125 y_offs=-158
4607_z0.png x_offs=-125 y_offs=-81
4593_z0.png x_offs=-125 y_offs=-50
4590_z0.png x_offs=-125 y_offs=-63
4600_z0.png x_offs=-125 y_offs=-28
4599_z0.png x_offs=-125 y_offs=-23
4598_z0.png x_offs=-125 y_offs=-28
4597_z0.png x_offs=-125 y_offs=-10
Attachments
Screenshoot.JPEG
Screenshot in the game.
(585.61 KiB) Downloaded 6433 times
Wacki_Tropical_houses_preview.tar
TAR file - 10 graphics. Remember that this is a preview version. Enjoy it.
(707.5 KiB) Downloaded 5128 times
Last edited by Jupix on 24 Dec 2011 21:16, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Stickied and renamed: was "[32bpp] Extra zoom levels Graphics"
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

User avatar
DeletedUser5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 277
Joined: 07 Oct 2007 15:10

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels ! ( update: version 9 )

Post by DeletedUser5 »

@maquinista: What I can say offset is a little wrong and Wacki reworked them some time ago. New version looks better. I'll ask him if he wants me to code and publish new version of them. And use png format for screenshots. They are larger but better in quality than jpg format.

Roujin
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1884
Joined: 08 Apr 2007 04:07

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels ! ( update: version 9 )

Post by Roujin »

Wow, that looks nice :D
Shame that not much else is done for subtropical, else I'd have started a game purely for gazing at the graphics right now :cool:
* @Belugas wonders what is worst... a mom or a wife...
<Lakie> Well, they do the same thing but the code is different.

______________
My patches
check my wiki page (sticky button) for a complete list

ImageImage
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1812
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

New arrows in one way roads

Post by maquinista »

I have done with Inkscape some arrows for one way roads. They aren't very good, but They could be useful now.
They don't fit in roads with slope, or original graphics.
Attachments
Some arrows.
Some arrows.
arrows32.JPEG (98.52 KiB) Viewed 72762 times
Other screenshot.
Other screenshot.
arrows32b.JPEG (173.45 KiB) Viewed 72912 times
arrows32.tar
TAR file.
(16 KiB) Downloaded 1280 times
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

User avatar
DeletedUser5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 277
Joined: 07 Oct 2007 15:10

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels ! ( update: version 9 )

Post by DeletedUser5 »

In my opinion we need 8 additional sprites for arrows for one way roads. Either on slopes it will look awful.

@maquinista: I like it. In my opinion one arrow instead of two would be better.

User avatar
Ben_Robbins_
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Nov 2005 01:56
Location: Abu Dhabi, UAE

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels ! ( update: version 9 )

Post by Ben_Robbins_ »

I think the arrows look pretty neat and fitting. Maybe have them very slightly transparent so they merge with the underlying sprite? (not sure till I see it though). I agree with Soeb's points; one arrow rather than 2.
Ben

User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels ! ( update: version 9 )

Post by athanasios »

I 'd say make them dirty to blend with the road, but transparency might do the job better.
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1812
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels ! ( update: version 9 )

Post by maquinista »

I have tried to draw (with Inkscape) a arrow like the original. I am not an artist and the result isn't very good.

The third file, is a package with 24 arrows (3 zoom levels) for roads on slopes. They aren't coded, because there aren't original arrows for slopes.
Attachments
arrows on slopes.tar.gz
Sprites not coded. They don't work, but they can be useful in the future.
(13.42 KiB) Downloaded 858 times
Preview. They don't work. Something like this would need a patch.
Preview. They don't work. Something like this would need a patch.
muestra_flechas.jpeg (82.91 KiB) Viewed 72634 times
Arrow like original. I have updated this file. It isn't coded.
Arrow like original. I have updated this file. It isn't coded.
g3621.png (3.52 KiB) Viewed 72189 times
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1812
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels ! ( update: version 9 )

Post by maquinista »

I have coded a TAR file with green arrows, and other TAR file with one arrow.
Attachments
One arrow screenshot.
One arrow screenshot.
one_arrow.JPEG (70.12 KiB) Viewed 72310 times
one_arrow.tar
TAR file
(14 KiB) Downloaded 809 times
Green arrows
Green arrows
green_arrows.JPEG (64.58 KiB) Viewed 72217 times
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1812
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels ! ( update: version 9 )

Post by maquinista »

This is the TAR file for green arrows.
Attachments
arrows_green.tar
TAR file.
(23.5 KiB) Downloaded 832 times
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

User avatar
Ben_Robbins_
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Nov 2005 01:56
Location: Abu Dhabi, UAE

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels ! ( update: version 9 )

Post by Ben_Robbins_ »

Nice work, I will defiantly be using the white arrow's rather than green though, as there subtle but yet do the job equally well. I think the white arrow's could do with the tails cutting slightly short, or increasing them, so that they end where the road marking ends though.
Ben

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1812
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels ! ( update: version 9 )

Post by maquinista »

Thanks. I have cutted the arrow. I have modified the smaller zoom level with GIMP.
Attachments
one_arrow.tar
TAR file.
(16 KiB) Downloaded 691 times
Screenshots at three zoom levels.
Screenshots at three zoom levels.
one_arrow_b.PNG (290.71 KiB) Viewed 72592 times
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

User avatar
Timitry
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 313
Joined: 01 Oct 2004 15:28
Contact:

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels ! ( update: version 9 )

Post by Timitry »

looks really good now :) Just one thing... You can still see the middle-line of the street through the arrow... Looks a bit ugly ;-) MAybe you can fix that?

LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels ! ( update: version 9 )

Post by LordAzamath »

hmm.. It's nice arrow and stuff, but wouldn't it be nicer to keep graphics progress in another thread.. So this stays cleaner for GeekToo's messages about fixed and new features/bugs etc.
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.

User avatar
wil86
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 27
Joined: 27 Feb 2008 17:26
Location: Rostock, Germany

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels ! ( update: version 9 )

Post by wil86 »

Timitry wrote:... You can still see the middle-line of the street through the arrow... Looks a bit ugly ;-) MAybe you can fix that?
i think that is the transparency, which was requested by Ben a few posts ago 8)

User avatar
Ben_Robbins_
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Nov 2005 01:56
Location: Abu Dhabi, UAE

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels Graphics

Post by Ben_Robbins_ »

lordazamath: I agree. Split.

maquinista/wil86: I did suggest it so that the arrows have a slight texture, but if there in the centre they are going to need to be fully opaque with that texture added to stop the white lines showing through. The texture is so subtle though, making them fully opaque, darkening them slightly and adding noise should have a similar effect. The new arrow length works nicely though.
Ben

User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels Graphics

Post by athanasios »

I think having 2 arrows is better. One arrow in the middle is unrealistic.

regards
athanasios
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1812
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels Graphics

Post by maquinista »

This is a screenshot with the new arrows and a blocking tile signal.

Maybe It could be better something more realistic than a floating signal.
Attachments
Screenshot.
Screenshot.
arrows_middle.JPEG (153.47 KiB) Viewed 71664 times
one_arrow.tar
TAR file
(37 KiB) Downloaded 620 times
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

Roujin
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1884
Joined: 08 Apr 2007 04:07

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels Graphics

Post by Roujin »

I think vehicles driving on the road are drawn over the one way signs, so it probably won't look very nice with these floating symbols.
Interesting idea, though...
* @Belugas wonders what is worst... a mom or a wife...
<Lakie> Well, they do the same thing but the code is different.

______________
My patches
check my wiki page (sticky button) for a complete list

ImageImage
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Trond
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 973
Joined: 25 Jan 2008 07:32
Location: Gamle Ørnenuten

Re: [32bpp] Extra zoom levels Graphics

Post by Trond »

Arrow looks nice!
Could those signs be added just beside the road, as a roadsign, much like the signals for railroads?
..: Trond :.. because you deserve it! Image

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves,
and wiser people so full of doubts.
Bertrand Russell

MyGRFs: Norwegian Funny Town Names 4 | LOTR & WoW Town Names 2 | Islandic Town Names 1 | Random Norwegian Town Names
Favorites: GRFCrawler | ISR | WIKI | Now Playing: OpenTTD 1.3.2 w/YAPP 3.0-RC3.9ish

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests