Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu May 25, 2017 2:18 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: NewGRF: Oneway Roads UK
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:17 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 10:54 am
Posts: 198
Location: a/c closed
This GRF replaces the default green oneway arrows with white arrows.
These arrows are drawn to match the UK Roadset.


Attachments:
UKoneway.grf [746 Bytes]
Downloaded 2470 times
UKoneway.jpg
UKoneway.jpg [ 16.28 KiB | Viewed 11092 times ]


Last edited by one billion daleks on Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:57 am, edited 2 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:35 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
Nice little grf, something i have wanted to do for some time! The perspective on the arrow does look slightly off though, anc could be a bit brighter...

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:49 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 10:54 am
Posts: 198
Location: a/c closed
Cheers Zephyris! :)

Yes, it was darned tricky trying to align the arrowhead with the centre-line!

There's only 3 pixels to play with when creating the point of the arrow, and I'm no graphic artist I'm afraid!
If I aligned the arrowhead correctly, then it ended up out-of-alignment with the 'stem' of the arrow.
Otherwise it ends up slightly above or slightly below the centre-line ... bugger!
You tend to see the same effect with those radioactive green blobs used by the game ;)

But if someone with superior graphics skills would like to volunteer at having go at improving on my attempt, I'm happy to post the PCX file.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:51 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Yes the angle is wrong...
On the other hand.. nice grf.. (You still don't use png's for screenies :P)


Attachments:
ega.png
ega.png [ 2.56 KiB | Viewed 11138 times ]

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:03 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 10:54 am
Posts: 198
Location: a/c closed
Yes you're right lordazamath, the angle could be better ... but I was working with an area of about 6x8 pixels - if I changed the angle the whole arrow got narrower and longer and just stopped looking like an arrow.
Hey, that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it! ;) ;) ;)

And I did create a PNG image, but it was 27kb - so the JPG was actually smaller for a change! :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:08 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
even if the file size is larger png is better for reviewing gfx.


Attachments:
isometric arrow.PNG
isometric arrow.PNG [ 190 Bytes | Viewed 11110 times ]

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:16 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
.. and file size isn't larger.. I guess you used some funky program :P.. This is w/o compressing made with GIMP.. A png screenshot..
But I agree, you should add more contrast if you want it to be used on other road types too..


Attachments:
ohoo.png
ohoo.png [ 5.48 KiB | Viewed 11115 times ]

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:42 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
one billion daleks wrote:
And I did create a PNG image, but it was 27kb - so the JPG was actually smaller for a change! :)
Try saving to png-8 with indexed colours, instead of the unindexed png-24 (which I think you're using).

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:56 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 10:54 am
Posts: 198
Location: a/c closed
Yes lordazamath, I am using a cruddy freeware download that apparently inflates PNG files!

Thanks for that isometric arrow Zephyris ... that's just a simple inverted pyramid with a stem sticking out of it. So you'd think that would be pretty easy to duplicate, but when I create one (with a 5-pixel base), once it's scaled down it just looks askew! This is the same problem I had with my arrows ... I expect it's dead easy to fix if you know how, but I'm totally ignorant on this graphic design stuff!

EDIT: OK, I think I just figured it out ... fingers crossed!


Last edited by one billion daleks on Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:14 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
Thats better, but please use pngs, its so much easier to see whats going on, even if the file size is larger...

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:32 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 10:54 am
Posts: 198
Location: a/c closed
OK, thanks for that isometric arrow Zephyris ... I've now implemented that one in the GRF on post #1.
I think the grayscales may need a bit of work, but the basic idea looks better with that arrow :)

Yes, I will use PNGs when I've found a compact freeware graphics program that handles them ... I will also have to find a new screengrabber, as I currently use ScreenHunter, and that only creates JPGs or BMPs unfortunately.

Thank Q!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
You can use Gimp for example.. Irfanview can convert between bmp and png.. And I don't know of older paints, are they capable of making pngs but the one what came vith vista, can do it..

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:44 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
I reccomend paint.net (with a pcx plugin) or ms paint...

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 3:31 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 3:43 pm
Posts: 619
Location: Drancy(93) - France
one billion daleks wrote:
I will also have to find a new screengrabber, as I currently use ScreenHunter, and that only creates JPGs or BMPs unfortunately.

Try pressing ctrl-S in OpenTTD :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:06 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 10:54 am
Posts: 198
Location: a/c closed
Thanks for that tip glx :) ... it's great to see developers provide helpful advice using a High-Level Language like plain English!

Though actually, I am already familiar with Ctrl-S ... what I was looking for was a utility that would let me grab just the relevent portion of the screenshot, like the JPG grab in post #1.

I've since discovered some freeware called EasyCapture, which creates PNG grabs ... plus it provides tools to add cursors, arrows and, transparent speech-bubbles to your grabs too! So I shall be having some fun with that in due course ;)

Cheers though! :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 2:34 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 3:43 pm
Posts: 619
Location: Drancy(93) - France
You can crop the ctrl-s screenshot with any image editor. You can also add arrows, or anything with the editor.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Erato, Helmar15, Lesarthois and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.