Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Aug 18, 2018 4:47 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: missing shores
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:18 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
Hi all artists,

how you know (or not) I wrote the completely shore patch which make it possible that OTTD draw corner shores (the new sprites in lepkka's newWater newGRF).

So my 'completely shore' patch isn't into the trunk, that is why I decided to make a much better patch :) (for interested people: FlySpray-task with full description).

For this patch I need a few sprites, ten for each climate: eight 'corner shores' which are added by action 05-0D too (e.g. in lepkka's newWater newGRF (which atm. only work on TTDP)) and two canyon shore sprites (which will be a new OTTD feature, as well as for action 05-0D which supported now (which my patch) too 18 instead of 16 sprites). The order of these 10 sprites are (to see in the picture, EW and NS are the two canyon shore sprites): SLOPE_STEEP_S, SLOPE_STEEP_W, SLOPE_WSE, SLOPE_STEEP_N, SLOPE_NWS, SLOPE_ENW, SLOPE_SEN, SLOPE_STEEP_E, SLOPE_EW, SLOPE_NS. And these sprites must fit with the current/original ones!

For the temperate climate you can see (in the pic) that I drawn an example. But I'm no artist so here is now my question: is there anyone who can please help me and draw these sprites (of course as open source sprites)? The chance that this (patch AND sprites) will be get into trunk is big (I've talked with belugas over that (a little bit)).

Attachment:
shore.png
shore.png [ 239.04 KiB | Viewed 6827 times ]

Attachment:
File comment: please use this, if you want to edit
shore.pcx [49.62 KiB]
Downloaded 109 times

If you are interested to have a part of you (hopefully) permanently into the game source :D please help and answer me. If you need a temp-way to test your sprites, this will be possible and I will give you a patch/exec for that.

If you want to drawn anything, please use the pcx file, the png-files are only here to have something to look :D.

Regards,
BigBB


Here you see the game without (left part) and with (right part) my example sprites:


Attachments:
File comment: ingame example of my drawn temperate sprites; left: without my patch/sprites, right with
example.png
example.png [ 203.33 KiB | Viewed 6846 times ]

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:18 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
BigBB wrote:
If you need a temp-way to test your sprites, this will be possible and I will give you a patch/exec for that.


Okay, here is a patch file with that the corner and canyon shores will be flood. This patch is only for people who want draw these shores to test their sprites. So please don't tell me that the flooding is weird, it's no trunk modification :) .

Regards,
BigBB


Attachments:
missing_shores_v0.2_r11651-tmp.patch [11.39 KiB]
Downloaded 110 times

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:02 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:49 am
Posts: 522
Location: Germany
Here you are.


Attachments:
shore.pcx [50.32 KiB]
Downloaded 94 times
File comment: Png preview
shore.png
shore.png [ 21.02 KiB | Viewed 6541 times ]

_________________
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:40 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 3:10 pm
Posts: 277
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Something that looks weird for me.
Attachment:
uhh.png
uhh.png [ 55.94 KiB | Viewed 6520 times ]

But then, it's good patch - I just can't wait to see that patch in trunk. It looks beautiful.

_________________
Soeb

-- This user is inactive here, to contact me, please send me an e-mail. I'm always willing to answer any questions about graphic coding (or any other stuff I might know about in ottd), though my information might be quite outdated. --


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:50 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:49 am
Posts: 522
Location: Germany
Soeb wrote:
Something that looks weird for me.
Attachment:
uhh.png

But then, it's good patch - I just can't wait to see that patch in trunk. It looks beautiful.

Should be fixed with my sprite update.

_________________
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:56 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
The sprites looks really good, thanks skidd13 for drawing them.

Here a pic with all sprites in use:
Image

Soeb wrote:
Something that looks weird for me.

No, that's okay. It's the green tile border of the original sprite in trg*r.grf and not changable (but much better with skidds sprites).

Soeb wrote:
But then, it's good patch - I just can't wait to see that patch in trunk. It looks beautiful.

Thanks, but don't forget: this is a patch with three parts. The current one (step 1) only include the possibility to show these tiles and fix a general action 05-0d problem. To flood these tiles is step 2 and 3. This is to make the patch small and clear.

Regards,
BigBB

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:57 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 12:32 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Barcelona
Happy to hear you keep working on this BigBB
skidd13, let me suggest everything one pixel back, (a water pixel in the corner of the sprite)


Attachments:
back.png
back.png [ 17.58 KiB | Viewed 6183 times ]

_________________
current project:
new water tiles
viewtopic.php?t=21365&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:37 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
lepkka wrote:
Happy to hear you keep working on this BigBB

Of course :) . Have you seen, newWater newGRFs can have 18 sprites, too. With action 07-9D and 07-A1 (IIRC) can you make a grf that have for TTDP 16 and for OTTD 18.

lepkka wrote:
skidd13, let me suggest everything one pixel back, (a water pixel in the corner of the sprite)

The upper and lower pixels can not be fix, because it's from the original sprite 4064 above and 4065 below.

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:33 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:49 am
Posts: 522
Location: Germany
lepkka wrote:
Happy to hear you keep working on this BigBB
skidd13, let me suggest everything one pixel back, (a water pixel in the corner of the sprite)

There is no sand pixel in the top of the sprite. But maybe if I add an extra water pixel at top and at bottom, the sand might be removed by overdrawing it ;).

EDIT:
This should do the trick. Marked additional pixel line with a red pixel.

EDIT2:
nfo patch added


Attachments:
shore.pcx [50.44 KiB]
Downloaded 109 times
shore.nfo [2.34 KiB]
Downloaded 209 times

_________________
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy


Last edited by skidd13 on Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:28 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:49 am
Posts: 522
Location: Germany
Double post...
Attatched preview of the fixed. Only the lower sand border remains.


Attachments:
preview.png
preview.png [ 174.65 KiB | Viewed 6062 times ]

_________________
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:36 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
skidd13 wrote:
Attatched preview of the fixed. Only the lower sand border remains.

Hmm, for me looks so:

Maybe it's luck if the pixel will be overdrawn or not...

Edit: now with your new shore.nfo works

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 6:21 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:31 pm
Posts: 978
Location: Aschaffenburg
I want to suggest a different method: It would be nice, if the shore sprites would be drawn as overlays on top of the normal landscape sprites, and the water-sprite. That way one could replace water, shore and normal landscape independent from each other.
Plus the SLOPE_NS, SLOPE_EW shores could be created from the overlays for SLOPE_NWS, SLOPE_WSE, SLOPE_NES, SLOPE_WSE, when canyon-flooding is disabled. :)

This would of course break some TTDP compatibility, but perhaps it is at least possible for the added SLOPE_NS, SLOPE_WE shores. (Btw: I guess the 10 sprites version in your patch is not TTDP-Action5-Handler compatible. I think you are only allowed to add sprites at the end, and the sprites must remain in their order no matter how many are specified. But of course I am not a TTDP-dev.)

The attachment is created using skidd's sprites from above.


Attachments:
File comment: shore overlay sprites, based on skidd's graphics
shoreoverlay2.pcx [39.71 KiB]
Downloaded 109 times

_________________
⢇⡸⢸⠢⡇⡇⢎⡁⢎⡱⢸⡱⢸⣭⠀⢸⢜⢸⢸⣀⢸⣀⢸⣭⢸⡱⠀⢰⠭⡆⣫⠰⣉⢸⢸⠀⢰⠭⡆⡯⡆⢹⠁⠀⢐⠰⡁
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 6:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
I would like to see that...

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 8:53 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
frosch wrote:
I want to suggest a different method: It would be nice, if the shore sprites would be drawn as overlays on top of the normal landscape sprites, and the water-sprite. That way one could replace water, shore and normal landscape independent from each other.

Nice idea, I have this idea for roads and rails already.

frosch wrote:
(Btw: I guess the 10 sprites version in your patch is not TTDP-Action5-Handler compatible. I think you are only allowed to add sprites at the end, and the sprites must remain in their order no matter how many are specified. But of course I am not a TTDP-dev.)

Wrong, it's complete compatible. Do you really think, that I make something which dont work with that? Here a sreenshot with the current version of my patch and loaded newWater (you can see the missed NS and EW shores in this newGRF, will be not replaced)
Attachment:
wrong.png
wrong.png [ 23.3 KiB | Viewed 5513 times ]

And with an action 07-9D and 07-A1 can a patch writer make a newGRF compatible to TTDP. And btw.:the shore NS and EW sprites are at the end and I haven't change the order. Have a look into the code first ...

Regards,
BigBB

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:25 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:49 am
Posts: 522
Location: Germany
frosch wrote:
I want to suggest a different method: It would be nice, if the shore sprites would be drawn as overlays on top of the normal landscape sprites, and the water-sprite. That way one could replace water, shore and normal landscape independent from each other.
Theoreticaly yes, but you have to keep in mind that not only the sand is added. I added some additional shading at the sand border which will look strange if the ground tile changes. Then you'll need 2 sprites per tile. One sand and one shading, which will indeed break compatibility to TTDPatch, and that shouldn't be done.

_________________
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 11:07 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:31 pm
Posts: 978
Location: Aschaffenburg
BigBB: You got me wrong. Sorry, if I offended you.
I was talking about the support to only load the 10 missing sprites. These 10 sprites are not the first 10 sprites of the 16 and 18 sprites versions of the action5.
I extracted the 10 sprite action5 from you openttdw.grf and created a separate newgrf, that I loaded into TTDP. The behaviour of TTDP is to ignore the action5 as it specifies to few sprites. So it does not directly break compatibility. But I assume, if the TTDP people want to also implement the 10 sprites version, they will get into trouble.
Of course if you define, that this 10 sprite version must not be used by newgrfs with the exception of openttdw/d.grf, then I guess everything is fine. :)

_________________
⢇⡸⢸⠢⡇⡇⢎⡁⢎⡱⢸⡱⢸⣭⠀⢸⢜⢸⢸⣀⢸⣀⢸⣭⢸⡱⠀⢰⠭⡆⣫⠰⣉⢸⢸⠀⢰⠭⡆⡯⡆⢹⠁⠀⢐⠰⡁


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:27 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
frosch wrote:
I was talking about the support to only load the 10 missing sprites. These 10 sprites are not the first 10 sprites of the 16 and 18 sprites versions of the action5.

The 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16 (, 17, 18) sprite. To have compatiblity with the 16 (and my new defined 18) sprites action 05-0D, can these places not be changed. These 10 sprites must allways fit with the original ones and will be only used if no newWater newGRF (17 and 18 if a 16 sprites newGRF) is loaded. If a standart newGRF loaded these sprites (how you suggested) will be replaced by the new one.

frosch wrote:
I extracted the 10 sprite action5 from you openttdw.grf and created a separate newgrf, [...]

That would be much easier, download the shore.pcx and shore.nfo from the FS link and edit the head of the nfo file voilà: a stand alone 10 sprites newWater newGRF :D .

frosch wrote:
[...] that I loaded into TTDP. The behaviour of TTDP is to ignore the action5 as it specifies to few sprites. So it does not directly break compatibility. But I assume, if the TTDP people want to also implement the 10 sprites version, they will get into trouble.

Of course ignore TTDP it. IIRC they do it in the same manner how OTTD: if the sprite count is wrong, don't load. And if the TTDP devs want to include these ten sprites they can not break the order or they break the compatiblity with the standart newWater newGRFs. So they must find a way to include them on the 1, 6, ... position how I must do.

frosch wrote:
Of course if you define, that this 10 sprite version must not be used by newgrfs with the exception of openttdw/d.grf, then I guess everything is fine. :)
Why should ? :)

Regards,
BigBB

PS to a mod: since this isn't an artist search, more a development discussion: is it maybe better to move this thread to the development section ?

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Last edited by spaceman-spiff on Sun Dec 23, 2007 7:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
Moved


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 9:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
BigBB, I'm a little confused now...this is supposed to be the new version of Completely Shore, yes? But as the other patch has seen the light of trunk, do you still develop this? Because if you do and there is a possibility that it'll get to trunk once then the 8 bpp replacement project must provide those missing sprites too, doesn't it?

Regards. Lord

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: missing shores
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:29 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
BigBB wrote:
frosch wrote:
[...] that I loaded into TTDP. The behaviour of TTDP is to ignore the action5 as it specifies to few sprites. So it does not directly break compatibility. But I assume, if the TTDP people want to also implement the 10 sprites version, they will get into trouble.

Of course ignore TTDP it. IIRC they do it in the same manner how OTTD: if the sprite count is wrong, don't load.
Um... No.
If the sprite count is too small, load, but don't attempt to access. If the sprite count is too large, load, and ignore extraneous sprites
TTDPatch can load one action 5 of each type. A second one will be loaded, and will replace the old one. This is why action 5s never grow sprites except at the end of the block.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.