[32bpp] Tropical Bank [RELEASE!!]

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

[32bpp] Tropical Bank [RELEASE!!]

Post by LordAzamath »

The topic is about Tropical Bank which I started modeling in blender.
It's now ready enough for a little release.
that means...

1. The picture.
frame2.png
frame2.png (70.33 KiB) Viewed 7391 times
'
2.The ingame screenshot with little gimping to show the transparency turned on.
example.png
example.png (138.5 KiB) Viewed 7240 times
3.The tropicalbank.tar file.
tropicalbank.tar
(28 KiB) Downloaded 9038 times
Because I can't add more than 3 attachments i decided to remove the blend source. If anyone has better suggestions please PM me. Also PM me in case you want to get the blend file.
I surely will give it. It's just the matter of what have I uploaded here.
Any problems or feedback in this thread. :)

A note for the players who like arctic climate. My bank also replaces it's graphics, because both use the same sprites. But I think it looks pretty good.

Lord
Last edited by LordAzamath on 25 Sep 2007 13:39, edited 25 times in total.
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
User avatar
Ben_K
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1166
Joined: 01 Jun 2006 15:15
Location: Sydney, AUS

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by Ben_K »

Great start! Welcome to the forums. :)
User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by Villem »

Though, the roof should be concrete not grass according to the sprite. :wink:
But otherwise it looks splendid. :D
User avatar
GeekToo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 961
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 22:22

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by GeekToo »

Very nice work indeed.

Camera and light setup can be found here:

http://wiki.openttd.com/index.php/32bit ... evelopment
LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by LordAzamath »

Where exactly can I get the official textures, materials? There, indeed is a section of official materials and even a pic, but no link to download them :(

Proudly presenting Tropic/Arctic Bank (ver 0.0.2)
ver0.0.2
ver0.0.2
Tropical_Bank.ver-0.0.2.jpg (92.54 KiB) Viewed 11880 times
I modified stairs, worked on roof and changed some textures.

I'm currently lacking some textures which would help me A LOT.
-official pavement
-official road
-house wall textures
-something to make stairs look normal :D

BTW, how can I add a streetlight to the model(maybe a link to a tut :))

How can I apply the official lamp and camera to the model.
Please give me some feedback, and if possible some answers :)
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
User avatar
GeekToo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 961
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 22:22

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by GeekToo »

You can get the textures that the picture shows by searching the version F file on the wiki page I mentioned above ( in section template files and specifications). It is a zip file, and contains among others an official materials blend file.

Some more textures:
http://wiki.openttd.com/index.php/Stand ... raphics%29

BTW : nice progress ! keep going

some feedback: the pillars in front of the door look somewhat funny, maybe there should be more of them, connected with each other and the main building by some structures
User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by athanasios »

Stairs are usually wider towards bottom. You made them reverse.
That extention on the roof is huge. It is applicable to a modern building.

My humble suggestion: Draw first something similar to original.
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.
LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by LordAzamath »

HA! I made it. This thing is BEAUTIFUL (I know that it looks more like an old school, but who cares :lol:)! :lol: :lol:
BEWARE!!! -

!!!For server space, the version is currently deleted by me
LordAzamath!!!



Now, it's time for feedback :)

BTW. I know that it doesn't look like the bank anymore, but who said that I need to model an exact copy of it.

EDIT: Now looking at it I realised that I have give it more light. That will be done in the next uptate.
ADDITION: I started working on a second project too - small airport :D. It will be soon in these forums

ADDITION:
I now give you the .blend file too :)m so everyone can do it better.
!!!Blend file deleted!!!

I think it's the newest ver. Somebody please put the lightning and camera and size to that, what it officially has to be. I have had problems with it
Last edited by LordAzamath on 03 Aug 2007 06:45, edited 2 times in total.
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by athanasios »

It is getting better now. As you get more experience you will improve your skills. I wish you Good Blendering! :mrgreen:
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.
Sacro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1142
Joined: 18 Jun 2005 21:08
Location: Here
Contact:

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by Sacro »

Not a bad start, but please can you stop breaking the tables.
We Am De Best

Host of ThroughTheTube site
User avatar
XeryusTC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 15415
Joined: 02 May 2005 11:05
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by XeryusTC »

Sacro wrote:Not a bad start, but please can you stop breaking the tables.
800*600 pictures are alowed to be inline, especially when the attachment box shows them ;).
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
User avatar
GeekToo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 961
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 22:22

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by GeekToo »

lordazamath,

Thanks for sending the blend file, as a newbie to blender I like to learn from others.

I've downloaded your file, and applied the standard lighting and camera setup. But I don't think it's the latest version, though I like the render, I'll attach it to this post. Imo the textures aren't the latest you've shown.

Another thing I don't like: the roof seems to be reflective, maybe you can change this.
Attachments
tropicalbank.jpg
tropicalbank.jpg (36.87 KiB) Viewed 11204 times
LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by LordAzamath »

The roof has been reflective since the second version. Long enough . Not any more
I think the problem why did'nt you get the textures was that I didn't pack the Blender file in blender. Now done. I even changed it a bit (no more grass, but the bank is wider. Now I think it is more similar to original.) And the size should be okay now. Only lightning and camera todo.

Now - 0.2.9.9.9.9.9
TB-0.3.jpg
TB-0.3.jpg (27.59 KiB) Viewed 11070 times
!!!Blend file got down, but I left he pic, because I think it looks good!!!

Now I think there should be no trouble with textures. :)

Everybody, have a great day! (thats an order!!!:D)
Last edited by LordAzamath on 03 Aug 2007 06:47, edited 1 time in total.
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2831
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by Zephyris »

Thats starting to look really good! More blender artists are always welcome :D
User avatar
Ben_K
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1166
Joined: 01 Jun 2006 15:15
Location: Sydney, AUS

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by Ben_K »

Good work lordazamath. The version that GeekToo has done looks fantastic. I think it will look really nice in game.
User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by athanasios »

GeekToo wrote:Another thing I don't like: the roof seems to be reflective, maybe you can change this.
To me it looks like a swimming pool! :lol:
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.
LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by LordAzamath »

Ok. Cos noone made the camera/lightning setup again, I had to do it by myself. I think it came out pretty normal, not to count that there are weird stripes on roof. I'll correct it one day.

ver3.1.1-std ->
ver0.3.1-std.png
ver0.3.1-std.png (106.9 KiB) Viewed 11323 times
!!!Blend file got deleted!!!
Last edited by LordAzamath on 03 Aug 2007 06:48, edited 1 time in total.
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
DeletedUser6
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 294
Joined: 23 Jul 2007 15:13
Location: Somewhere in this page

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by DeletedUser6 »

lordazamath wrote:The roof has been reflective since the second version. Long enough . Not any more
I think the problem why did'nt you get the textures was that I didn't pack the Blender file in blender. Now done. I even changed it a bit (no more grass, but the bank is wider. Now I think it is more similar to original.) And the size should be okay now. Only lightning and camera todo.

Now - 0.2.9.9.9.9.9
TB-0.3.jpg
Tropical_Bank-0.3.blend.zip
Now I think there should be no trouble with textures. :)

Everybody, have a great day! (thats an order!!!:D)
Since when did the bank become made out of copper and concrete?
Yay! I'm back! Did you miss me?


...


I thought not.
LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by LordAzamath »

OTTDmaster wrote:
Since when did the bank become made out of copper and concrete?
It's not made out of copper and concrete, if I understood your question correctly. At the beginning there was no material, texture at all. Then the windows were made out of (suprise suprise) glass. Later changed that to official glass. The walls were of red bricks in the beginning, but I changed it later to wood. Those posts and things are mate of somekind of coloured metal. No concrete nor copper anywhere. (Maybe the edges of stairs).

..or I didn't get your question
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
User avatar
GeekToo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 961
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 22:22

Re: Tropical Bank 3D Blender

Post by GeekToo »

lordazamath,

I've grabbed the opportunity to excercise my texturing, I've never done it before. So please look at the roof texture, and provide some feedback, I am willing to learn from it.
Attachments
tropical2.jpg
tropical2.jpg (49.71 KiB) Viewed 10495 times
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests