New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progress)

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
DeletedUser5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 277
Joined: 07 Oct 2007 15:10

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by DeletedUser5 »

If anybody thinks they are to tall, I've made a little poll.
Here are a few diffrent versions:
From left to right:
1. 4x20
2. 6x30
3. scaled to 8x40 cuted to 8x30
4. 8x40 (actually in game)
5. scaled to 16x80 cuted to 16x60
6. 16x80
What's the best?
slights.png
slights.png (3.06 KiB) Viewed 9296 times
My vote has 7.

@EDIT:
New option:
7. 8x20
new.png
new.png (512 Bytes) Viewed 9275 times
User avatar
Wacki
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 137
Joined: 28 Feb 2007 09:02
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by Wacki »

My vote is 3 or 7!

I know, that in this zoom see it a little ugly, but I hope, that in ultra zoom will see better!?
Attachments
this is variation 3
this is variation 3
varianta3.png (155 KiB) Viewed 9278 times
this is variation 7
this is variation 7
varianta7.PNG (139.64 KiB) Viewed 9269 times
Sorry for my very bad English!!! :(
I am 3dsmax artist.
BigBB
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 106
Joined: 07 Aug 2007 20:39

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by BigBB »

For the 8bpp lamp stuff: link

Regards,
BigBB
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position
User avatar
Ben_Robbins_
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Nov 2005 01:56
Location: Abu Dhabi, UAE

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by Ben_Robbins_ »

Wacki: cheers for the compliments. I like those street lamps, there very elegant. May I suggest that for your renders, you put them into Photoshop and go to layer > matting > remove black matte? 3dsmax is producing a darker glow around the edge of your renders which is quite noticeable on light colours.

Soeb: Yes you may to any tars I have uploaded. As long as people don’t just drag previews off the forum as has happened in the past then it’s fine. I havn’t added credits anywhere in the tar’s yet, but I think it would be good to do so for anyone who works on it. Could you elaborate on your criticism of the tunnels, maybe with some suggestion? Your comment doesn’t really help make it better.

GeekToo: I agree with your point on the base of the trunk, and I’ll work on that when I have a sec. Sadly I was using the term ‘knackered’ in it’s slightly corrupt sense which no longer tends to refer to the later!
Ben
User avatar
DeletedUser5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 277
Joined: 07 Oct 2007 15:10

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by DeletedUser5 »

I was referring to that white area. It looks boring to me. Maybe some texture?

So here are two tars. White squares. Two versions:

Elevated:
squares.tar
(50 KiB) Downloaded 9297 times
Not elevated:
squares_notelevated.tar
(50 KiB) Downloaded 5660 times
LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by LordAzamath »

Ok...Today I recieved a permission from Wacki to code his Oil Rig. I changed it a bit to make the "legs" of oil rig to appear under water too and fade away. (Masking in gimp, so it works with any other water grf too)

Anyway, quoting Wacki...Tramtadadá, I present you with this. It's supposed to be 2x3 so I put it into middle of that thing. And Wacki, if you have time, you could make the heliport part go out more, Try to have a helicopter land on it..you'll see. the sea-level in this pic is the area of oil rig.
Oil_Rig_Wacki_LordAzamath.png
Oil_Rig_Wacki_LordAzamath.png (31.74 KiB) Viewed 9578 times
oil_rig.tar
(40 KiB) Downloaded 8629 times
I will update wiki too.

Lord

EDIT: Sorry, I now noticed that on the screenshot the place, where fire should be is not seen. Will repair in no time :)
Last edited by LordAzamath on 02 Dec 2007 19:48, edited 1 time in total.
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
User avatar
DeletedUser5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 277
Joined: 07 Oct 2007 15:10

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by DeletedUser5 »

Cool.
As you wrote it looks a bit weird when helicopter lands on it. Look at that:
Slendingham Transport, 21st Jan 2001.png
Slendingham Transport, 21st Jan 2001.png (29.8 KiB) Viewed 9612 times
Another post another tar. Now its time for rails:
railways.tar
(30 KiB) Downloaded 265 times
LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by LordAzamath »

Can't help it until Wacki gives me new sprite :D
Lord..and because you made a screenshot, then I won't post mine again :D

EDIT: Tou critiscize my work, I'll critiscize your's :twisted: :D
vot.png
(232.53 KiB) Downloaded 301 times
Lord
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
Satan2k
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Nov 2007 03:32

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by Satan2k »

I tested the new squares, it works pretty well but there are weird things :

http://satan2k.servhome.org/weird1.png
http://satan2k.servhome.org/weird2.png
http://satan2k.servhome.org/weird3.png

I think that it can be fixed ;-)

@lordazamath : the oilrig rocks!. Nice encoding ;)

(forgot the T ... :oops: )
Last edited by Satan2k on 02 Dec 2007 20:39, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DeletedUser5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 277
Joined: 07 Oct 2007 15:10

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by DeletedUser5 »

But there's everything okay. If you are using elevated it looks like that. And about second - because grass is covering it.

Another post - another .tar:
temperatetunnels.tar
(40 KiB) Downloaded 254 times
lordazamath: But what are you talking about. There's everything good.
Satan2k
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Nov 2007 03:32

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by Satan2k »

the first and second screeshot were the elevated ones

the third is the not elevated one
User avatar
DeletedUser5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 277
Joined: 07 Oct 2007 15:10

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by DeletedUser5 »

By second I meant third.

Sorry - no more .tars today.
User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by athanasios »

Ben_Robbins_
GeekToo wrote:One remark: I think the stem ( I do not know the right word for it, I mean the big log on the bottom of the tree) does look a little too big.
Those roots appear to be spooky. :mrgreen:
Also, please, darken the white parts of the tunnels. I love how you blended grass on top of tunnels.
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.
LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by LordAzamath »

Soeb wrote: lordazamath: But what are you talking about. There's everything good.
Critiscism can be positive too sometimes...Especially, If you didn't upload screenshot by yourself..Other thing is that you should poke Ben_ to finish the rails..In all of their glory :)

EDIT:
Critiscism can be positive too sometimes...So I now ask for critiscism for this thing...transmitter ->
I also made the thumbnail
I also made the thumbnail
screenshot_transmitter.png (56.38 KiB) Viewed 9005 times
transmitter.tar
I just modeled it in 30 mins
(20 KiB) Downloaded 8583 times
As I can understand, it was Athanasios, who drew the mouse pointer..So if you'd be so kind, draw the pointer with square footer too, so I can replace all sprites which have something about transmitter (You can see the cursor in my screenshot..You'll understand what I mean? Yes? Good. :) )
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
User avatar
DeletedUser5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 277
Joined: 07 Oct 2007 15:10

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by DeletedUser5 »

You're right.

That transmitter looks good.

Another .tar - now with screenshot:
temperate_pack.tar
Rails, roads, trees, tunnels and grass - graphics by Ben_Robbins_
(420 KiB) Downloaded 513 times
with.png
with grass by Ben_Robbins_
(357.7 KiB) Downloaded 256 times
And withou Ben_'s grass:
temperate_pack_withoutgrass.tar
(220 KiB) Downloaded 174 times
No screenshot's for that.

So waiting for other railways.
LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by LordAzamath »

At your screenshot...
saywhat.png
saywhat.png (77.39 KiB) Viewed 8925 times
number 1 places need rising with pngcodec 1 px
2 & 3 & 4 the foundations are seen under them...not good.

And one question now....Are we going to use GeekToo's grass or Ben's as official? the Ben_'s grass has other sprites too, which represent cleared land...

EDIT: And with your pack, the transmitter looks even better :D

Lord
Attachments
transmitter2.png
transmitter2.png (14.73 KiB) Viewed 8862 times
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
User avatar
DeletedUser5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 277
Joined: 07 Oct 2007 15:10

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by DeletedUser5 »

number 1 places need rising with pngcodec 1 px
Fixed - will be updated tomorrow with all other things - and if Ben_Robbins will finnish those rails they will be in this "pack".
2 & 3 & 4 the foundations are seen under them...not good.
I know. It needs raising, but when you raise one you need to raise another. It will take too much time and I'm lazy. :lol:
OK today, tomorrow I will do it.

@EDIT: Updated. To lazy to make screenshot - but it looks the same but without the problems:
temperate_pack.tar
(420 KiB) Downloaded 761 times
ZxBiohazardZx
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1534
Joined: 14 Mar 2006 12:46
Location: Netherlands

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by ZxBiohazardZx »

OMG i see some great improvement:) keep it up, if i can help just tell me:) ,my last work here was the depot lolz
User avatar
GeekToo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 961
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 22:22

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by GeekToo »

lordazamath wrote: Are we going to use GeekToo's grass or Ben's as official?
There is no such thing as my grass or Ben's grass. My grass started because the resized tiles (to 64px)of Ben were considered too bland ( also by Ben himself ) and he asked me to do some resizing and optimizing for the 64px tiles. So they are supposed to complement each other when the 2 extra zoom levels come back.
lordazamath wrote: EDIT: And with your pack, the transmitter looks even better :D
Funny to see that the tiles that I started off with are considered to be in the pack again as official, after asking for feedback about the grass multiple times, and spending a lot of time to improve them according to the feedback.
Please read the discussion on:
http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=598953#p598953 and following pages.

Or is it just the fact that the set is not complete yet, cause that can always be worked upon, or that they drifted away too far from Ben's 256 px set to be compatible( which can also be improved)?
LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread

Post by LordAzamath »

Come on..don't take it like this...Your grass is very good..I just mentioned, that ben_'s grass has the half-grown tiles too, which is the base of the transmitter, which makes them better for transmitter..And I used it because I downloaded all Soeb's work. It's not like, your work is bad..They are just too different now to be compared...Your grass now looks different too, it's darker and has more height than Ben_'s. But in case your sprites will be at small zoom and ben's on large zoom, there can't be even no argue...Ever wondered why I had two screenshots?

Lord:no_offence
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Quast65 and 13 guests