"No Sound" on MacOs Catalina

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
3l3ktr4
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Jan 2020 11:06
Location: Berlin

"No Sound" on MacOs Catalina

Post by 3l3ktr4 »

Hey people,
I just started here in the Dev community and I'm trying to run OpenTTD with my own compiled version (master commit: 9d5dd893cdd6ca75d1ed7ad2aa7ca5d98feffa5f)

I'm on a MacOS Catalina 10.15.2 and having some issues with the sound. I'm attaching a screenshot of what my GUI looks like.

I read this on the wiki, but it doesn't apply to my case.
I also tried to change my cfg file, but there is no entry on the wiki about what's going on! As seen here. In my cfg file the option soundsset just shows this: soundsset = "NoSound"

Anyone else having this problem? What do you think I should try to fix it?

Thanks for the help! <3

User avatar
jfs
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1081
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: "No Sound" on MacOs Catalina

Post by jfs »

Have you installed a base sound set, such as OpenSFX, and selected it in the game options?
You can get OpenSFX via the in-game content downloader.

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15310
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: "No Sound" on MacOs Catalina

Post by Chrill »

My work computer runs MacOS Catalina (10.15.2) and OpenTTD works fine here, with OpenSFX for sound.
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

User avatar
3l3ktr4
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Jan 2020 11:06
Location: Berlin

Re: "No Sound" on MacOs Catalina

Post by 3l3ktr4 »

jfs wrote:
23 Jan 2020 11:29
Have you installed a base sound set, such as OpenSFX, and selected it in the game options?
You can get OpenSFX via the in-game content downloader.
Hi! Thank you for your answer! It did work.
It wasn't clear for me that I should also download the complimentary packs, maybe we could make it more explicit in the docs.

Thank you for your help!

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests