Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 5:57 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Trees spreading patch
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 5:32 pm
Posts: 1139
Location: Paris, France
Hello,

I used to play Transport Tycoon from its first version in 1994.

In the original game (TT and TTD) the trees were growing slowly and randomly. But I Don't remember they were covering the whole map so fast.

Now, with OTTD, the tree algorithm was changed, and after some years, the whole map is covered with a dense forest.

While in the original game, trees were mostly eye candy (and a little construction cost challenging), now they pollute the screen, and I play all the time with transparency options enabled for the trees.

This “bug” (or “feature”?) is known for a few years now, and I wonder if someone already tried to fix it.

Today I started to write a small patch to make the tree spreading a little bit more realistic.

In real life, trees mostly grow in forest, and never spread in the middle of meadows without being planted.

Consequently, my patch simply checks before planting a new tree if it’s already at least 6 planted tiles in a radius of 2 tiles.
It also prevent planting alone trees during map generation.
This is a new tree algorithm “Forest”.

New game :
Attachment:
File comment: New game with the new algortithm
1830.png [830.05 KiB]
Not downloaded yet


After 6 years :
Attachment:
File comment: Same game after 6 years
1836.png [1.45 MiB]
Not downloaded yet


See branch on GitHub : https://github.com/SylvainDevidal/OpenT ... eSpreading


Last edited by MagicBuzz on Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:58 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 4:21 am
Posts: 3
Hi MagicBuzz!

I ran into your patch while searching for tree deployment solutions for scenarios. What I'm looking for is how to deploy realistic forests on a scenario. Realistic means that trees growing in clusters not alone and mostly on mountainous areas. Maybe your patch could be used somehow in the scenario editor for this purpose? Or do you know any other tools?

Thanks!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.