Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:53 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 1:55 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:08 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
I have temporarily switched from my 64-bit, x86 laptop with a dual-core, 1.5GHz Celeron to the ASUS Tinker Board single board computer /w a 32-bit, quad 1.5GHz Rockchip CPU, the exactly same one as used in some models of the Chromebook.
I have, however, experienced much worse performance when playing on large maps - something that the Celeron had no problems dealing with.
So, I'd like to ask, if it may be either the ARM architecture or the 32-bit CPU slowing the game down.
I also have to note that now I have 2GB of RAM, as opposed to 8GB in the laptop, but I've never seen OTTD saturating the 2GB on either machine.
---
OT: I really can't express enough how impressed I am with the compatibility of this game over all the systems and platforms it can run on. I've never seen a game that would allow for crossplay multiplayer between Android, Windows, Linux Mint, MacOS and even the Armbian, all at the same time with no issues :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 3:42 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:43 am
Posts: 1535
Yeah, no surprises. ARM is cheap, efficient, and slow.

_________________
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 11:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7160
you can't really compare the "GHz" values of different CPU architectures. first, they re more or less made up values anyway, and the CPU architectures differ vastly in what they can do in one cycle

what openttd needs is mostly single-core integer operations performance, but also memory bandwidth or display performance may be limiting factors

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 5:34 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:08 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
Eddi wrote:
. . .


Display performance of the Tinker Board is superb, even when compared to the laptop - it can stream full HD, 60FPS videos from youtube and can play 4K using its default media player. But it might be the memory, given the slower bus speed and most likely longer latency, now that I think about it...

EDIT: oh, by the way, can OTTD take advantage of multiple cores?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 6:06 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 619
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region
No. Except when saving, I think.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 6:28 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:43 am
Posts: 1535
DerekCZ wrote:
it can stream full HD, 60FPS videos from youtube and can play 4K using its default media player

By using a dedicated hardware video decoding engine that has zero performance benefit for gaming.

_________________
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 8:12 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7160
Display performance is relatively easy to measure:

  1. make an empty map, not too big
  2. maximise the game window
  3. let the game run in fast forward for a minute
  4. note the amount of months passed
  5. restart the same map, this time make the window as small as possible
  6. run the game again in fast forward for the same time
  7. compare the amount of months passed

for some extra data points, you can try disabling "full animation" or use different blitters from the command line

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:27 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 375
Location: Denmark
Maybe also worth mentioning that there are blitters optimized for SSE2 and SSE4 (x86), but none optimized for any ARM SIMD instruction sets.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.