Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:59 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 479 posts ]  Go to page Previous 115 16 17 18 1924 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4690
Location: Lost in Music
Kruemelchen wrote:
*However, said vehicle doesn't adapt to the new max speed, unless the vehicle stops and accelerates again (either manually, or by stopping at a station etc.)

First guess, CB36 isn't being triggered for the vehicle. :twisted:

It would really help to have the test grf and a clean example savegame showing the problem (with no other grfs in the save). :)

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:35 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:47 pm
Posts: 116
andythenorth wrote:
Kruemelchen wrote:
First guess, CB36 isn't being triggered for the vehicle. :twisted:

It would really help to have the test grf and a clean example savegame showing the problem (with no other grfs in the save). :)

Thank you for looking into this :)

I attached a save file with the used grfs (one for the road type, one for the RVs). There is only 1 RV in the savegame, which shows said phenomenon.


Attachments:
TEST NRT Speed on unsurfaced roads.7z [610.15 KiB]
Downloaded 15 times

_________________
GRFs for NotRoadTypes: Country Roads | Supplemental Unsurfaced Road Vehicle Set
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:11 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:47 pm
Posts: 116
I think I also have a crash to report:
After an articulated vehicle enters a tile with a different road type, the game crashes with "Assertion failed at line 219 of /bamboo/src/roadveh_cmd.cpp: v->IsFrontEngine()"

(to me it looks like the RoadVehUpdateCache is also called, when an articulated part enters a tile with a different road type? :twisted:)


Attachments:
File comment: crash on articulated vehicle (part) entering tile with different road type
NRT crash articulated vehicle.7z [146.73 KiB]
Downloaded 10 times

_________________
GRFs for NotRoadTypes: Country Roads | Supplemental Unsurfaced Road Vehicle Set
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4690
Location: Lost in Music
Thanks. I pushed a fix to the assert https://github.com/andythenorth/NotRoad ... 2eb388f442

In the test savegame, the Trabi does change speed for me, depending on roadtype it goes 100km/h or 26km/h. But maybe there are other issues too?

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:38 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:47 pm
Posts: 116
The fix above makes it now work for articulated vehicles, too. Neat! :D

andythenorth wrote:
In the test savegame, the Trabi does change speed for me, depending on roadtype it goes 100km/h or 26km/h. But maybe there are other issues too?

That's weird it works for you ?(

I tested it again with a freshly compiled build, but for me the current speed of the Trabi isn't adopting to the (correctly changing) maximum speed. See attached screenshot.
For me the Trabi has to stop once to sync its current maximum speed with the maximum speed, which is updated by RoadVehicleUpdateCache. It doesn't change its current running speed when the cache is updated.

Attachment:
NRT speed not adopting.png
NRT speed not adopting.png [ 45.14 KiB | Viewed 1364 times ]


Edit: What is weird, too, is that current maximum speed is correctly adopted on another change of road type, however, it changes to the maximum speed of the old road type, not the new road type the vehicle just entered. Maybe the vehicle changes its speed before the new maximum speed is being updated?

So, for me it looks like this:
Vehicle runs on Road A at 32 km/h. Road A allows unlimited speed, and vehicle should run at 100 km/h.
Vehicle runs on Road B at 49 km/h. Road B allows for 49 km/h, but vehicle should run at 32 km/h.

_________________
GRFs for NotRoadTypes: Country Roads | Supplemental Unsurfaced Road Vehicle Set


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 9:06 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4690
Location: Lost in Music
Kruemelchen wrote:
For me the Trabi has to stop once to sync its current maximum speed with the maximum speed, which is updated by RoadVehicleUpdateCache. It doesn't change its current running speed when the cache is updated.


Works for me now, but needs more testing. ;) Fix is https://github.com/andythenorth/NotRoad ... 30ffca5e0f

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 9:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1582
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
It is said that, if you enable newgrf_developer_tools, you would just need to click on "Apply changes" and the Trabbi's speed will be set to 32 kph.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:35 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:47 pm
Posts: 116
andythenorth wrote:
Works for me now, but needs more testing. ;) Fix is https://github.com/andythenorth/NotRoad ... 30ffca5e0f

Great, this works now for me! :D

Thanks a lot :)

_________________
GRFs for NotRoadTypes: Country Roads | Supplemental Unsurfaced Road Vehicle Set


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:12 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4690
Location: Lost in Music
Kruemelchen wrote:
Great, this works now for me! :D

Thanks for testing. Please do report any other bugs you find :)

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 11:16 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:53 pm
Posts: 1668
Location: Russia, Samara
Good day to all :D . I decided to play a little and test the latest version with new types of roads.

This version of the game (from March 8, 2017) behaves differently each time. Recently, everything worked with a similar set of GRF's, and now crash I began to observe. And I use only spool021 and road_hog-1.3.0. The map size is 256 by 256. I create a route of two stops in the same city. After taking the game off pause, the bus only leaves the bus depot and immediately crash. It all looks pretty funny :lol: :? .

By the way, if in the game use polroad set, the game will also collapse. By the way, what impact in this version of the game have: different sets of objects, different sets of transport (water, air and rail) and different sets of railway stations? And among road transport compatible only: spool021 and road_hog-1.3.0. If I start to use other sets,then immediately the game crash. All other road sets cannot be used with new types of roads. Well, okay. It's not so bad. So that await the from you more detailed answer.


Attachments:
openttd-ratt-gd037ca99-road-and-tram-types-windows-win64 map 256 x 256.rar [580.08 KiB]
Downloaded 13 times

_________________
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 6:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1582
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
STD wrote:
Good day to all :D . I decided to play a little and test the latest version with new types of roads.

This version of the game (from March 8, 2017) behaves differently each time. Recently, everything worked with a similar set of GRF's, and now crash I began to observe. And I use only spool021 and road_hog-1.3.0. The map size is 256 by 256. I create a route of two stops in the same city. After taking the game off pause, the bus only leaves the bus depot and immediately crash. It all looks pretty funny :lol: :? .

By the way, if in the game use polroad set, the game will also collapse. By the way, what impact in this version of the game have: different sets of objects, different sets of transport (water, air and rail) and different sets of railway stations? And among road transport compatible only: spool021 and road_hog-1.3.0. If I start to use other sets,then immediately the game crash. All other road sets cannot be used with new types of roads. Well, okay. It's not so bad. So that await the from you more detailed answer.


I'd tell you to get also, alongside Road-Hog, Supermop's fantastic Generic NRT vehicles. Road-Hog is very basic.
Also, for which roadtype is the bus ? From which GRF is it ? What roadtype was the depot ? The road it rolled on before crashing ? The stops ?

Other GRFs will not collide with NRT. Maybe show the GRF list ?

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Last edited by acs121 on Wed Mar 21, 2018 8:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 8:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 10:43 am
Posts: 2007
Location: Venezia - Italia
STD wrote:
Good day to all :D . I decided to play a little and test the latest version with new types of roads.

This version of the game (from March 8, 2017) behaves differently each time. Recently, everything worked with a similar set of GRF's, and now crash I began to observe. And I use only spool021 and road_hog-1.3.0. The map size is 256 by 256. I create a route of two stops in the same city. After taking the game off pause, the bus only leaves the bus depot and immediately crash. It all looks pretty funny :lol: :? .

By the way, if in the game use polroad set, the game will also collapse. By the way, what impact in this version of the game have: different sets of objects, different sets of transport (water, air and rail) and different sets of railway stations? And among road transport compatible only: spool021 and road_hog-1.3.0. If I start to use other sets,then immediately the game crash. All other road sets cannot be used with new types of roads. Well, okay. It's not so bad. So that await the from you more detailed answer.


Hi!
Thank you for the report, I seem to have rounded the problem to the NPF pathfinder, please use YAPF for vehicles until we fix the problem :)

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
newgrf tests, see: newgrf test topic, my patches: Wolf01's Hire Point
Italian TTD Forum
Wiki Page


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 8:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4690
Location: Lost in Music
acs121 wrote:
I'd tell you to, instead get yourself Supermop's fantastic Generic NRT vehicles.

This is not helpful and discourages useful bug reports. Please don't do this

STD wrote:
Good day to all :D . I decided to play a little and test the latest version with new types of roads

Wolf is investigating the savegame and thinks that the assert is reproducible when using NPF rather than YAPF. We don't know the actual cause / solution yet, but thanks for the report :)

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 9:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 10:43 am
Posts: 2007
Location: Venezia - Italia
I think I fixed the problem, the fix will be available on tomorrow's build.

Please test the game with NPF so we can be sure that the fix is effective and doesn't break other things.

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
newgrf tests, see: newgrf test topic, my patches: Wolf01's Hire Point
Italian TTD Forum
Wiki Page


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:30 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:53 pm
Posts: 1668
Location: Russia, Samara
I conducted three different tests on your recommendations today :) Not a single crash did not happen during this time. I used different GRF's sets (see attachment). In the end, I finally realized the following: 1. other types of transport (water, rail and air) do not harm this version of the game - you can apply all the sets together, 2. different sets of objects also do not interfere in the game, 3. different sets of railway stations also do not interfere, 4. Also using the polroad set does not give a crash in the game. So far everything is great. I just didn't check the different map sizes.
Attachment:
Desktop.rar [4.24 MiB]
Downloaded 12 times


Edit (11:40 am (UTC+04:00)): And now I tested with a lot of graphics with different map sizes (see the third version of the test plus the polroad set) (64 by 64, 128 by 128, 256 by 256, 512 by 512, 1024 by 1024, 2048 by 2048, 4096 by 4096). The crash did not happen not in one of the following cases :D .

Edit (11:50 am (UTC+04:00)): I have to do a test only on the version of the game from March 22, 2018.

Edit (12:05 pm (UTC+04:00)): I did a test recently. Crash in the game did not happen within 4 months. The result is successful at the moment :)
Attachment:

_________________
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 11:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4690
Location: Lost in Music
STD wrote:
The result is successful at the moment :) Desktop_4 no crash (22.03.2018 with road types openttd).rar

Thanks, it's only with this kind of testing that NRT has a chance to get to trunk :)

It would be great if others could test.

The (official) cross-platform binary can be downloaded from https://www.openttd.org/en/download-ratt

NRT newgrfs can be found in the newgrf development forum, including those from supermop and Kruemelchen. ;)

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 2:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:53 pm
Posts: 1668
Location: Russia, Samara
andythenorth wrote:
STD wrote:
The result is successful at the moment :) Desktop_4 no crash (22.03.2018 with road types openttd).rar

Thanks, it's only with this kind of testing that NRT has a chance to get to trunk :)

It would be great if others could test.

The (official) cross-platform binary can be downloaded from https://www.openttd.org/en/download-ratt

NRT newgrfs can be found in the newgrf development forum, including those from supermop and Kruemelchen. ;)

I also hope that NRT will be included in the nightly version of OpenTTD :D . Because I like that the game has now become more types of roads. I always dreamed about it:) and what is the difference between yesterday's version (March 21) and today's (March 22)? What changes have been made besides the important fix? :)

It is with this link and I download all versions of the game with new types of roads :wink: . I'll checked in-game GRF created Kruemmelchen :)
Blends just fine. Now it is possible to carry out dirt roads through woods, mountain areas that was as in real life. After all not everywhere there is asphalt. Yes, there are sets of objects that allow you to put stones on the slopes of hills and mountains. That's pretty cool. :)


Attachments:
Random.png
Random.png [ 153.28 KiB | Viewed 831 times ]

_________________
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:48 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:49 pm
Posts: 56
Well, I had a sudden crash issue with RATT.
Now, since recent updates, there are some progress : OpenTTD detect the crash and produced a crash report.

Attachment:
crash.dmp [18.81 MiB]
Downloaded 13 times


Attachment:
crash.log.txt [17.86 KiB]
Downloaded 13 times

(had to add .txt to upload it).
When I'll feel courageous enough, I'll try to check what NewGRF cause this... or what combination of them.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 10:43 am
Posts: 2007
Location: Venezia - Italia
Lesarthois wrote:
Well, I had a sudden crash issue with RATT.
Now, since recent updates, there are some progress : OpenTTD detect the crash and produced a crash report.

crash.dmp

crash.log.txt
(had to add .txt to upload it).
When I'll feel courageous enough, I'll try to check what NewGRF cause this... or what combination of them.

The crash.sav savegame would be more handy, also are some more informations about what were you doing when the game crashed (like: "I was just watching it playing itself" or "I tried to build a road")

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
newgrf tests, see: newgrf test topic, my patches: Wolf01's Hire Point
Italian TTD Forum
Wiki Page


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: NotRoadTypes
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:25 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:49 pm
Posts: 56
Well that's the thing :
The game works well, until I try to load any saved game.
Then, after loading,t he game crashes when I hit "unpause".
I can load a savegame (at least in early stages of a game) but if I try to play it crashes.
But if I keep playing, the game doesn't crash.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 479 posts ]  Go to page Previous 115 16 17 18 1924 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.