A patch from a beginner

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

chindit
Engineer
Engineer

A patch from a beginner

Post by chindit »

Hi everybody.

Today, I'm very proud. I've made my first patch. Snif…

I'm not a pro at coding and it's the first time I collaborate to the code of an opensource project, so, I don't want to do any mistake.

I've decided to solve a bug witch allows you to create a conditional order with «less than 0» reliability. If you do that, conditional jump will be skipped because reliability will never be lower than 0.

To replicate the bug:
Create 3 stations and one (or more) vehicules with these orders:
1)Go to A
2)Go to B
3)CONDITIONAL : Jump to 1 if Reliability is LESS THAN 0
4)Go to C

Reliability is never lower than 0 so… it's kinda stange, no? Vehicules never jump to order 1.

I've solved the problem with the patch joined to this post.

So, I've a few questions:
1)Is my patch correct?
2)If it's OK, how can I submit it?

I've compiled and tested it and it works fine.

Thanks a lot
Chindit

EDIT: Patch updated. Latest version also in this post.
Attachments
message_less_than.diff
Newest pach with switch loop
(1.61 KiB) Downloaded 83 times
Last edited by chindit on 18 Aug 2015 17:34, edited 4 times in total.
Simons Mith
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Re: A patch from a beginner

Post by Simons Mith »

Thanks for looking at this, but having encountered the 'remaining lifetime' issue recently I thought I'd mention it to you.

Is this patch of yours also going to apply to load percentage less than zero - another impossiblity?
What about age?
Etc.?

(No criticism is intended, I just think altering one but leaving the others untouched bears thinking about.)