Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:00 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2771
I noticed there's now an option to double the UI size, which is epic! I've got a few technical questions for how to develop graphics for it...
1. How are the 2x graphics encoded in the base graphics? As alternate sprites for extra zoom levels, as for map extra zoom level sprites?
2. How do pixel fonts work now? Would 2x zoom pixel fonts give the expected result?
3. Can 2x sprites be provided for the main menu UI too, eg. the climate selection?

And a couple of feedback things:
1. The Game Settings window is too tall to be useful on typical resolutions with doubled UI. Wasn't there a policy on window sizes to always fit on the screen at 1x zoom 800x600 px, which I think this now breaks?
2. With doubled UI wouldn't it make sense for the viewport windows (expecially vehicles, also the extra viewport) to display the map at double zoom? And quad for quad?
3. Would it make sense to change the default map zoom when changing UI scaling (though this is a purely cosmetic thing).

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:08 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4426
Location: Standing by the jams
AFAIK it's just run-time scaling to 2x or 4x. There might be something I don't know.

Multiple windows don't work right at 2x zoom, including settings. Station building is also a gong show (the station tile window fills the area where you need to build) :D .

UI zoom is awesome though ;)

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Last edited by andythenorth on Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:36 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2771
I noticed the 2x UI uses vehicle sprites from the 2x zoom level... It also looks like my 2x zoom UI sprites are somehow used, even without the GRF installed...

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.