Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Feb 21, 2019 12:54 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2023 posts ]  Go to page Previous 198 99 100 101 102 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 11:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:46 pm
Posts: 1883
Location: Ipswich
Annoyingly, I've just found a regression in v0.29.1.
Avoid moving orders by dragging for the time being.

_________________
Ex TTDPatch Coder, Grumpy Greymuzzle
Avatar by MoonsongWolf.
Patch Pack, Github
Dad-Coder since April 2018


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 9:06 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:16 pm
Posts: 52
kamnet wrote:
mak wrote:
"The currently selected base graphics is missing 4 sprites. Please check for updates for the baseset." I use abase but still get the same with zbase and OpenGFX.


OpenTTD's master branch has added new sprites over the years. If you download the latest development version of OpenGFX, this error will go away. zBase is slow in its development, but it will be updated eventually. Unfortunately, aBase is no longer being developed, it was abandoned by its author.



Thanks kamnet,

pray tell me where to get the latest developement of OpenGFX.
Please be aware I am a complete and utter numpty and will require step by step guide and words of one syllable.

Thank you


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 9:33 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6462
Location: Eastern KY
mak wrote:
pray tell me where to get the latest developement of OpenGFX.


The current stable version is here, and should fix the issue:
https://www.openttd.org/downloads/openg ... atest.html

If it doesn't, the latest nightly development version is here:
http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/opengfx/nightlies/LATEST

Detailed installation instructions are included in the files.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 10:50 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:16 pm
Posts: 52
Kamnet

I thank you.

I have the latest stable but will try the nightly.

EDIT: No luck will leave it for now as it does not seem to having an effect on the game.

Thanks for your attempt.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 7:08 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:51 pm
Posts: 136
Location: Czech Republic
Crash log 0.29.0.

If this is a known error, I apologize for the unnecessary message.


Attachments:
crash.sav [1.52 MiB]
Downloaded 8 times
crash.txt [32.49 KiB]
Downloaded 13 times

_________________
Owner and admin of servers:
Experimental games 01 (92.63.57.152:3979), Experimental games 02 (92.63.57.152:3879), Experimental games 03 (92.63.57.152:3779).
My heightmaps: Flat Earth Map and United nations logo
My scenarios: Game Fallout 1,2,3 Map scenario
My gamescripts: City Founder GS
My newGRFs: ---
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 7:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:46 pm
Posts: 1883
Location: Ipswich
agentw4b wrote:
Crash log 0.29.0.

If this is a known error, I apologize for the unnecessary message.

This issue looks to be one that is already fixed in 0.29.1.
No need to apologise though, thanks for reporting it.

_________________
Ex TTDPatch Coder, Grumpy Greymuzzle
Avatar by MoonsongWolf.
Patch Pack, Github
Dad-Coder since April 2018


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 7:27 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:26 pm
Posts: 27
Hi there,
It seems Fast Forward is too fast!!!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 7:58 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 659
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region
Fast forward is when the game runs as fast as it can using as much of your PC's capacity as possible. If it's too fast, it's due to your computer's power.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 9:02 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:26 pm
Posts: 27
Ohh, so they did a lot to optimize the code that the performance jumped extremely.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 9:56 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:43 am
Posts: 1558
Basically window elements now update at the same speed regardless of the fast-forward setting, so things like click/release timers and subtle animations now work correctly in FFWD. As a side effect, this leaves more CPU time for the gameloop to run, and run it does...

_________________
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 2:28 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 11:04 pm
Posts: 46
With the two railtypes on a tile, is there a way to convert just one track and leave the other track unchanged? The convert tool still does full squares...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:34 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:25 pm
Posts: 33
Location: Frankfurt / Germany
Hey, it's me, again ^^

With 29.2, I get the following error while trying to make the application:
Code:
../Downloads/OpenTTD-PP29.2/src/saveload/extended_ver_sl.cpp:197:16: error: 
      redeclaration of '_sl_version' with a different type: 'uint16'
      (aka 'unsigned short') vs 'SaveLoadVersion'
        extern uint16 _sl_version;
                      ^
../Downloads/OpenTTD-PP29.2/src/saveload/saveload.h:908:25: note:
      previous declaration is here
        extern SaveLoadVersion _sl_version;
                               ^
1 error generated.
make[1]: *** [saveload/extended_ver_sl.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make: *** [all] Error 1


Any suggestions JGR?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:46 pm
Posts: 1883
Location: Ipswich
mrjack2 wrote:
With the two railtypes on a tile, is there a way to convert just one track and leave the other track unchanged? The convert tool still does full squares...

No, this requires removing the track and re-building it with the new rail type at present.

Ro(V)eO wrote:
Hey, it's me, again ^^

With 29.2, I get the following error while trying to make the application:
Code:
../Downloads/OpenTTD-PP29.2/src/saveload/extended_ver_sl.cpp:197:16: error: 
      redeclaration of '_sl_version' with a different type: 'uint16'
      (aka 'unsigned short') vs 'SaveLoadVersion'
        extern uint16 _sl_version;
                      ^
../Downloads/OpenTTD-PP29.2/src/saveload/saveload.h:908:25: note:
      previous declaration is here
        extern SaveLoadVersion _sl_version;
                               ^
1 error generated.
make[1]: *** [saveload/extended_ver_sl.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make: *** [all] Error 1


Any suggestions JGR?

Thanks for reporting this, I've committed a fix.

_________________
Ex TTDPatch Coder, Grumpy Greymuzzle
Avatar by MoonsongWolf.
Patch Pack, Github
Dad-Coder since April 2018


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 12:00 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:25 pm
Posts: 33
Location: Frankfurt / Germany
JGR wrote:
Thanks for reporting this, I've committed a fix.


You're welcome! Obviously, I like the PP-features so I DO want to get the latest patch running :P
And how better than with reporting issues? :wink:


Next try, this time without terminating errors :mrgreen: :bow:

Thanks JGR, great work!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6389
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
A minor glitch that occurs in the current version, and i do mean minor.

If you buy a unit whilst paused (which i often do, as i do larger build projects in paused mode), the window for that vehicle shows 'send vehicle to depot' instead of the option to clone or copy the vehicle. As soon as you unpause the game, it switches to the correct one. Looks like it doesn't set the right default property when you create the vehicle, but as soon as the loop is turned back on, it instantly knows "oops, wrong display, its stopped in a depot".

It isn't game breaking, its just a bit irritating for me personally, i might be the only person who builds in this manner! It's still possible to clone the vehicle by going to the depot window and pressing the clone button on that, so its just an extra bit of mouse running really to a different button.

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:16 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:46 pm
Posts: 1883
Location: Ipswich
Redirect Left wrote:
A minor glitch that occurs in the current version, and i do mean minor.

If you buy a unit whilst paused (which i often do, as i do larger build projects in paused mode), the window for that vehicle shows 'send vehicle to depot' instead of the option to clone or copy the vehicle. As soon as you unpause the game, it switches to the correct one. Looks like it doesn't set the right default property when you create the vehicle, but as soon as the loop is turned back on, it instantly knows "oops, wrong display, its stopped in a depot".

It isn't game breaking, its just a bit irritating for me personally, i might be the only person who builds in this manner! It's still possible to clone the vehicle by going to the depot window and pressing the clone button on that, so its just an extra bit of mouse running really to a different button.

I noticed this as well but then forgot about it, it's due to upstream trunk changes.
I've committed a fix, it'll be in the next release.

_________________
Ex TTDPatch Coder, Grumpy Greymuzzle
Avatar by MoonsongWolf.
Patch Pack, Github
Dad-Coder since April 2018


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 7:34 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:36 am
Posts: 60
Greetings JGR,

Thanks as always for your fine work. For once I'm not here to nag with a bug report, but I am curious to see if you can extended a feature I've noticed in the latest version to other areas. Click and drag areas for purchasing land is useful, is there any chance this could be extended to include objects? Many NewGRF objects would be easier to place with such a feature (like the eyecandy dutch motorways). Just a wee thought :wink:


Cheers,

Tin

_________________
Regards,

Tinny/Tintinfan. :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 9:50 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 3029
Location: Straya
Bug report: the ships are drifting :P

Attachment:
boat.gif
boat.gif [ 109.69 KiB | Viewed 344 times ]


I first noticed it in the title screen. It seems that sometimes when ships turn around at a dock or buoy they face the wrong direction while travelling. Then I tested it with NewGRFs but it doesn't affect NewGRFs (i.e. FISH) that update the vehicle sprite as soon as it starts moving. Also the ships work correctly if you make the distance between the buoys bigger.

edit: after further playing I've seen ships do a little dance when leaving a dock, and travelling backwards until they change angle. So lots of strange ship behavour in general...

Tested in JGRPP 0.29.2 on Windows 10 64, doesn't happen in the 20190201 nightly

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:46 pm
Posts: 1883
Location: Ipswich
Emperor Jake wrote:
Bug report: the ships are drifting :P

boat.gif

I first noticed it in the title screen. It seems that sometimes when ships turn around at a dock or buoy they face the wrong direction while travelling. Then I tested it with NewGRFs but it doesn't affect NewGRFs (i.e. FISH) that update the vehicle sprite as soon as it starts moving. Also the ships work correctly if you make the distance between the buoys bigger.

edit: after further playing I've seen ships do a little dance when leaving a dock, and travelling backwards until they change angle. So lots of strange ship behavour in general...

Tested in JGRPP 0.29.2 on Windows 10 64, doesn't happen in the 20190201 nightly

Thanks for reporting this, I've committed a fix which will be in the next release.
This is due to an oversight on my part when merging in the ship rotation feature from trunk.

Tintinfan wrote:
Greetings JGR,

Thanks as always for your fine work. For once I'm not here to nag with a bug report, but I am curious to see if you can extended a feature I've noticed in the latest version to other areas. Click and drag areas for purchasing land is useful, is there any chance this could be extended to include objects? Many NewGRF objects would be easier to place with such a feature (like the eyecandy dutch motorways). Just a wee thought :wink:


Cheers,

Tin

NewGRF Objects have a number of complications due to taking up more than one tile, and having NewGRF-controlled placement conditions.
In due course I will look into the feasibility of investigating what might be able to be done about this.

_________________
Ex TTDPatch Coder, Grumpy Greymuzzle
Avatar by MoonsongWolf.
Patch Pack, Github
Dad-Coder since April 2018


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 7:04 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:21 am
Posts: 4
Hi, is there a downloadable version of openttd with jgr's patch pack for MacOS? I'm programming illiterate so I wouldn't know how to compile it myself. Grateful for anyone who can post a link. Cheers!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2023 posts ]  Go to page Previous 198 99 100 101 102 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.