Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:01 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 1753 posts ]  Go to page Previous 155 56 57 58 5988 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 4:12 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 450
Can someone help me figure out how to put my NewGRFs and save game from the PC version of this patch pack to the Android version?

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Tue Dec 26, 2017 3:54 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 7:48 pm
Posts: 265
Copy them to your SD card to Android/data/org.openttd.jgrpp/files/.openttd/save


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:40 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 450
pelya wrote:
Copy them to your SD card to Android/data/org.openttd.jgrpp/files/.openttd/save


Found it. For some reason the Android/data/org.openttd.jgrpp folder wasn't showing up before. Also, my phone doesn't have external SD cards.

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:18 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 450
I am not seeing town names. At all. Screenshot to demonstrate with new game and no GRFs.


Attachments:
File comment: Town names not showing?
Unnamed, 2518-01-01.png [345.2 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:42 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 6:38 pm
Posts: 44
Location: France
Hi there :)

First of all, thanks JGR for the patch pack ;)

Is that build known as desync-less for large MP game ? Hundreds of trains, few players, large map, new industries, ... ?

XaT


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:49 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 450
XaTriX wrote:
Hi there :)

First of all, thanks JGR for the patch pack ;)

Is that build known as desync-less for large MP game ? Hundreds of trains, few players, large map, new industries, ... ?

XaT


The screenshot isn't from a multiplayer game.

I first had the issue with a 16???x8??? map with many GRFs, however...

I tested it with, and provided that screenshot of, a brand new 64x64 map with no GRFs loaded. This is not a NewGRF issue, it's game-wide.

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:22 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:46 pm
Posts: 1836
Location: Ipswich
SimYouLater wrote:
I am not seeing town names. At all. Screenshot to demonstrate with new game and no GRFs.

A config, savegame and any other info which you can supply would be helpful.
This is not an issue which has previously been observed.

XaTriX wrote:
Hi there :)

First of all, thanks JGR for the patch pack ;)

Is that build known as desync-less for large MP game ? Hundreds of trains, few players, large map, new industries, ... ?

XaT

There are no known desync bugs at present.

_________________
Ex TTDPatch Coder, Grumpy Greymuzzle
Avatar by MoonsongWolf.
Patch Pack, Github
Dad-Coder since April 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:04 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 450
JGR wrote:
SimYouLater wrote:
I am not seeing town names. At all. Screenshot to demonstrate with new game and no GRFs.

A config, savegame and any other info which you can supply would be helpful.
This is not an issue which has previously been observed.

XaTriX wrote:
Hi there :)

First of all, thanks JGR for the patch pack ;)

Is that build known as desync-less for large MP game ? Hundreds of trains, few players, large map, new industries, ... ?

XaT

There are no known desync bugs at present.


(Removed due to passwords inside)

Will be uploading a zip of my entire OpenTTD folder if needed.

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Last edited by SimYouLater on Fri Dec 29, 2017 2:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 12:33 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:17 pm
Posts: 62
just a hint/sidenote @SimYouLater:

maybe you'll want to hide "server_password", "rcon_password" and "admin_password" next time(s) when sharing cfg files ^^


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 2:54 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 450
ST2 wrote:
just a hint/sidenote @SimYouLater:

maybe you'll want to hide "server_password", "rcon_password" and "admin_password" next time(s) when sharing cfg files ^^


Ah, I guess I'll want new passwords. Good thing I only used those passwords with OpenTTD.

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:46 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 450
How would I post a copy of my install? It's too large for the forums.

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:03 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:17 pm
Posts: 62
SimYouLater wrote:
Ah, I guess I'll want new passwords. Good thing I only used those passwords with OpenTTD.


A bit talking on the side, because never tested JGR's Patch Pack outside SP mode, but I think most important is: version and settings used (without PW's this time ^^).

One of the common errors that I've seen, or lets calling it "not used to", is trying to run several and/or modified instances of OpenTTD without taking care of where the "openttd.cfg" file is.
And JGR's Patch Pack, when unzipped and run, will load the "openttd.cfg" file of a Vanilla version, if installed. And vice-versa.

So, my suggestion is: place "openttd.cfg" on the same folder as the executable openttd file (even if empty, openttd will build it), and this way you can run different instances, versions, or with different settings. Whatever comes to your mind ^^


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:01 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:56 am
Posts: 137
Location: France
Hi

Don't know if it has been asked yet, but i have a problem compiling

i'm using the r27935 from svn, then apply the diff file
configure and make or OK, but when i launch a dedicated server, i can't connect using the client provided on first page

There is a version mismatch
dedicated server got version : jgrpp-0.22.1-M-
win32/64 clients are : jgrpp-0.22.1

How can i compile to get the same versions on the dedicated serveur ?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:24 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:56 am
Posts: 137
Location: France
Answering to myself

had to modify the findversion.sh like this (but launch it manually once before in case, and make sure you have the .ottdrev-vc file

Code:
elif [ -f "$ROOT_DIR/.ottdrev-vc" ]; then
        VERSION_DATA="`cat "$ROOT_DIR/.ottdrev-vc" | sed -n -e '1 p;'`"
        HASH_DATA="`cat "$ROOT_DIR/.ottdrev-vc" | sed -n -e '2 p;'`"
        REV="`echo "$VERSION_DATA" | cut -f 1 -d'       '`"
        REV_NR="`echo "$VERSION_DATA" | cut -f 2 -d'    '`"
        MODIFIED="`echo "$VERSION_DATA" | cut -f 3 -d'  '`"
        CLEAN_REV="`echo "$VERSION_DATA" | cut -f 4 -d' '`"
#        if [ "$MODIFIED" = "2" ]; then
#                CLEAN_REV="`echo "$CLEAN_REV" | sed -e 's/M$//'`"
#        fi
#        BRANCH="`echo "$REV" | sed -n -e "s|^${CLEAN_REV}M\?-\(.\+\)$|\1|p"`"
#        REV="$CLEAN_REV"
#        if ! $ROOT_DIR/version_utils.sh -o; then
#                MODIFIED="1"
#        else
#                CURRENT_HASH="`$ROOT_DIR/version_utils.sh -s`"
#                if [ "$CURRENT_HASH" != "$HASH_DATA" ]; then
#                        MODIFIED="2"
#                        if [ -n "$BRANCH" ]; then
#                                BRANCH="$BRANCH-"
#                        fi
 #                       BRANCH="${BRANCH}H`echo "$CURRENT_HASH" | cut -c 1-8`"
#                fi
#        fi
 


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:20 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 450
ST2 wrote:
SimYouLater wrote:
Ah, I guess I'll want new passwords. Good thing I only used those passwords with OpenTTD.


A bit talking on the side, because never tested JGR's Patch Pack outside SP mode, but I think most important is: version and settings used (without PW's this time ^^).

One of the common errors that I've seen, or lets calling it "not used to", is trying to run several and/or modified instances of OpenTTD without taking care of where the "openttd.cfg" file is.
And JGR's Patch Pack, when unzipped and run, will load the "openttd.cfg" file of a Vanilla version, if installed. And vice-versa.

So, my suggestion is: place "openttd.cfg" on the same folder as the executable openttd file (even if empty, openttd will build it), and this way you can run different instances, versions, or with different settings. Whatever comes to your mind ^^


I don't have a copy of vanilla OpenTTD on my computer. I even removed other copies of JGR when I noticed there were some, no dice. I'll try redoing the install and see if that works.

EDIT
It looks like the cfg file went bad somehow. I had to start over with a fresh one, fortunately my NewGRF settings weren't the problem. Thank you!

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:10 pm
Posts: 1082
I noticed, that "velocity reduced until depot visited" improved patch breakdown occurs in case of trains, but not in case of road vehicles (not tested ships and airplanes yet).
Is it a bug or feature? In my opinion, it is rather unwanted feature, together with repair payment, road vehicles have now a big advantage over trains - no need to send truck/buses to depot and pay for breakdowns.

_________________
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 5:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:46 pm
Posts: 1836
Location: Ipswich
Chico008 wrote:
Hi

Don't know if it has been asked yet, but i have a problem compiling

i'm using the r27935 from svn, then apply the diff file
configure and make or OK, but when i launch a dedicated server, i can't connect using the client provided on first page

There is a version mismatch
dedicated server got version : jgrpp-0.22.1-M-
win32/64 clients are : jgrpp-0.22.1

How can i compile to get the same versions on the dedicated serveur ?

This suggests that the patched source is not identical to that of the release, probably because one or more source files have have been manually edited in some way.
In general patching the version detection script is not a good solution as the whole point of the modification check is to avoid the multi-player desync issues which can occur when a modified build is incorrectly labelled as an unmodified release build, and is subsequently used with unmodified release builds.

McZapkie wrote:
I noticed, that "velocity reduced until depot visited" improved patch breakdown occurs in case of trains, but not in case of road vehicles (not tested ships and airplanes yet).
Is it a bug or feature? In my opinion, it is rather unwanted feature, together with repair payment, road vehicles have now a big advantage over trains - no need to send truck/buses to depot and pay for breakdowns.

The code suggests that this is intended.
Trains already have so many advantages over road vehicles that this does not seem to be a significant issue.

_________________
Ex TTDPatch Coder, Grumpy Greymuzzle
Avatar by MoonsongWolf.
Patch Pack, Github
Dad-Coder since April 2018


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:10 pm
Posts: 1082
JGR wrote:
The code suggests that this is intended.
Trains already have so many advantages over road vehicles that this does not seem to be a significant issue.


Maybe this setting was justified in case of standalone breakdown patch, but in case of this patch pack,
with both patches: improved breakdown and repair payment are active - players can cheat by avoiding using depots, because there is no penalty for lack of service.

On the other hand, these permanent speed limits can be annoying, if there is 1 mph limit and you need t wait eons until train will reach depot. It was already pointed out in Improved Breakdown Patch thread.
Minimal velocity should be clamped by let say 10 mph.

_________________
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:00 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 2:07 am
Posts: 330
Location: Berlin
Hello

McZapkie wrote:
… in case of this patch pack, with both patches: improved breakdown and repair payment are active - players can cheat by avoiding using depots [for road vehicles], because there is no penalty for lack of service.

On the other hand, these permanent speed limits can be annoying, if there is 1 mph limit and you need t wait eons until train will reach depot. It was already pointed out in Improved Breakdown Patch thread.
Minimal velocity should be clamped by let say 10 mph.

Did you ever found a speed limit of 1mph for a broken rail vehicle? I can't remember an experience of a speed limit lower than 40 km/h (kph) for a broken rail vehicle. I play the patchpack at least since two years (first documented translation for version 0.7.1 (2015-11-01) in the changelog of the opening posting).

So IMHO there is no reason to hyperventilate. ;-)

Tschö, Auge

_________________
further development of My Little Forum 1


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: JGR's Patch Pack
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:31 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:10 pm
Posts: 1082
Auge wrote:
Hello
Did you ever found a speed limit of 1mph for a broken rail vehicle?

Of course, I bought bankrupt company and got engine with 255 failures and 1mph speed limit. Additionally, the cost of the depot was above million GPB, so I was breathing heavily ;)

_________________
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 1753 posts ]  Go to page Previous 155 56 57 58 5988 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.