Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help (Updated 02/23/2017)

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

viki2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Dec 2011 01:06

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by viki2 »

There is a bug while compiling on ubuntu64 with gcc: narrowing conversion error

I Fixed it in ./src/comand_type.h in Zeile 462 (struct CommandContainer):

Code: Select all

---	uint32 cmd;                      ///< command being executed.
+++	uint64 cmd;                      ///< command being executed.
Version: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patchpack v1.7.55 Full source.7z

Hopefully the maintainers read this post. Thanks fore all their work makes lot's of fun, to play this patchpack. :)
User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9432
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by planetmaker »

viki2 wrote:There is a bug while compiling on ubuntu64 with gcc: narrowing conversion error

I Fixed it in ./src/comand_type.h in Zeile 462 (struct CommandContainer):

Code: Select all

---	uint32 cmd;                      ///< command being executed.
+++	uint64 cmd;                      ///< command being executed.
Version: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patchpack v1.7.55 Full source.7z

Hopefully the maintainers read this post. Thanks fore all their work makes lot's of fun, to play this patchpack. :)
That's the wrong place to fix it. Commands *are* 32-bit and need not be defined larger. Apply a proper conversion where you cast it to a 64-bit variable or define that as 32-bit as well, if feasible.
pi1985
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 107
Joined: 16 May 2013 08:22
Location: Ukraine

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by pi1985 »

viki2 wrote:There is a bug while compiling on ubuntu64 with gcc: narrowing conversion error

I Fixed it in ./src/comand_type.h in Zeile 462 (struct CommandContainer):

Code: Select all

---	uint32 cmd;                      ///< command being executed.
+++	uint64 cmd;                      ///< command being executed.
Version: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patchpack v1.7.55 Full source.7z

Hopefully the maintainers read this post. Thanks fore all their work makes lot's of fun, to play this patchpack. :)
Where was that bug?
Earlier I've posted solve for bug like this.
Image
Image
Image.
viki2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Dec 2011 01:06

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by viki2 »

pi1985 wrote: Where was that bug?
src/road_gui.cpp:250:82: error: narrowing conversion of ‘cmd’ from ‘uint64 {aka long long unsigned int}’ to ‘uint32
pi1985 wrote:Earlier I've posted solve for bug like this.
I wasn't sure about the cmd and don't want to cast importent things away. I've attached a diff like you sugested. thx for the hint.
Attachments
conversationFix.diff
(295 Bytes) Downloaded 129 times
viki2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Dec 2011 01:06

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by viki2 »

Found another Bug. Ottd crashes when creating a "go to nearest depot" order for a train.

Diff which fixed it for me and my Crash report is attached. Hopefully this time I fixed it the right way… Game now seems to behalves as expected
Attachments
nearest-depot_fix.diff
(456 Bytes) Downloaded 125 times
crash-log.txt
without the fix
(6.5 KiB) Downloaded 108 times
TinyMusic
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1422
Joined: 02 Feb 2013 02:03

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by TinyMusic »

This patch pack always freezes within minutes when the game starts :(
Any idea what might happen (not NewGRFs this time)
Formerly known as UseYourIllusion.
Java Scenario Found Here - Version 2 out
[tweɪ̂ pû tɕʰì wɔ̀ mǐlɤ lû tɕʰìŋ nì pɑ́ŋmɑ̌ŋ]
viki2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Dec 2011 01:06

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by viki2 »

UseYourIllusion wrote:This patch pack always freezes within minutes when the game starts :(
Any idea what might happen (not NewGRFs this time)
Please, upload these files: crash.dmp, crash.sav, crash.log, crash.png. They can be found next to your openttd.cfg
Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4763
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by Alberth »

You only get crash dump files with a crash.

"freezing" usually means, the program is still running (as in, not crashed), but I cannot play the game,
viki2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Dec 2011 01:06

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by viki2 »

Alberth wrote:You only get crash dump files with a crash.

"freezing" usually means, the program is still running (as in, not crashed), but I cannot play the game,
ok. Anyway more information is need: configuration (map size, …), version, system (win, unix,mac,…), savegame etc.

I can't reproduce his bug.
TinyMusic
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1422
Joined: 02 Feb 2013 02:03

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by TinyMusic »

Can't you just start a new game, and see what happens?

Otherwise, start a new game, with pre-loaded NewGRFs, connect a few towns with trains, and try that. I had Cargodist, vehicle separation, timetables on.

Which leads me to a question. Does changing Advanced Settings in-game do anything harmful?
Formerly known as UseYourIllusion.
Java Scenario Found Here - Version 2 out
[tweɪ̂ pû tɕʰì wɔ̀ mǐlɤ lû tɕʰìŋ nì pɑ́ŋmɑ̌ŋ]
TinyMusic
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1422
Joined: 02 Feb 2013 02:03

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by TinyMusic »

Double post

So I tried a new game with no NewGRFs. I connected two towns by train. The first has timetable automated. Since the passenger number in the stations are growing, I added more trains. But there wasn't an equal vehicle separation and it looked messy. So I went to Advanced Settings and turned on the use vehicle separation by timetable for trains.

The game froze as soon as I clicked button.
Formerly known as UseYourIllusion.
Java Scenario Found Here - Version 2 out
[tweɪ̂ pû tɕʰì wɔ̀ mǐlɤ lû tɕʰìŋ nì pɑ́ŋmɑ̌ŋ]
R-TEAM
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 60
Joined: 19 Jan 2005 10:34
Location: Germany

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by R-TEAM »

Hi,

use you the zBase 24bit Pack ?
I haved an similar problem (game crashes randomly after 1-10min play time) by using this base pack ...
(the game inform me that sprites are missing in this pack - but i have thinked this only get gfx errors ....)
After i switch to the actual default OpenGFX+ pack (only 8 bit ...) the patch pack runs fine ...
(with all adv. options in use ...) W7-64Pro / 16GB

[but have not maked ATM an full game - still on config the many options ... so ATM i have no probs ..]

Regards
R-TEAM
pi1985
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 107
Joined: 16 May 2013 08:22
Location: Ukraine

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by pi1985 »

Yes, this version has a bug with automatic timetables (it may freeze when click Automate button).
I'm testing new version with this bug fixed (at least those who test it with me says that no more freezes).
Do not use now automatic timetables until next release.
Image
Image
Image.
pi1985
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 107
Joined: 16 May 2013 08:22
Location: Ukraine

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by pi1985 »

viki2 wrote:Found another Bug. Ottd crashes when creating a "go to nearest depot" order for a train.
It's strangely, but I can't reproduse this bug. I tested this on several existing games and new ones. But this bug didn't appear.
Image
Image
Image.
R-TEAM
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 60
Joined: 19 Jan 2005 10:34
Location: Germany

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by R-TEAM »

Hi,

have found an problem .... :P
The game runs (ATM) nice (have not used timetable now) - but if i add an "townCars" AI (StreetTrafic2 or TownCars5) it crashes right after the AI inizialized.
error :

Code: Select all

 Assertion failed at line 730 of ..\src\command.cpp: res.GetCost() == res2.GetCost() && res.Failed() == res2.Failed() 
Regards
R-TEAM
R-TEAM
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 60
Joined: 19 Jan 2005 10:34
Location: Germany

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by R-TEAM »

Hi,

after longer play - the game crashes again with the error "Assertion failed at line 730..."

It looks it crashes by non-towncars AI later, by town cars AIs right after initializing the AI...
Have investigated this further and found the config settings who crash the game with AIs ->

Incrase constructions cost near town

Without this "On" - the game dont crash with TownAIs ....

Regards
R-TEAM
User avatar
Hamilton2007
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 289
Joined: 16 Nov 2008 10:57
Location: Belgium

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by Hamilton2007 »

Long away from the game, but as i understand this build has no cargodist??
Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8272
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by Eddi »

Hamilton2007 wrote:Long away from the game, but as i understand this build has no cargodist??
pi1985 wrote:Version 1.7.xx Full based on lase cargodist release avaliable separately from trunk (gf401864b-cd, trunk 25337). Lite version based on clean trunk 25337.
Full and Lite versions are identical except cargodist.
Because cargodist is no longer avaliable separately, new releases will be based on trunk, and Lite version will no longer developed.
not sure how you can misinterprete that.
R-TEAM
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 60
Joined: 19 Jan 2005 10:34
Location: Germany

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by R-TEAM »

Hi,

IMHO it have (have the same config options as the HardPatch pack i used before ....)

And BTW. .. many clipping errors from high buildings ingame (have this not seen on Hardpatch Pack ...)

Regards
R-TEAM
User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8588
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: OpenTTD Spring 2013 Patch Pack - English Help Topic

Post by kamnet »

R-TEAM wrote:And BTW. .. many clipping errors from high buildings ingame (have this not seen on Hardpatch Pack ...)
Y'know, I noticed this too! I figured it was just me using too many NewGRFs at once. :D
Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 45 guests