Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:26 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 82 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:51 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:56 pm
Posts: 126
Hello everyone,

this patch includes 2 additional airports called "Intercontinental 2" and "Circle"( If you don't like my names, you can post which you like and if I'll think your is/are better, I can change them :P ).

Installation: After applying patch and compilation, copy one of the grf from ha_grfs folder into your newgrf folder(if are you using original graphic, copy huge_airports_original, if are you using opengfx, copy opengfx... or just both of them :D ) and in game, add it to your active grfs.

If you'd like to play with opengfx+ airports, give bigger priority to huge airports newgrf!

BE SURE, YOU ALWAYS USE ONE OF THOSE NEWGRFS, OTHERWISE GAME WILL CRASH, WHEN YOU BUILD CIRCLE AIRPORT.

latest patch file: https://www.tt-forums.net/download/file.php?id=154136
latest NewGRF files: https://www.tt-forums.net/download/file.php?id=154137

Changes:
v6: Updated against r23729.
v5: Added compatibility with opengfx+ airports, little code changes
v4: Added helicopter support for Circle airport. Added airport previews of both of airports. Fixed desync bug caused by non-saveload of 2 new variables.
v3: No longer need changed openttd.grf, now are 2 new airport tiles (used on Circle airport) via NewGRF, so it's OpenGFX fully compatible
v2: Added helicopter support for Intercontinental 2 airport. Upgraded moving scheme for Circle airport.

Image

Sorry for my bad english.


Attachments:
airports.png [334.01 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times


Last edited by Karn on Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:08 pm, edited 7 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 7:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:21 am
Posts: 2014
God bless you!

_________________
Image

KITT


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 9:03 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 8:54 pm
Posts: 226
Location: Vilnius, LT
Nice !!! :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 11:02 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2377
Location: Alberta, Canada
I don't suppose you could make one where the terminals are on the outside? I have always wondered how the passengers get to the terminals.

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 5:55 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:34 pm
Posts: 2652
SwissFan91 wrote:
I don't suppose you could make one where the terminals are on the outside? I have always wondered how the passengers get to the terminals.


Tunnels? Magic?

_________________
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 6:25 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 1628
Location: Netherlands, Enschede
the same way they get to the bus stops, docks and train stations - they jump.

what are the noise levels on those massive things? and have you measured throughput?

_________________
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
The path to riches, a report on playing on a daylength server on ultra hard mode.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 7:50 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4538
Location: /home/sweden
If you force aircrafts to service at each time they land at an airport (using orders), I think the depots on the circle airport may become bottlenecks as there is some 3-4 tiles long dual-direction single lane. At least if it is coded that only one aircraft can exist on this block at a time and it can't be operated so that eg. 3 aircrafts can go close together in one direction to the hangar and then the lane shifts direction and some aircrafts go in the other direction.

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6183
Location: Eastern KY
Zuu wrote:
If you force aircrafts to service at each time they land at an airport (using orders), I think the depots on the circle airport may become bottlenecks as there is some 3-4 tiles long dual-direction single lane. At least if it is coded that only one aircraft can exist on this block at a time and it can't be operated so that eg. 3 aircrafts can go close together in one direction to the hangar and then the lane shifts direction and some aircrafts go in the other direction.


Agreed, it would be better to put them at the outer edges, nearer to the runways.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 10:53 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:56 pm
Posts: 126
Korenn wrote:
what are the noise levels on those massive things?

Intercontinental 2 - 30, Circle - 50.

Korenn wrote:
and have you measured throughput?

I tested how many International airports (because they are the most stable and have almost same throughput as Intercontinental) they can beat (without loading passengers, - just enter and leave terminals). Intercontinental 2 was equal to 2 International airports and Circle was something between 3-4 International airports. I did same test, but between two Circle airports with very short distance. They could handle around 35 aircrafts. In the game, which I'm playing now, I'm using Circle airport as a central intersection for 100 aircrafts(it's really nice with YACD :D ) and it's still not overloaded.

kamnet wrote:
Zuu wrote:
If you force aircrafts to service at each time they land at an airport (using orders), I think the depots on the circle airport may become bottlenecks as there is some 3-4 tiles long dual-direction single lane. At least if it is coded that only one aircraft can exist on this block at a time and it can't be operated so that eg. 3 aircrafts can go close together in one direction to the hangar and then the lane shifts direction and some aircrafts go in the other direction.


Agreed, it would be better to put them at the outer edges, nearer to the runways.


I think, that should be easier implement go to next hangar, if taxiway outside hangar is full, than remake airport moving scheme, so I'll try next hangar first...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:25 pm 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7164
it might make more sense to put the hangars on the outside, in the triangular section at each corner. turn the current hangar entrances into loading bays instead.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 2:54 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:56 pm
Posts: 126
After some bug-fixes and adding of basic features, I think, I can release (I hope) stable (compiled) release. Don't forget (in title screen->NewGRF Settings) to add one of the huge airports newgrf(depends, which graphic set you are using) into your active newgrf list. Otherwise game will crash, when you build Circle airport.

Edit: Attached (source) of patch and grf to this post


Attachments:
openttd_win32_r23289_ha_v4_with_grfs.rar [4.91 MiB]
Downloaded 882 times
File comment: newgrfs with source
ha_grfs.rar [94.85 KiB]
Downloaded 372 times
openttd-r23289-ha_v4.patch [141.43 KiB]
Downloaded 389 times


Last edited by Karn on Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:49 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:16 am
Posts: 2
Hi there,

Thanks for fine-tuning this development. Just wondering if you are able to compile a version that can run on 64-bit win7?

Thanks in advance, and apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Regards,
jucheng


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:14 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:56 pm
Posts: 126
This version should work on 64-bit win7. I tested it on 64-bit win XP and 7 and everything was working fine. If there is any error message, just post it here...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:37 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:16 am
Posts: 2
ah yes...so it is...

fault was with me, didn't copy over the whole language folder. done so now, and working out fine.

thanks again for the development and the compilation :D

cheers,
jucheng


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:13 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:56 pm
Posts: 126
After some changes in nightly, I decided that is time to release new version of patch. In trunk is again raised version of saveload, so new patch (again) breaks backwards compatibility. Also new version of newgrf is needed.


Attachments:
openttd-r23437-ha_v5.patch [145.48 KiB]
Downloaded 191 times
ha_grfs_v2.rar [88.2 KiB]
Downloaded 233 times
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:55 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 245
Location: New York
When is this getting put in the trunk? The Circle Airport is the hub I need for my cargo destination games, as opposed to stringing together several airports with hundreds of buses between them. :P


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 6:41 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9040
Location: Sol d
edk256 wrote:
When is this getting put in the trunk?

It won't in this way.

You can in trunk already define via NewGRF arbitrary airport tile layouts. What is lacking is the definition of arbitrary plane movement patters on these kind of airports via NewGRF. An implementation of the latter would be required and is the desired path.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:00 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:56 pm
Posts: 126
Updated to r23729.
NewGRF files change(s): Removed ugly animated pixels from airports previews.


Attachments:
openttd-r23729-ha_v6.patch [146.38 KiB]
Downloaded 1857 times
ha_grfs_v3.rar [90.09 KiB]
Downloaded 2714 times
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 2:32 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 5:18 am
Posts: 69
Location: Belgium
ha_grfs_v3.rar downed, add in my active grf list.... but nothing....
Only the ones i always had are shown....


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Huge Airports
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:58 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 97
You will need to properly apply the patch. Not as easy to use as a NewGRF.
See: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=21678

_________________
Everybody can contribute to OTTD! It does not require you to be an IT specialist or designer. And it does not take days or weeks of your time either.
There are many simple yet important tasks like translations, investigating facts and details and many other that need work and if you help a bit then the experienced developers can focus more on making OTTD even more awesome!
OTTD = Awesomeness created by a whole lot of volunteers, be one of them if you like the game!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 82 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Eddi and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.