Huge Airports

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Karn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 127
Joined: 02 Oct 2011 18:56

Huge Airports

Post by Karn »

Hello everyone,

this patch includes 2 additional airports called "Intercontinental 2" and "Circle"( If you don't like my names, you can post which you like and if I'll think your is/are better, I can change them :P ).

Installation: After applying patch and compilation, copy one of the grf from ha_grfs folder into your newgrf folder(if are you using original graphic, copy huge_airports_original, if are you using opengfx, copy opengfx... or just both of them :D ) and in game, add it to your active grfs.

If you'd like to play with opengfx+ airports, give bigger priority to huge airports newgrf!

BE SURE, YOU ALWAYS USE ONE OF THOSE NEWGRFS, OTHERWISE GAME WILL CRASH, WHEN YOU BUILD CIRCLE AIRPORT.

latest patch file: https://www.tt-forums.net/download/file.php?id=154136
latest NewGRF files: https://www.tt-forums.net/download/file.php?id=154137

Changes:
v6: Updated against r23729.
v5: Added compatibility with opengfx+ airports, little code changes
v4: Added helicopter support for Circle airport. Added airport previews of both of airports. Fixed desync bug caused by non-saveload of 2 new variables.
v3: No longer need changed openttd.grf, now are 2 new airport tiles (used on Circle airport) via NewGRF, so it's OpenGFX fully compatible
v2: Added helicopter support for Intercontinental 2 airport. Upgraded moving scheme for Circle airport.

Image

Sorry for my bad english.
Attachments
airports.png
(334.01 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Last edited by Karn on 03 Jan 2012 17:08, edited 7 times in total.
User avatar
buckethead
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2014
Joined: 12 Jun 2009 07:21

Re: Huge Airports

Post by buckethead »

God bless you!
User avatar
Muzzly
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 226
Joined: 09 Jun 2010 20:54
Location: Vilnius, LT

Re: Huge Airports

Post by Muzzly »

Nice !!! :)
User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2393
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: Huge Airports

Post by SwissFan91 »

I don't suppose you could make one where the terminals are on the outside? I have always wondered how the passengers get to the terminals.
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
Transportman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2747
Joined: 22 Feb 2011 18:34

Re: Huge Airports

Post by Transportman »

SwissFan91 wrote:I don't suppose you could make one where the terminals are on the outside? I have always wondered how the passengers get to the terminals.
Tunnels? Magic?
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML
User avatar
Korenn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1735
Joined: 26 Mar 2004 01:27
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Huge Airports

Post by Korenn »

the same way they get to the bus stops, docks and train stations - they jump.

what are the noise levels on those massive things? and have you measured throughput?
User avatar
Zuu
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4554
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 18:21
Location: /home/sweden

Re: Huge Airports

Post by Zuu »

If you force aircrafts to service at each time they land at an airport (using orders), I think the depots on the circle airport may become bottlenecks as there is some 3-4 tiles long dual-direction single lane. At least if it is coded that only one aircraft can exist on this block at a time and it can't be operated so that eg. 3 aircrafts can go close together in one direction to the hangar and then the lane shifts direction and some aircrafts go in the other direction.
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)
User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7368
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: Huge Airports

Post by kamnet »

Zuu wrote:If you force aircrafts to service at each time they land at an airport (using orders), I think the depots on the circle airport may become bottlenecks as there is some 3-4 tiles long dual-direction single lane. At least if it is coded that only one aircraft can exist on this block at a time and it can't be operated so that eg. 3 aircrafts can go close together in one direction to the hangar and then the lane shifts direction and some aircrafts go in the other direction.
Agreed, it would be better to put them at the outer edges, nearer to the runways.
Karn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 127
Joined: 02 Oct 2011 18:56

Re: Huge Airports

Post by Karn »

Korenn wrote:what are the noise levels on those massive things?
Intercontinental 2 - 30, Circle - 50.
Korenn wrote:and have you measured throughput?
I tested how many International airports (because they are the most stable and have almost same throughput as Intercontinental) they can beat (without loading passengers, - just enter and leave terminals). Intercontinental 2 was equal to 2 International airports and Circle was something between 3-4 International airports. I did same test, but between two Circle airports with very short distance. They could handle around 35 aircrafts. In the game, which I'm playing now, I'm using Circle airport as a central intersection for 100 aircrafts(it's really nice with YACD :D ) and it's still not overloaded.
kamnet wrote:
Zuu wrote:If you force aircrafts to service at each time they land at an airport (using orders), I think the depots on the circle airport may become bottlenecks as there is some 3-4 tiles long dual-direction single lane. At least if it is coded that only one aircraft can exist on this block at a time and it can't be operated so that eg. 3 aircrafts can go close together in one direction to the hangar and then the lane shifts direction and some aircrafts go in the other direction.
Agreed, it would be better to put them at the outer edges, nearer to the runways.
I think, that should be easier implement go to next hangar, if taxiway outside hangar is full, than remake airport moving scheme, so I'll try next hangar first...
Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7529
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Huge Airports

Post by Eddi »

it might make more sense to put the hangars on the outside, in the triangular section at each corner. turn the current hangar entrances into loading bays instead.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)
Karn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 127
Joined: 02 Oct 2011 18:56

Re: Huge Airports

Post by Karn »

After some bug-fixes and adding of basic features, I think, I can release (I hope) stable (compiled) release. Don't forget (in title screen->NewGRF Settings) to add one of the huge airports newgrf(depends, which graphic set you are using) into your active newgrf list. Otherwise game will crash, when you build Circle airport.

Edit: Attached (source) of patch and grf to this post
Attachments
openttd_win32_r23289_ha_v4_with_grfs.rar
(4.91 MiB) Downloaded 1014 times
ha_grfs.rar
newgrfs with source
(94.85 KiB) Downloaded 445 times
openttd-r23289-ha_v4.patch
(141.43 KiB) Downloaded 495 times
Last edited by Karn on 06 Dec 2011 21:40, edited 1 time in total.
jucheng
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Jul 2008 10:16

Re: Huge Airports

Post by jucheng »

Hi there,

Thanks for fine-tuning this development. Just wondering if you are able to compile a version that can run on 64-bit win7?

Thanks in advance, and apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Regards,
jucheng
Karn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 127
Joined: 02 Oct 2011 18:56

Re: Huge Airports

Post by Karn »

This version should work on 64-bit win7. I tested it on 64-bit win XP and 7 and everything was working fine. If there is any error message, just post it here...
jucheng
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Jul 2008 10:16

Re: Huge Airports

Post by jucheng »

ah yes...so it is...

fault was with me, didn't copy over the whole language folder. done so now, and working out fine.

thanks again for the development and the compilation :D

cheers,
jucheng
Karn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 127
Joined: 02 Oct 2011 18:56

Re: Huge Airports

Post by Karn »

After some changes in nightly, I decided that is time to release new version of patch. In trunk is again raised version of saveload, so new patch (again) breaks backwards compatibility. Also new version of newgrf is needed.
Attachments
openttd-r23437-ha_v5.patch
(145.48 KiB) Downloaded 288 times
ha_grfs_v2.rar
(88.2 KiB) Downloaded 285 times
edk256
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 245
Joined: 20 May 2004 06:49
Location: New York

Re: Huge Airports

Post by edk256 »

When is this getting put in the trunk? The Circle Airport is the hub I need for my cargo destination games, as opposed to stringing together several airports with hundreds of buses between them. :P
User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9415
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Huge Airports

Post by planetmaker »

edk256 wrote:When is this getting put in the trunk?
It won't in this way.

You can in trunk already define via NewGRF arbitrary airport tile layouts. What is lacking is the definition of arbitrary plane movement patters on these kind of airports via NewGRF. An implementation of the latter would be required and is the desired path.
Karn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 127
Joined: 02 Oct 2011 18:56

Re: Huge Airports

Post by Karn »

Updated to r23729.
NewGRF files change(s): Removed ugly animated pixels from airports previews.
Attachments
openttd-r23729-ha_v6.patch
(146.38 KiB) Downloaded 2278 times
ha_grfs_v3.rar
(90.09 KiB) Downloaded 3182 times
User avatar
THE_JUDGE
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 69
Joined: 23 Aug 2010 05:18
Location: Belgium

Re: Huge Airports

Post by THE_JUDGE »

ha_grfs_v3.rar downed, add in my active grf list.... but nothing....
Only the ones i always had are shown....
bremerjoe
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 24 May 2011 21:01

Re: Huge Airports

Post by bremerjoe »

You will need to properly apply the patch. Not as easy to use as a NewGRF.
See: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=21678
Everybody can contribute to OTTD! It does not require you to be an IT specialist or designer. And it does not take days or weeks of your time either.
There are many simple yet important tasks like translations, investigating facts and details and many other that need work and if you help a bit then the experienced developers can focus more on making OTTD even more awesome!
OTTD = Awesomeness created by a whole lot of volunteers, be one of them if you like the game!
Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests